Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Not terrible but some faults

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: excellent location
Cons: As indicated above.
There are some odd rooms without windows but with doors opening into an interior courtyard. Specific problems: no computer to access (let alone a business center). There seems no reason for this as there is plenty of space; very dull bar that never seemed to open for long anyway; bathroom toiletries were very poor indeed for a hotel that aspires to be better than a hostal; dull expensive breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, U.K

Hotel Ciutadella in gothic quarter

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Nice, clean hotel in the heart of the city near the marina, shopping and the beach. The best part about the hotel is the location. It's not fantastic value for money but given the location this more than makes up for it. Also the decor is unusual, very modern and gothic which adds a nice twist to a traditional and historical city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Perfect location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern, quiet, central, free wi fi
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Central to everything, recommend visiting Born district with loads of bars and restaurants, cycling along beach front
Lovely clean hotel, close to everything. We had perfect room on top floor, spacious, two balconies, comfortable air conditioning. Couldn't fault it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Conveniently located; helpful staff

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Spacious room. Modern bathroom.
Cons: Better control of the temperature in the room.
Location: Near the metro, beach, Gothic Neighborhood
Our stay in June 2014 was pleasant. The room was spacious with a modern bathroom. We had a corner unit with two French doors that opened to two small balconies and a pretty view. The staff handled our every request with a smile. They also offered suggestions for restaurants and other amenities in the area. The only issue was the air conditioning in the room. We were unable to control the temperature from the room. It took three tries over two days before the staff was able to make it comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lawrence Grugeonfrom Warwickshire

Pure Perfection

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel :) The hotel is in a perfect location to visit any attraction in Barcelona. The Taxi to the hotel is €35 from the airport but the train station is next door if you want to get their cheaper. (Be carful with Spanish Taxi they like to rip tourist off) On arrival we were allowed to check in 3 hours early at no extra charge and the room I requested from the pictures I saw was the room I got. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom massive, I had a shower room and it was immense. The rooms were clean and air conditioned and iv never slept on a more comfortable hotel bed. We had a corner room on the top floor so two balconies with great views towards the city. The free Wi-Fi is fast and you have a small fridge and flat screen TV in the rooms along with a safe (€3 per day charge for the safe) The staff could not be more helpful, very knowledgable and selling tickets for most major attractions at the desk so you don't have to que and printing them off again at no charge. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and linen. The beach, marina, zoo and le Rambles are all 5 min walks from the hotel front with many bars and restaurants in close range, you are spoiled for choice. The hop on hop off bus stops are a 5 min walk away and again you can buy a ticket for this from the front desk. We never ate the breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on this as we preferred a morning walk down the beach for brunch or we just didn't get up in time lol but they do cater if you want and it looks very nice. All in all the hotel gets a 10/10 from me and my girlfriend and if we return to the City Hotel Ciuatadella will be our first call :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cannock, UK

What a beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This hotel is everything we could have wished for. It is in the best location in Barca, close to the Parc de la Citudella, la ramblas, the beach and the marina. The staff were the most considerate and polite I have ever met, really enchanted the stay. Slight downside was that the bar was never used, this was perhaps as there are high quality bars across the street, and a lovely square nearby. The rooms were of a great style, bed very comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. Would visit Barca again and would be sure to stay here, very highly recommended. I would like to thank all the staff for my stay in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location and room

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: location, room decor, staff
Cons: noise, room facilities, better food options
Pros - the room was lovely, well maintained and a great size. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, a 2 minute walk to the most scenic parts of Barcelona. The actual building is beautiful and really easy to find. Cons - for a 4* hotel I would have expected at least tea/coffee making facilities in the room, there was nothing. After reading the reviews on here we didn't dare try breakfast in the hotel, there were fantastic cafes within minutes of the hotel. No bathroom toiletries, not a major issue but I would have expected that from a 4*. The noise from the cleaners begins at 8.30am every morning and woke me up several mornings (on holiday I would have loved to sleep in)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hayleyfrom Los Angeles

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely comfortable bed right in the heart of the action!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JulienDfrom Malta

Perfect for a first trip in Barcelona

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
lovely and helpful personnel perfectly situated 2 steps from sea, restaurants, shopping and train station. it would be 5 out of 5 if we had available things like disposable toothbrushes etc