Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

A spectacular hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Cons: Be careful of pick pockets. Myself and another person I know had their handbag stolen.
Loved this hotel. Went for a long weekend with my husband and another couple. Very attentive staff and nothing the bother. Beautiful room and hotel. The roof top pool bar was the icing on the cake to enjoy a night cap under the stars. I would highly recommend this hotel. Very central hotel which gave instant access to the culture and ambience of Barcelona. We would definitely book this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA USA

Close to everything in Barcelona!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Location, atmosphere, friendliness and architecture.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Near all of the main sights in Barcelona.
Very helpful staff ... particularly the concierge who helped us with tours, restaurants, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and even better concierge.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Great hotel located right in the city centre. Pool area and bar are a great addition. Rooms were perfect and very clean including a tuck down in the evening. Only issue is the lack of irons, then when told one was not available was told I can pay them to press it. Not what you would expect from a 5* hotel. The concierge were amazing! Especially two young ladies. Diana was amazing at her job and genuinely lovely, I did not catch the other ladies name but she was equally as helpful. Was glad we used them for their expertise in restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA USA

Not a 5 star hotel. Possibly a 0.5 star hotel.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The lobby looks great.
Cons: Service. Facilities. Customer service. Room layout. Design and design function flaws. Noise and the lack of adequate sound proofing between rooms.
Location: Barcelona is full of wonderful excursions, shopping, sightseeing, churches, museums and landmarks.
The lobby is 5 star, there it ends. Our room looked nothing like the online photo of the room we had prepaid. After we checked in, we decided to rest in the room, to recuperate from the travel/time change. Much to our dismay jackhammer & construction noise (the front desk stated a flood on the second floor had caused extensive construction) caused us to ask for a second room. After moving to the new room, also small, awkwardly designed with equally paper-thin walls, things only got worse. We were dumped in the new room. My husband left to do some sightseeing with our other travel companions (whose room was equally bad), while I stayed to take a shower and refresh a bit. Much to my dismay, after starting my shower in the shower/tub I discovered it was clogged and needed to be dealt with or the tub would overflow. I had to get out of the shower and call the front desk to move rooms. instead they sent up a plumber to fix the situation. Finally it was fixed and I could shower, however as soon as I got out of the shower, I stepped into 3 inches of water across the whole bathroom floor, due to a very bad design flaw with the tub's half shower-wall fitting and tub slant ledge, which created a waterfall effect. By now I was exhausted and beyond frustrated with this "5 star hotel and service. My request for a new room was met with sarcasm and arguments, and I was informed I had already complained of construction noise. The new room held similiar problems as the others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice location. Near everything

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We arrived at this hotel and stayed over for two nights. First impression of hotel very modern decor and the staff were very polite and attentive. The best thing about the trip was that the location of this hotel is perfect! We ended up finding really nice restaurants nearby and walked everywhere to the beach, la familia etc . Worth a visit !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent england

excellent central hotel,

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: everything was excellent, no complaints
Cons: perhaps more choice on the resturant menu
Location: very central , close to la famiila, las ramblas and a leisurely walk from the port area
a very relaxing short stay, top hotel excellent attentive staff, not a cheap option but in this instance you get what you pay for! only draw back was a loud mouthed racist biggot at breakfast, but that was 6the fault of the staff. overall a great long weekend!the hotel was a pleasant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Waste of money

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The only nice thing about this hotel is its rooftop pool - but there are only 6 deck chairs. So if you want to enjoy it, you better be up early.
Cons: Staff attitude. Wifi. Wall insulation.
We pre booked four nights at Claris on expedia and prepaid - it was non refundable. On the first night, we barely got any sleep. The walls are paper thin - you can hear taps being turned on in the rooms beside you, you can hear other peoples conversations. They say the wifi is high speed - this is not the case. I was unable to download files for work, it kept logging me out each time I closed my computer - I couldn't even watch a youtube clip! The internet is ridiculously slow - I had faster speed internet using the wifi in Cafe Emma across the road! When we requested to be moved to a quieter room and complained about the wifi, the staff were rude, and one actually said 'what do you expect me to do about that?'. Without a doubt, the worst customer service and the worst hotel I have stayed in - and we paid a premium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from herts

Weekend break

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel was in a good position to visit all of the attractions.the staff were very helpful and friendly .we had a budget room that was very comfortable and clean.we enjoyed the use of the roof bar and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: its location
Location: perfect for Casa Batilo and Casa Milo, the bus stop on Carrier Paul Claris takes you to the harbour and the metro is within easy walking distance
We had a lovely stay in the Hotel Claris. the room was lovely and the hotel kept to a high standard. The location was central with good transport links. my minor issues which were minor, the cleaner was in the room every day however there was always hairs left on the bathroom floor and the room sound proofing wasnt great, you could hear people in surounding rooms and the corridor quite clearly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, England

Great hotel in every way!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Room was a duplex suite and was lovely! Bed was really comfortable, had a little chill out area upstairs and the bathroom was beautiful! Wonderful housekeeping service with mints left on your pillow at night. The food on the rooftop terrace was amazing! A must try! I even proposed to my girlfriend up there on the terrace, she said yes :) It's a great hotel all around. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The pool area next to the terrace is a great place to relax and soak up that lovely sun aswel! You can see why it's 5stars!