Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marlene from GB

Found hotel on the internet

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: We had champagne on arrival and desk staff very welcoming ,found hotel to be very central for metro and buses.
Cons: Excellent for a 3*hotel
Location: Close to la rambla where there is plenty going on and loads of restaurants
Room was great , very clean, hotel staff brilliant very helpful ,lovely selection for breakfast ,would recomend
3 out of 5
by D. from Toronto

Nice hotel but room comfort below par

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. Lobby level bar with coffee, drinks and congenial atmosphere.
This hotel was a mix of good and not so good but the size and lack of comfort in the room overshadowed the good parts. The room and the bathroom were the same size and the only light came from a dark light well. Bare wood floors, no heat, closet with no handles, safe with a key (instead of digital controls), no shelf for toiletries in the bathroom, no conditioner, cream, etc. While some of these defects could be fixed relatively easily, room size is simply inadequate even by European standards. In the elevator, there is a posted sign offering a room upgrade which is indicative of the fact that many guests have the same reaction to room size as I had, and opt to pay the higher amount once they see the room. Public areas of the hotel were pleasant if not very inspired looking. Breakfast was standard and adequate. Service was friendly and helpful. Overall this hotel offers a nice stay but only if you book one of the bigger rooms. Otherwise I would not recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

No Heat, No Sleep

Posted Dec 29, 2010
Great tourist location. Walls are very thin. I could even hear the person next door zipping their luggage. The television was not working. They replaced it right away. When ready for bed, i discovered the thermostat was broken, so not heat. I reported it to front desk. They sent someone up pronto. he looked at the thermostat and said it was broken. His reposne was that he would be right back. When he returned, I opened the door. He handed me a blanket, said good night and then walked away. I was appauled that they didnt even offer me a different room with the some. i will never stay at this hotel again. I usually read reviews and conclude that bad experiences happen and are rare, but i should have heeded the warnings of the reviews I read about Grupotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire, United Kingdom

Definitely recommended

Posted Dec 22, 2010
The hotel and the room was very clean, although the room was slightly dated. The hotel is ideally situated near to the bus and metro stops-both easy to use methods of travel. It is also a short walking distance to the main shopping centre where everything is happening. Although the room looked out onto a busy road there was a nice view with minimal noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new orleans, louisiana

grupohotel gravina

Posted Dec 8, 2010
the hotel was very modern and the location central to everything. the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. also, the breakfast buffet (included in the price) was very good). the only negative was that the room was not very quiet--the walls seemed thin. this was only and issue, however, because we were traveling with our 2year old and so were sleeping probably earlier than many others in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Ascot, Berkshire

5 Star Quality & Service for a 3 Star Price.

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Excellant 3 Star Hotel within easy access to Ramblas and Place Catalunya. Very friendly and helpfull reception, rooms very clean and comfortable, although beds hard, buffet breakfast excellant with very good choice. Very good value for money. Take the airbus from Barcelona Airport to Place Catalunya (€5) and less than 10min easy walk to hotel. We found area to be safe. Stayed for 2 nights but wish we had more time to explore all sites - Gaudi buildings are a must!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC

Disappointed but not enough to move

Posted Sep 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
Room was very small and was a smoking room which the booking did not stipulate. Very basic/below average room. Location was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Marvelous break

Posted Sep 10, 2010
Marvelous break in Barcelona. What a great city, elegant, lively and really good bars and restaurants. The hotel was lovely, spotlessly clean, and the staff were very friendly. The bedroom was very small, but hey who cares. The breakfast was good and plentiful, and the welcome glass of cava on a very hot arrival day went down very well. A 5-minute stroll from Placa de Catalunya and the Cafe Zurich. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Small room, great location

Posted Aug 17, 2010 on Hotels.com
If staying just for a night, book this hotel. Location is perfect, few steps away you'll find Las Ramblas. The room and part of the hotel I thought it wasn't at its best of cleanliness, I found q-tips next to my bed from someone before our stay. The room for 3 is very small, unless you're traveling very light, otherwise it's difficult to walk around. Breakfast is great, it has everything. When we arrived, they didn't have our room ready and we waited at the lobby with a cup of Cava (local sparkling wine) and we could use the computer/free internet. The staff were very friendly and ready to help you.