Ratings based on 1,925 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Few days without the kids

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, pool, bar
Cons: Bathroom didnt seem to have any ventilation?
Location: easy walk to marina and las ramblas definately picking this hotel again for quality price and location you cant go wrong.
Nice Hotel walking distance to Las Ramblas and the Marina, we got a day ticket to the tourist bus and used it one day for an on and off trip round the sites very good value - dont worry about any reports of pick pockets and muggings you get it all over the world we didnt experience anything and you just need to be sensible with your wallet like you would walking round Birmingham. Lovely people lovely food in particular go to the Marina area there is a complex with nice resturants, we paid 95 euros and thought it was dear but had a great meal and cocktails there very happy with our balcony view of the harbour, next night spent 98 euros sat outside in LasRamblas which wasnt half as nice lesson learned its a popular street so they charge high prices for lower quality, eat away from the main street you will be pleased
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, excellent staff

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, roof top pool, clean large rooms
Cons: Rooms with no view
Location: 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. Vigo tapas bar and restaurant Cera 23 are a must. Both are very close by. Pla├ža Espana at the end of the street.
Second visit to this hotel and it did not disappoint. Although we arrived early, the rooms were ready and Roberto was so lovely and helpful providing advice and answering all our questions. Every time we had the occasion to speak to the reception team, they could not be more helpful. Rooms were well appointed with large clean bathrooms. Only downside was our rooms did not have outside facing windows. The pool although not swimming size, was perfect for winding down after a day out in the city. And the cocktails at the pool bar were also very good. Overall, excellent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious, modern hotel with a great location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
This was a surprisingly nice experience. I was traveling for work and moved out of a very pricey hotel when the work component ended and my vacation began. I thought this would mean a big step down in hotel quality, but it really didn't. The Universal had a nice lobby, very friendly staff, reasonable prices and a comfortable room with good amenities. Comfy bed, spacious room, clean and a good location close to basically everything. Walking distance to Pca. Espanya and La Rambla, as well as all the good things those places bring. Right outside the Para-lel Metro stop, so very convenient for when you explore further than your feet will take you (or for travel to/from the airport!) Only complaint was a fairly inconsistent and weird housekeeping standard. Day to day we'd get different amounts of towels/toiletries - sometimes plenty, sometimes not quite enough. They kept taking the old shampoo/soap/etc when 1 new one wasn't quite enough for the day - so we had to hide the old ones to make sure we had enough. No big deal really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W Sussex

Hotel Barcelona

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Very clean well presented and with helpful and attentive staff Additionally being on the 8th floor gave us a view across the city
Cons: nothing
Location: Excellent location, metro station right outside the hotel but just 10 mins walk to La Rambla or to the waterside
Excellent hotel and staff. Excellent location with easy access to the whole of the city Would certainly go back to Barcelona and stay at the Universal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We stayed here for a stag do, three of us shared a room. The room was clean, spacious and stylish, we all commented how nice the hotel was and that it was perhaps too nice for us without our respective girlfriends. Having experienced Barcelona at night we were all glad that we weren't staying on the infamous la Ramblas. Not specific to this hotel but if you're visiting Barcelona watch your pockets as pick pocketing is rife. Apart from that it's a great buzzing city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Great location for looking around Barcelona

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: With the Metro so close the whole of Barcelona's attractions are easily reached.
Went with friends for my wife's 50th Birthday. Room was at the back of the hotel and nice and quiet. There is a metro stop right outside so you can get around Barcelona and visit all the sights within a few minutes of leaving hotel. If we go back to Barcelona we will stay at this hotel again. Manager and staff were friendly, knowledgeable and always willing to help. Barcelona is great place for a break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Excellent hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
After an AirBNB disaster in Barcelona we booked this hotel last minute. The hotel staff were amazing with us and offered us a bottle of Cava as my Wife and I were on our honeymoon. We were only there for a day but wish we could have stayed longer. Clean, comfortable rooms with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Hop off, Hop on tour buses

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was amazing
Cons: Plug outlets were loose and did not charge electronics., Need sheer curtains so you don't over sleep.
Location: You need to take a city bus to the port area of Las Ramblas to get in all the action. Hop off and Hop on the Barcelona Tour bus to get around.
Be sure to use the Barcelona Hop off , Hop on tour buses. Red line and Blue lines take you all over the city for 27 Euros. What a great way to see the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent breakfast!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Excellent location right next to the metro stop. Decent room, comfortable bed but poor shower pressure and no tea making facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great service and location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
We overnighted here before embarking on a cruise. The reception staff were very helpful in providing advice on what to do and where to go for tourist sites and meals etc. The hotel was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We caught a taxi from out the front to the port which was quick, easy and cheap. Even though it was only one night I would stay for longer here if/when we return to Barcelona.