Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Clean and inexpensive rooms in Gràcia neighborhood

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, great location, rooms are very clean and neat.
Location: Walk to the hot ramen spot Ramen-Ya HIRO, next to bike/scooter rental place, close to the metro (Verdaguer), near shopping (Passeig de Gràcia)
The hotel room was inexpensive and hotel located in a great area near Gràcia. The hotel room was very clean, neat and simple. The free Wi-Fi is great. It's great for young people.It might not be good for the traveler that wants peace and quiet. It's busy with guests (usually younger crowd) passing through and hanging out at the bar, restaurant and lobby on the first floor. The hotel is part of the the larger hostel establishment though those that choose hotel rooms have a separate entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Enrique Portales, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thanks for sharing your experience after staying in our hostel. It is a good motivation to know you like the rooms and the services we provide. Also it is very helpful how you explain the different areas we have, because we are focus in different targets, that's the reason we have different public areas, trying to offer different services to all the guests. Thanks for your time and we hope to see you again in the future. Enrique Portales, Generator Barcelona GM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cookie from London, UK

Hotel as part of the Hostel

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The price, location, design, large rooms and cocktails.
Cons: More double bed rooms in the Hotel, friendlier reception staff who aren't confused with pre-paid bookings.
Location: Check the website and grab a map. It's easy to get round on foot, or via metro in Barcelona and the Hostel have provided some options on things to do.
Chose to stay in the Hotel part of the Hostel. The Hostel/Hotel was new, very modern, arty and cool with great bar areas (and reasonably priced cocktails and snacks) and places to hang out - shame the photobooth wasn't working throughout our stay though! Location was great, close to 2 metro stations, but in walking distance of most touristy spots and easy to get to and from the airport. Room was spacious and well designed, though I didn't think to request a balcony room. I tried requesting a double bed ahead of stay but could only offer a twin room (more doubles in Hotel section please!) The Hostel was busy, but Hotel is private and quiet and while there was entertainment most nights it wasn't overbearing to those who opted out. Bit of confusion with Expedia booking about payment, but easily rectified - reception staff weren't as friendly as other Hotels/Hostels I've stayed in before. Would recommend and stay again, and would consider staying in a Generator elsewhere in the world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by cduk from London

Best 1 star hotel i've ever seen

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel/hostel goes to show you can't judge a place on the number of stars. The public areas are very well furnished and spacious and the room was modern clean and with a large sunny balcony. The showers are the best!! I would stay in this Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by N from Cleveland OH USA

clean, everything functional a cut above

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
would stay here again definetly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anita from Vancouver

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was cleaner than any of the 4 star hotels we stayed in. The location is good in terms of being next to metro stations. If you go, try to explore the neighbourhood the hostel is in though. We found some neat gems on our last day. We stayed during off season so it's hard to say if it is good for meeting other travelers. Overall it was a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christine from USA

New Years Eve in Barcelona

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The nature of this hotel/hostel provides guests with an informal, party like atmosphere filled with young travelers. We stayed in the hotel portion of the Generator and we were in one of the deluxe double bed rooms. Overall the stay was enjoyable, the hotel is close to public transportation, close to shopping and food. We did find the room to be smaller than we had expected, the balcony was bigger than our actual room. There are no TV's in the room, so something to consider. Additionally, we found the rate for the room to be higher than the value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall great place with many amenities

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Great people, reasonable price with activities, food, and many more amenities located off the beaten path but close to metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Greg from Geneva

Very good situation, very clean

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Senn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete from London

Great value hotel for long weekend in Barcelona

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: The Generator allows you to choose - hostel or hotel (including two breakfast prices) & also has its own bar and areas to relax.
Cons: Guests who smoke congregate right outside the front door, which can be noisy if your windows face onto the street - even if you are on the 7th floor!!
First visit to a Generator Hotel - very impressed. A perfect choice for a long weekend in Barcelona as many hotels in the old town are very pricey, whereas this hotel is only a short walk from the nearest Metro station which in turn is only a couple of stops from the center of Barcelona. It is also only a 10-15 minute stroll to the Sagrada Familia, a bike hire shop is virtually next door and there are plenty of places to eat or drink nearby, including a great brew pub.