Ratings based on 1,020 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from epsom uk

lovely hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: the clocation, the room the facilities especially the roof top bar
Location: centarl to most things and lovely restaurants nearby
staff were very helpful . hotel very central and lovely facilities very clean and immaculate throughout . couldnt fault the place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Perfect spot in the hub of Barcelona

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Great Hotel, great location, however the waiters were a littler surley and although offers were advertised in the room, such as complimentary afternoon tea, they were near impossible to find.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Fabulous hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: Exceptional location right in the middle of La Ramblas.Accessable activities Bus trips, Shopping, Beach, Boat trips, Restaurants, Bars, Food Market.
Hotel 1898 never disappoints. Care and attention are always paid to the smaller details which make a stay unique and special. 1898 is always looking to improve their service and make the stay even more comfortable and pleasurable for their guests. The addition of a free wifi tablet for each guest was a nice idea and really came in handy. Rooms impeccable as always. The staff were as accommodating and friendly as always. Customer service is still alive at 1898! This was our third visit and we will be returning next year. The only negative i have is with regards to the food at the hotel. The food is lovely and nicely presented however it always seems to be cold. We had an evening meal and breakfast at the hotel terrace restaurant and on each occasion the food was barely luke warm. Maybe something the hotel needs to look into of how to get the food from the kitchen to the roof terrace without it going cold. If you want an exceptional hotel with exceptional service 1898 is for you but be prepared it isn't cheap!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WONDERFUL hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Great location and love the roof bar/restaurant. Beautiful interior and rooms, too. HIGHLY recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great location!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Well located, friendly & helpful staff. Super rooftop bar & pool w/ great views of city. Comfortable rooms but can be noisy, with slight rumble from subway. Would happily stay again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Elegant hotel with many downfalls

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel presents itself well but the user experience is lacking. The rooftop pool has enough chairs for five or six couples, the staff does not clean up towels when people leave so none are ever avaliable. The staff will not let eat at the terrace without a reservation how ever this was never mentioned. The very worst thing for me was the shower. It is a rainfall design (with very little water) but it is in the part of the tub designed for you back so you are very uncomfortable standing under the "mist" of a shower due to it slanting. Overall a terrible experience, horrible staff, pools and shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

The only place to stay in downtown Barcelona

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Second time at hotel 1898. They always impress. The room was fantastic. Bed was so comfortable. Super chill vibe on rooftop for a delicious late night cocktail. We love the grotto style pool in the basement. For me this is the only hotel to stay in if I go to Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kuwait

Nice hotel ,good locaction

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself so great .
Location: A lot of things actually .. Bars restaurants shops
We stay for three night ,got flexible check in & check out .. Nice staff treat us like a vip got us an upgrade .. So close to la ramble street and everything else ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of Barcelona

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Expensive but worth it. We had a great few days. The staff could not have been more helpful and the food and facilities were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie

A quiet hotel near to good restaurant's

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Beautiful hotel . All the staff were courteous and helpful. The slight problem with the bathroom sink was fixed immediately. Breakfast was expensive but there is a Starbucks a few steps away.