Ratings based on 1,957 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Relaxing city break

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Amazing service, comfortable rooms, Fab terrace and pools. Beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hinckley, UK

Prime location on La Rambla

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location....air conditioning, friendly staff
Cons: The showers are over complicated! One tap "temperature", one tap "bath/shower" to switch between bath tap/ shower....and it's this you use to cool????
Location: Eat, drink, shop, sightsee, relax, enjoy!
Warm and friendly welcome from all the staff at Hotel 1898. Excellent facilities and very high standard of cleanliness. Just step out of the door and you're on La Rambla, the main bustling street through the centre of Barcelona. Despite it's location, the hotel was extremely quiet and peaceful and the air conditioned environment was a welcome respite from the summer heat. The rooftop bar is a lovely location from which to end your day with a cool cocktail and a gentle warm breeze under the stars. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno, nv

Great location, close to metro, restaurants, shops

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Staff was very helpful pointing out attractions and directions. Provided local area map and information. Cannot say enough about staff. We'll run hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The hotel was beautiful, clean and centrally located. The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. We loved the rooftop pool and lounge area and had drinks up there 3 nights out of 5, before heading out for dinner. Our only negative was that it was off the Ramblas and which was busy and touristy. Even though our room was on a low floor, it wasn't as noisy as we expected it could be. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Geweldig hotel !

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Geweldig super de luxe hotel ! Fantastisch ontbijt en ligging en kamer perfect !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

excellent hotel just off Ramblas.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Cons: Prices for drinks and food could be a little cheaper on the terrace but they employ a good number of waiters so this could be the reason for the rices
Location: Walking for the Ramblas, Gothic quarter and the port Vell area. Short walk the Plaza Ctalunya for the hop on hop off tour buses for everywhere else.
Excellent hotel, helpful friendly staff. The rooftop terrace and pool a great place to chill with good panorama of the city both day and night. Drinks and food a bit pricey on the terrace, but service and quality excellent. Location couldn't be better right in the heart of things but peaceful in the hotel and rooms. Beds very good no problems sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice room and good breakfast hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2015
This is my second time staying in H1898. Its location is perfect going to anywhere and hotel's room is very quiet and comfy. Staff is friendly. I wil stay in this hotel again every time I go Barcelona!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Very, very good hotel! Great value! Staff were great and the hotel is in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent hotel, great location, helpful staff!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, rooftop terrace and pool, helpful staff
We stayed for 3 nights during our recent visit to Barcelona. The hotel is nicely located on Las Ramblas between the market and Place Catalunya and is in walking distance to the beach and several sites. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed the panoramic view of the city from the rooftop terrace and pool. Two problems occurred during our stay that were solved very efficiently. Within 5 minutes of our call to the front desk, someone was at our room to help us with a minor problem with our safe. The second problem was with the air conditioning. A call to the front desk had the maintenance person attempting to fix it. Within 30 minutes of no air conditioning, we were quickly and efficiently whisked to another (upgraded) room without questions. The ease with this transition and helpfulness of the staff certainly added to our already enjoyable visit. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again on a return visit to Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel with very attentive staff

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Location on Las Ramblas is not our preference but easy to access the city. Staff, food, terrace and room all excellent. Overall a superb stay and after many annual visits to the city will be returning.