Ratings based on 1,829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

a nice place to stay in BCN

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: our room, the view from our full-length glass door (which opened), the buffet breakfast (extra charge, well worth it), the very pleasant/helpful staff
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: wonderful central location...much available by walking...guided tours easily arranged, etc
we arrived an hour earlier than check-in - which was not a problem. We were given a room upgrade, at no additional cost, which we didn't learn until checkout. We liked everything about our stay (which lasted an extra day) and had no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Derbyshire

Excellent hotel, central location

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Me and my partner stayed on our honeymoon and it was excellent and nearly perfect. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful even holding the lift for you. Everything was clean and spotless. The location was perfectly central for easily getting to places, the port is in walking distance, lots of excellent bars and restraunts nearby and the metro is a short walk away. The hotel terrace bar is briliant for putting you feet up and having a few cocktails after a day out with the view of Barcelona but also at night. The complimentary chocolates nightly and twice day towel and bottled water change is also a nice touch. Only two minor downsides one the hairdryer gets rather hot so be caregul not to catch youself on it ended up getting a bit of a burn. Secondly we spent houra thinking next door was playing music wherw infact there waa a control panel in room controlling the music that we didnt know waa there which must have been knocked by the cleaner one day and took us ages to figure it out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location for La Rambla action

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Great corner room over La Rambla- be sure to ask for an interior room if the weekend night 'partying' noise bothers you - revelers on the streets were noisy until the wee hours of morning!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

高級ホテルだが、地下鉄の騒音がマイナス。

Posted Mar 31, 2015
2015年3月末、プレミアムルームに宿泊。 部屋の清潔さや設備には満足した。地下と屋上にある温水プールは年中無料で使用でき快適であった。屋上からの景色と開放感は最高。ただし夏場は空調がないため暑さで5分も我慢できないのではないか。 また、スタッフの対応は高級ホテルの通常レベルよりわずかに劣ると感じた(チップを渡さなかったためか?)。 大きなマイナス要素は、3階の部屋であったが地下鉄通過による騒音と振動が真夜中も含めて一日中続くこと。夜中に起きることもしばしばあった。そのためおすすめはしない。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Warwick, England

5 night stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Service, Pool, Terrace, Location
Cons: Street noise in room late at night
Location: At the top end of a Rambla a few steps from Placa da Catalunya. A perfect location for sightseeing Barcelona. We walked and saw all the sights
Me and my girlfriend were stopping for 5 nights at the end of March and wanted something nice in a good location with gym, pool and roof terrace, the h1898 answered all this. The staff were excellent, being warm and welcoming and the room was very beautiful. Great bathroom and shower facilities. We stayed in room 238 which was very nice bar the noise from La Rambla. If we stay here again I will definitely ask for a room higher up and quieter (must be getting old!). The gym was a little poor with one treadmill broken and the there out of action for two days, the rest of the gym equipment (bikes and a stepper) was pretty old but it sufficed. The indoor pool and facilities are absolutely stunning. Av very relaxing and restful place to unwind a little. The roof terrace is massive with a lovely heated pool. Towels provided, bar and waiter service on hand, views across the city, seats and sunbeams of all varieties. In the evening live guitar and sax, very very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Un très bon choix d'hôtel central pour Barcelone.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Nous avons été surclassés spontanément dès l'arrivée, ce qui est toujours une bonne surprise. L'hôtel est décoré avec style, le personnel est agréable. Il est aussi possible de garer sa voiture, ce qui est appréciable à Barcelone. Les prix restent chers mais le confort de l'hôtel, très bien situé sur la Rambla justifie les tarifs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Excellent service, very friendly staff. Great location for shopping and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Beliggenhet og standard
Location: El Rival området "bak" hotellet er veldig bra og spennende. Kort vei til matmarked og annen shopping, samt havnen.
Veldig hyggelig hotel med god frokost og perfekt atomosfære. Gode senger og god plass på rommet. Romslig bad med påde badekar og dusj.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

great hotel in perfect location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: location, facilities, service.
Cons: not much
Location: Take a bus tour to get a quick overview. Boqueria is right next door- a must!
This was our first visit to Barcelona - a girly weekend away- and we loved it. Sure, the weather was nice, but the hotel and staff were great, perfect location from where to explore the city. Close enough to the beach, right in the centre of old town, with nice bars, markets around. The best breakfast buffet i tried! Staff were very helpful and patient no matter how many requests we had. only wrinkle was that the rooftop pool was closed and this was not clear from the website (plus some reviewes on tripadvisor mentioned it's heated and would be open). would recommend it. Too bad they can't accommodate families with children. which means we'll need to go elsewhere for a family trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Couldn't ask for a better stay at a hotel. Great staff working in a beautiful hotel in the heart of Barcelona. Looking forward to visiting again!