Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia from Hotel America Barcelona

The Hotel was a good choice because....

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: 24 hr reception. Friendly helpful staff. Very Clean and tidy. Excellent roof garden with cocktail bar and splash pool. Very good breakfast. Good Bed.
Cons: A bit more wardrobe and drawer space. Tea and coffee facilities within room.
Location: Gaudi's masterpieces adorn Barcelona. La Pedera a couple of blocks away. La Sagrada Familia short ride. Shops, bars, restaurants. Train/metro end road
nearby was an excellent restaurant with very helpful staff, so it wasn't far to walk after a good evening meal and a glass or two of excellent wine. Also in the area were other good restaurants, cafes, bars and local bakers with enticing displays to tempt. La Pedera was just a couple of blocks away which is one of Gaudi's remarkable buildings. A train station (as opposed to a metro station) was just at the end of the road, which links to the other metros one stop away. From there Barcelona is your oyster. Or if you want to be more adventurous the Touristic buses stop within minutes of the main attractions. If you are feeling energetic you can browse the amazing variety of shops on route to your desired location. Barcelona has everything from Sea and Mountains to Parks and Magic Fountains, what more could you wish for. Ah! yes the weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice and clean hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: clean, friendly staff, small,
Location: close to centre of Barcelona
great stay in Barcelona, lovely city and great hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pauline from Nottingham, UK

Nice hotel in good area

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location and quite comfortable
Cons: cheaper breakfast
Location: Very good location. Try La Tagliatelle for dinner and The Cup and The Cake for afternoon tea. Really good shopping nearby. Convenient for Metro.
Hotel America was near Diagonal Station and was near enough to La Ramblas and the port etc. if you liked a good walk (or easy by metro). However the restaurants in the area seemed much better than downtown for the money. There were some excellent eateries within a block or two of the hotel. Also very convenient for La Pedrera and some lovely shops in the side streets and the main drags towards downtown. The roof terrace is also nice. The only quibble was the cost of the breakfast (we did not have it), although this seems typical for hotels in Barcelona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wendy from Los Angeles.

Great location. Bring earplugs!

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely modern hotel in great area. Walking distance to everything. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Only drawback was noisy bar and traffic on street outside hotel. Bring earplugs if you don't plan to keep Spanish hours (ie to bed at 3 am!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from bristol uk

Nice hotel friendly helpful reception staff

Posted Jan 20, 2014
We stayed at hotel America for 2 nights. Friendly staff. Room adequate. Air conditioning a little noisy . Nice breakfast Overall good value for money hotel
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by T M from New York

Atrocious: Rude Staff, Dirty Rooms, Room Theft!

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Worst hotel experience of my life, starting from the extremely rude, aggressive check-in and ending with the last day of our trip being spent at the police station because a ton of cash was stolen from my room's safe box (hotel completely uncooperative during this process - sent us to wrong police station, claimed they had no security cameras and no record of hotel room entries or electronic safe box openings). Staff was non-professional, disrespectful and unhelpful during our entire stay. They also barely spoke English. They gave us a small, dirty room on 1st floor - which we were paying a lot of money for - and when we asked for an upgrade, we were given a bigger room on the 4th floor but this one was even dirtier - it even had a ton of dried feces on the toilet bowl! They never even apologized for this. Worst part of the experience there was of course our last day which we spent dealing with police in a foreign country in a foreign language because a very significant amount of cash was mysteriously stolen from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stefan from Spain

Good Hotel just out of the main centre.

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location just out of busy main centre., 3 stops from Barcelona Sants, also on the same line for Camp Nou.
Cons: First floor room a bit noisy
A good hotel near to the city centre, nice neighbourhood with interesting shops nearby. We were on the first floor which was a little noisy but ok. The staff were very pleasant and the room clean. We had breakfast at a nearby cafe as breakfast was a bit pricey in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from Dublin, Ireland

Very nice clean modern and central hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Clean, modern hotel with helpful staff. I'd nothing to complain about.
Cons: Could have done with a little more wardrobe space, but was enough for a weekend. would have only been a problem if you were staying for a week or 2.
Location: Good location. Plenty of bars around, which had more of a local feel (and better value) by not being right in the heart of the tourist area.
Very nice hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. 2 blocks from a metro stop, or you could walk to Plaza Catalunya in 15/20 minutes. Nice bars around that had more of a local feel than the spots down the Ramblas. Probably not the hotel for you if you plan to spend all your time partying on the Ramblas and port as it would be the wrong end of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well placed hotel, everything we needed

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Great hotel, only thing I would say is that we were placed in a room facing the front of the hotel. Ok view but quite noisy at night due to roadworks and passers by