Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessie from california

mother daughter adventure

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: modern, clean, the cleaning ladies were so sweet and the refrigerator is always full of something to drink for free! a big plus
Cons: I wish it was a little closer to downtown
Location: Just take the Hop On Hop Off and start from there... There is mall right next door, that was very nice too
My daughter and I went to Barcelona for 7 days. This hotel is a little bit far away from all the good stuff, but the hotel itself is very modern, clean and there is trains, hop on hop off right outside. The breakfast is very expensive but soooo good, we loved it, we ate a lot so we didn't have to have lunch! The manager was so nice, he gave us a bottle of champagne and loved that I was from Chile, very nice man
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from london

Great hotel, adjoining a huge mall

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Everything was great, from service to location, not being in the thick of tourist attractions, great facilities to get around to the city. Sea views a
Cons: Fridge in the minibar could have been switched on... Gave you free drinks in the minibar but they were warm
Location: Barcelona city tour bus leaves from outside the hotel. We bought a two day pass on a hop on and off bus. Worked perfectly. Mall is great nearby too.
We had no idea where to stay on this trip of ours and went by reviews on expedia.true to word this was a good choice. The hotel adjoins a huge mall , great for shopping and dining. The city tour bus leaves from directly outside the hotel, so extremely convenient for sightseeing in Barcelona. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to have breakfast in the cafés across the road , very reasonably priced, and dinner in the mall next door. The hotel was at full capacity, but service was excellent. Rooms were clean and practical...love the Desigual lounge , great spot to relax in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M. from London, UK

I really wanted to give them a full 5, but ...

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness [4 of 5] The room was very clean; apart from the neglected sofa; hence a 4. The room was very quiet, not a sound; Excellent.
Cons: The hotel was great and excellent and I think I have explained enough and I hope that they will improve on the points that I have mentioned.
Location: The Location is excellent... very near to the Metro station, tram, buses and Tourist Buses that stop right outside. There is a big Mall next door too.
Do not get me wrong, our experience of staying in Barcelona Princess Hotel was one of absolute joy and I will definitely stay at this hotel if I go back to Barcelona. But, to be fair on them to improve their services and for the benefit of fellow travellers to have a more realistic expectation I will explain my grading: Hotel Staff [4 of 5] - Even though they are excellent by Spanish standards (I mean compared to other establishments in Barcelona that we saw), there are small things that they can do to improve their customer service; a) Smile ... they don't smile. b) Eye Contact ... They do not maintain an eye contact which can be construed as if they are not interested. c) Body language and enthusiasm ... this is what is expected from hospitality industry; the staff at the reception desk are so stiff and dry that it feels like they do not want to be there and they don't seem pleased to receive guests and take pride in being of service to their guests. I must say not everybody at the hotel was like this. The cleaner lady on our floor was greeting us every day with such a kind smile and courtesy and the whole demeanour that was communicating that she is happy to be there and to serve her guests. What a wonderful lady..., they must learn a bit from her. Facilities and Condition [4 of 5] - Everything was great apart from one piece of furniture in our lounge. The sofa in the lounge seemed like having been left outside under the sun and rain and seemed faded and dirty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Aberdeen

Good short stay

Posted May 18, 2014
Great Hotel. We stayed on the 23rd floor with spectacular cityscape views. The room was quirky & fun with bright colours & free mini-bar & wifi a big plus! Hotel was clean & bright & would recommend. Handy for travel in & out of the city & a good shopping centre close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Sydney

Great place to stay

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: New and modern. The pool area on the 23rd floor was rather wonderful.
Cons: The reception staff did let the side down. They all had an air of indifference about them. However the room attendants and bar staff were great
Location: The location is near the beach. Lots of things to explore. Great shopping centre next door and restaurants and bars in the area close by.
The hotel is a little out of the main area but it's well worth considering. It is new and modern. Our room had ocean views and was very well appointed. The top floor boasts a great relaxing area with a bar and warm lap pool that over looks Barcelona. The third floor has a gym and pool, a bar and also a great place to relax. There is a lovely shopping centre right next door and other small shops and restaurants close by. The area also has a tram service and is close to the train station. The hotel has been given a funky make over by the company clothing design company Desigual. There are glass walkways that connect the buildings very cool!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Staff was rude, tried to force my wife...

Posted May 8, 2014
Cons: Better staff training on customer service.
Hotel was very modern and has all the amenities. Next to a mall with a lots of shops. Close to tram and can get you to the metro easily. Everything was going great until my wife and I booked a massage. We wanted a female masseuse for my wife , however when we got to there it was a male. So naturally I called to to the front desk to have the appointment cancelled and rescheduled when a female masseuse was available. The front desk lady then told me that we will have to pay for the appointment and that we can not cancel. She even raised her voice and started commanding us to go to the massage immediately and that we must go now ! . I asked for her name and asked to talk to the manager. I was denied both requests. This left a really bad impression of the hotel on us. We were ready to recommend this hotel to our friends and family whenever they stay in Barcelona. However I hope their staff gets better training and be more sensitive to their guests needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mal from London

great hotel close to the beach

Posted May 6, 2014
We went for a bank holiday weekend and cannot wait to go back! The location is great, being quite close to the beach and (totally walkable) the mall next door is great and it's super easy to get down to where everything touristy is. We will defiantly be staying there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Away from city center

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: No comment
Cons: No comment. I will stay elsewhere.
Hotel is fine if you want to be near the beach. I was given a roon above the pool. On the first night of my stay there was a loud pool party that went on until 1am. I complained to the front desk. The music stopped, but the drunk people continued to scream, bang on tables and sing loudly. It was horrible! It finally stopped, but I stayed awake the rest of the night. I will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thenickster73 from hertford

Good hotel bit, far out, gym not very well equippe

Posted Apr 25, 2014
It's a nice clean modern hotel...a little away from.the centre but has a mall next door with lots of big brand shops and lots of restaurants too. Staff are great but only one gripe, the gyms not too well equipped, 2 treadmills and free weights up too 10 kg max...ok for for some cv.I guess. I'd stay here again though and my 9 yo daughter loved the outdoor heated pool in.the 23rd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your opinion. All the guest’s reviews help us to improve our service and facilities. Barcelona Princess Hotel is located in the Forum area and has good public transport connections with the city center, just in 20 minutes you will be in the city center. We take note about the gym. Hope to see you again. Best Regards Santiago Hernandez Director Hotel Barcelona Princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: elevators
Friendly staff, good food, modern facilities. the ownly downside was the wait time for the elevator. sometimes we had to wait up to 20 minutes for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review. Sometimes in the rush hours the lifts takes some minutes more, sorry for the inconveniences. That happens when the hotel is fully booked and most of guests want to use the lifts at the same time, for example at breakfast time. Yours Sincerely Santiago Hernandez Director Hotel Barcelona Princess