Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, friendly staff, clean room.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Stayed 2 nights, last minute booking, everything you would expect for the price, staff were very helpful and spoke good english. Standard room is very small though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

very nice & convenient location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Barcelona old town is a bit noisy at nights due to narrow streets and restaurants bars but you get used to it after a couple of days. It's very close to main attractions. Very good WIFI reception and quality (and free). Breakfast is 12 euros which is too exepensive. there are nice local cafe walking steps away and costs 2.7 euro for an excellent latte croissant. Room was very clean. It's walking distance from main attractions and subway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tina

Great location! Walking distance to the beach.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Great location, friendly staff. Room was nice but the bathroom was poorly lit.
3 out of 5
by Pete from Wakefield

Excellent location for sightseeing.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location. Friendly, helpful hotel staff.
Cons: Basic Maintenance. Many things are in a very poor state of repair. If this was rectified I would have no qualms recommending it to anyone.
Location: Great location. very close to La Rambla, Barcelonetta, Port, Gothic Quarter.
The location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic, located near the bottom of the Gothic Quarter. It has numerous bars, restaurants, bakeries, shops and such within mere metres of the place. It is a five minute amble away from La Rambla, two minutes to Barcelonetta and the port and easy walking distance to many other places. This coupled with the excellent friendly and helpful staff make it an ideal base for short sight-seeing. There are two reasons why I would not recommend this hotel to anybody though. The first is an unfortunate off-shoot of its proximity to bars; The first night I was here I was allocated room 204, which is at the front of the hotel directly opposite a bar. The room itself was reasonably well-appointed and even had a tiny balcony you could stand on to watch the world go by. The problem arose when it came time to sleep. The noise level in the room, even with windows and shutters closed and my head wrapped in my pillow was unbearable. The noise from the bars was bad enough, but apparently the bin-men in the area like to spend hours hurling bins full of bottles into their wagon at around midnight as well. I managed 20 minutes sleep that night. I spoke with the hotel staff in the morning, who swiftly found me another room in the middle of the hotel which was blissfully quiet. Unfortunately the state of repair was somewhat lacking. Over the remaining four nights, two lights, the toilet flush, the shower and the bath plug all broke or stopped working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NativeNYer from New York, NY

A decent hotel for tourists of Barcelona

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly and professional and the rooms were kept clean.
Cons: The street noise on Carrer Ample almost all night long, and from guests in the neighboring room (the walls are thin).
Location: Forn del Carrer Ample: a local breakfast/lunch cafe modestly priced. Bar Celta Pulperia : a great local tapas tavern.
Hesperia Metropol is a decent place to stay, and within walking distance to many of Barcelona's attractions. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was a little shabby and a musty smell permeated. We booked a 2 twin-bed room, and the beds were placed right next to each other, probably to save space in our small room. My mattress probably needed to be turned over as it dipped a bit in the middle, but it was firm and comfortable enough. There wasn't much closet/bureau space to leave unpacked clothes, so we improvised. We actually found the bathroom nicer overall than the room itself. The room and linens were kept clean and tidy. I would have given this hotel a higher rating if it weren't for the noise coming from Carrer Ample almost all night long, making it hard to stay asleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Worcester, UK

Very good hotel in excellent location.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast.
Location: Brilliant location well within walking distance of many of Barcelona's main attractions.
Very comfortable hotel with excellent, helpful staff. Rooms not large but very comfortable, bathrooms excellent. Buffet breakfast superb, and only 9 Euros, compared to the 14.80 Euros advertised. Excellent location in the Ciudad Vella - five minutes walk from La Rambla, 2 minutes from the nearest Bus Turistic (well worth the ticket price - we bought a 2 day ticket), 15 minute stroll to the beach. Lots of good restaurants and tapas bars nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hannah from N

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
This hotel is in a great location close to Las Ramblas,Gothic Quarter,Port Vell and the beach! Lovely sized room with bath and shower! TV with English spoken channels. Only down side is the noise at night! Can get a bit loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jeanette from london

Good hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Good clean budget hotel with pleasant staff
Cons: Double glazing!
Location: The seafront, port, Las Ramblas, the Gothic Quarter All within walking distance
Close to the seafront and all the sights the city has to offer Staff are pleasant and helpful especially the male receptionist who was on duty when we checked in on Tuesday Breakfast offer booked in advance at €9 instead of €14 is a good deal Only downside is the noise from the street
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee & Karen from England

Friendly, clean and relaxed hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Everything! please read above
Cons: Nothing
Location: Nestled in a side street a stones throw from the Port Vell, with a short but pleasant bicycle rickshaw ride away from the beach.
From the moment we arrived the atmosphere of this hotel was inviting and efficient. We found the whole place to be very clean and well presented for a small to medium sized hotel. The staff were very professional, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Location was surprisingly good once our bearings were found. Nestled down a side street near La Rambla's and a stones throw from the Port Vell. Good location for access to tourist bus route was also a plus point. Room was fantastic with an amazingly spacious bathroom set to the back of the hotel away from the noise of the Irish bar across the road. Irish bar is great for when you want a friendly drink to the small hours! ;) Room also had a useful safe and well stocked mini bar. The breakfast provided at the hotel is outstanding and well worth spending the money on. Flexible eating times, with a longer duration on weekends made this a must in our opinion, not to mention the vast variety of choice on offer. Will definitely be coming back here in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jsrking from Panama

Great Area! Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2014
I spent 2 nights at the Hesperia Metropol. Had nice time there. Got lucky because of the room, it was a big room, the hotel have smaller rooms, if I'd had one of those my review would have been quite different. The location is flawless. Close enough to Ramblas, and in the middle of the beautiful and impressive Gothic neighborhood. I totally recommend it.