Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom puerto rico

Beautifull in every detail

Posted Jan 17, 2015
The service was perfect. Warm welcome with more comodities you can imagine. The hotel is even more espectacular in person. I will come back. Excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Perfect Barcelona hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Exceptional hotel. Great location, tremendous service, terrific rooms and facilities. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom biscarrosse

hôtel très bien située. personnels très gentil. ++

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: TOUS ....
je le recommande a tous , très bon hôtel dans l'ensemble , très propre, un excellent SPA... +++
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Wonderful hotel for our amazing stay in Barcelona

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Wonderful hotel in such a great location: we could walk everywhere, there were also 2 metros nearby, only 2 minutes walk from the lovely gothic area and the Boqueria! The SPA is free and we loved to relax there after a day walking around the city or the beaches. We also had the chance to try the roof terrace pool from where you can see the whole city! Water is heated so bring your swimsuits! I hightly recommend this hotel: the staff is so nice and helpful, the rooms are clean and so spacious and we had the best sleep ever in our king size bed! Can't wait to return to Barcelona: I will definitly stay in the hotel 1898!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Sumptuous, luxury hotel in the heart of Barcelona.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Worth every penny. I typically stay at Ritz- Carlton, Starwood, 4Seasons hotels, but I love the vibe of a W, or Standard hotel, San Francisco style. This hotel surpassed all expectations on my first trip to Spain-food, location! Ask for Jaime
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Juwel im Stadtzentrum

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Normale Zimmer zum Innenhof sind am Ruhigsten aber auch etwas dunkel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom München

Top-Hotel mit Einschränkung in den Standardzimmern

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Top Lage direkt an den Ramblas. Sehr freundliches Personal. Tolle Dachterrasse.
Cons: Informieren, dass die Standardzimmer fast kein Tageslicht haben.
Location: Lage ist optimal, bis hinunter ans Meer per Fuß alles sehr gut erreichbar.
Das 1898 ist ein hervorragendes Hotel in so gut wie allen Aspekten, wie Freundlichkeit des Personals, Service, tolles Frühstück, Komfort usw. Eines muss man allerdings wissen: die Standardzimmer (zumindest das, das wir hatten) geht fensterseitig Richtung Innenhof und hat so gut wie kein Tageslicht. Zudem brummt irgendein Gerät Tag und Nacht. Für den Preis ist das kein brauchbares Zimmer. Also wenn, dann eher die höhere Kategorie wählen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Düsseldorf

Gutes Hotel mit kleinen Mängeln

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Das Hotel befindet sich in zentraler Lage und bietet eine sehr gute Ausstattung, das Frühstück ist allerdings sehr teuer. Über Silvester war das Restaurant und die Dachterrasse ohne Voranmeldung leider geschlossen. Viele Hotelgäste hatten sich den Jahreswechsel anders vorgestellt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
My only complaint was that some of the rooms are subject to significant vibration and noise when the metro passes by. I was initially put into one of these rooms, but I asked to switch. The staff was very good about arranging a new room for me. Otherwise, I loved the hotel. The location can't be beat, it has a great feel, I loved the rooftop deck/pool and the spa pool downstairs. The breakfasts were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami, florida

This hotel was amazing!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The service, the rooms and the location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was great. There were stores and restaurants everywhere and we loved that about this hotel.
We loved staying at this hotel. You are in the middle of everything but yet once you walk inside the hotel you don't hear any noise. We would definitely stay there again and refer family and friends to this hotel.