Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

I would never stay here again

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: We liked having clean towels. The older gentleman who is occasionally sitting in the so-called lobby is friendly and speaks English.
Cons: Everything should be improved, including a name change so travellers don't get misled like we did by having the same name as a nicer barcelona hotel.
Location: Location is good. Near university square with cafés, bakeries, grocery stores and easy access to buses and metro. Walking distance to la rambla.
This hotel is not good. There is no AC and rooms are stinking hot. The fan in the room is useless. There is no hot water for the sink. The shower water is either scalding hot or freezing cold -nothing in between. The room and bathroom are not clean. Tidy yes, but not clean. I did not want to touch walls or floors. The rooms on main floor are extremely noisy from outside traffic and bar downstairs. Most staff do not speak or understand English, Spanish, Catalan or French, so they cannot be very helpful. There is no elevator and many stairs to climb. There is no sign of a hotel outside and there are two gates you must be buzzed into, which is inconvenient. We hooked this because we mistakened it for the Hostal Goya Barcelona, which coincidentally shares the same name but is much nicer. We went to the wrong hotel when we arrived in barcelona because of this naming issue. Turns out the hostal Goya BCN we stayed at is terrible value for money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

You get what you paid for

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Friendly and nice staff, terrible hotel. No air, provided fan but didn't ventilate. Mediocre room conditions. But cheap. You get what you paid for.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Myasa from London

ONLY Location

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
honestly, this hotel is nothing except location : everything was horrible::basically you pay for the excellent loccation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julio from Costa Rica

It's all about the location

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Hotel is well situated. 5 minutes walk from Universitat metro station. Airport shuttle stops at this station. Hotel is a bit hard to find as there is no external signal and 187 number is not visible. Staff is not Spanish and doesn't really speak English, so it is hard to understand basic information about the hotel. Don't even try to ask about what to do in Barcelona. ..they won't understand or give inaccurate information. I was traveling alone, I booked a single room with private bathroom. Room has a strange smell, a bit like raw sewage. I am not a tall person and bed was to small for me. I barely fit on the length of the bed. They make your bed on a daily basis, but towels are not changed. Hot water worked only on the first day, following ones, only cold water. So, if you are planning on going to Barcelona and want a well located hotel not too expensive and won't mind a bit of an uncomfortable stay, then this a good choice. If you are looking for confort, find another property.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amparo from Usa

An ok place

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a good time and just used it to go to sleep and shower. I was a bit cold and wanted to use the blanket in closet, but it was really smelly. Needs more cleaning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We could have done better

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Location: The door is hard to find. It's unmarked between a cafe and supermercat
There are better options in Barcelona. The sheets had cat hair with no cat on the premises. We spotted a cockroach. The ceiling crumbled around us literally. And for picky mattress people, this place is a zero on the comfort scale. The wifi is good and the staff were helpful though.
2 out of 5
by Alison from United Kingdom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Monty from Provence

Large room.. good heating

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very satisfied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by max from las vegas, nv

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: location location location
Cons: elevator was not available
Location: center of city
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Oct 19, 2013
We had a confirmed room with Expedia. Arrived at 10am and was told room wouldn't be ready for two hours. Came back at noon and was told they had no room for us! Unbelievable. Sent us to another hotel far away that had a terrible bed and wasn't in the local we wanted. Expedia should not refer anyone to them again.