Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom england

We had five days in Barcelona

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: The budget rooms are very small and we upgraded.
Location: It was close to the La Rumles and the metro and bus services. Also the restaurants in the area were very good value especially breakfast and tapas
We had five days in Barcelona and the location of the hotel was great. It was close to the La Rumles and the metro and bus services. Also the restaurants in the area were very good value especially breakfast and tapas. Great hotel small and personal service very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service but terrible rooms.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The service was pretty good. The staff is very helpful and switched our rooms upon request. However, the A/C problem did not change.
Cons: The A/C system. The room size.
Location: Things were walkable, the train station and La Ramblas. The main party area was also just a 10 min cab ride away.
The room was terribly small. I was there with a friend and there wasn't space to even open our suitcases. I was their guest for 6 days 5 nights and did not have a comfortable stay. The room just had enough space for the queen size bed. The bathroom was fine, rather spacious. However the worst had to be the Air Conditioning. Apparently it is central A/C which means that the temperature is fixed and can't be increased or decreased. The entire time we stayed the temperature did not go below 24.5 degrees celsius. The room was impossibly warm to stay in in the day time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Lovely clean and well located hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We had a lovely 5 day stay in this hotel recently. Very well located just a few streets to Las Ramblas and close to the Metro and bus routes. Not very close to the beach however - it's easy to get to the beach just a few stops on the Metro. The hotel itself is clean with friendly staff and modern surroundings. Our double room was small but perfect for all we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one looking for a central location for a city break in this beautiful city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marlenefrom GB

Found hotel on the internet

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: We had champagne on arrival and desk staff very welcoming ,found hotel to be very central for metro and buses.
Cons: Excellent for a 3*hotel
Location: Close to la rambla where there is plenty going on and loads of restaurants
Room was great , very clean, hotel staff brilliant very helpful ,lovely selection for breakfast ,would recomend
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The room was very pleasant with a terrace.

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very enjoyable stay with a comfortable room. The service was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was very good. The location was good for exploring the centre of Barcelona
3 out of 5
by D.from Toronto

Nice hotel but room comfort below par

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. Lobby level bar with coffee, drinks and congenial atmosphere.
This hotel was a mix of good and not so good but the size and lack of comfort in the room overshadowed the good parts. The room and the bathroom were the same size and the only light came from a dark light well. Bare wood floors, no heat, closet with no handles, safe with a key (instead of digital controls), no shelf for toiletries in the bathroom, no conditioner, cream, etc. While some of these defects could be fixed relatively easily, room size is simply inadequate even by European standards. In the elevator, there is a posted sign offering a room upgrade which is indicative of the fact that many guests have the same reaction to room size as I had, and opt to pay the higher amount once they see the room. Public areas of the hotel were pleasant if not very inspired looking. Breakfast was standard and adequate. Service was friendly and helpful. Overall this hotel offers a nice stay but only if you book one of the bigger rooms. Otherwise I would not recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Ga

No Heat, No Sleep

Posted Dec 29, 2010
Great tourist location. Walls are very thin. I could even hear the person next door zipping their luggage. The television was not working. They replaced it right away. When ready for bed, i discovered the thermostat was broken, so not heat. I reported it to front desk. They sent someone up pronto. he looked at the thermostat and said it was broken. His reposne was that he would be right back. When he returned, I opened the door. He handed me a blanket, said good night and then walked away. I was appauled that they didnt even offer me a different room with the some. i will never stay at this hotel again. I usually read reviews and conclude that bad experiences happen and are rare, but i should have heeded the warnings of the reviews I read about Grupotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Lincolnshire, United Kingdom

Definitely recommended

Posted Dec 22, 2010
The hotel and the room was very clean, although the room was slightly dated. The hotel is ideally situated near to the bus and metro stops-both easy to use methods of travel. It is also a short walking distance to the main shopping centre where everything is happening. Although the room looked out onto a busy road there was a nice view with minimal noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans, louisiana

grupohotel gravina

Posted Dec 8, 2010
the hotel was very modern and the location central to everything. the room was clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful and friendly. also, the breakfast buffet (included in the price) was very good). the only negative was that the room was not very quiet--the walls seemed thin. this was only and issue, however, because we were traveling with our 2year old and so were sleeping probably earlier than many others in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Ascot, Berkshire

5 Star Quality & Service for a 3 Star Price.

Posted Oct 25, 2010
Excellant 3 Star Hotel within easy access to Ramblas and Place Catalunya. Very friendly and helpfull reception, rooms very clean and comfortable, although beds hard, buffet breakfast excellant with very good choice. Very good value for money. Take the airbus from Barcelona Airport to Place Catalunya (€5) and less than 10min easy walk to hotel. We found area to be safe. Stayed for 2 nights but wish we had more time to explore all sites - Gaudi buildings are a must!!