Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bergstrasse

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Zentral gelegenes, sehr niveauvolles Hotel mit ausserordentlich freundlichem Personal und exzellenter Gastronomie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC, USA

Fantastic hotel!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Location; quality; breakfast; free minibar; friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: great location
I was very pleased with this boutique hotel. One of the best hotels I have ever been. Very friendly and polite staff that always greet you and care about your needs. Breakfast was very delicious with variety of choices. It is served till 11:00 AM and you can have it delivered to your room. I addition you have free mini bar (non-alcoholic drinks) plus they bring you afternoon and evening delights to your room (fruits, chocolates, sweets). Location could not be better - Placa Reial next to La Rambla, plus the metro station is 2 min walk away. I really had a great experience at this hotel. Would recommend to everyone and would come again. The only downside was that my room was kind of small (room #36) with no view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

classical elegance combined with modern beauty

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: location, architecture, interior design, roof terrace and pool, staff
Cons: menus can be a bit literal; eg, if you don't order butter with your toast, it won't arrive - took a little adjusting to.
Location: set in a beautiful square, close to gothic quarter, ramblas, and 20 mins from beach
Staff were above and beyond in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. hotel interior and room are really high level of finish and decor, whilst retaining informal charm and ambiance to make you feel really at home and welcome. It was hard to leave it behind. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of cava - on my partners birthday, we returned after being out and about to find a bottle of fizz on ice, with cake and treats - and at no charge, very good customer service. We had a superior room looking on to the square - couple of suits available, but already booked - rooms not cheep, but you feel very well looked after here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel in great location

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Super staff. Great location. Very comfortable room. Loved it! Only small negative is that the rooms facing the square are noisy at night with the revelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Spartanburg, SC

Chic boutique hotel in prime location

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Hotel DO is superbly located on the lively Plaza Real at the edge of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and just steps away from the Rambla. There is a private spa, a rooftop terrace and pool with lovely views, and elegant restaurant and an outdoor café. Our room was very stylish and spacious, the staff extremely helpful and charming, the breakfast--included--delicious and made to order, the little amenities both unique and wonderful--complimentary sparkling wine on arrival, fresh fruit (like tiny pears and luscious nectarines) in the late afternoon and sweets (like specially flavored marshmallows and mango filled truffles) at night. Attention is paid to every detail. The only caveat, and nothing to do with the hotel itself, is that the plaza can be quite noisy late at night since so many Spaniards are extremely energetic during those hours! Fortunately, the hotel seems to have enough sound insulation to substantially muffle the din. We LOVED this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful hotel, too many rules.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Look, location.
Cons: Too many rules.
LOVED the look of the hotel (probably my favorite in all of Spain) and the location was superb. But there were a few hiccups: first of all, the AC in one of our rooms didn't work properly. We ended up getting it fixed, but it took my husband going to the front desk twice to get someone to look at it. Second: there were way too many rules around the rooftop pool. After a day of sightseeing, all we wanted to do was relax and read a book by the pool before dinner (which is customarily very late in Spain.) The staff WOKE my sister and I up from a nap because they pool "closed" at 7 pm to start cocktail service on the terrace. It just seemed a bit unnecessary to me. People reading at the pool shouldn't disturb people getting a drink at a table. Plus, there was no one there to get cocktail service, but 4 or 5 people at the pool that were told to leave (even with the sun still out.) Later, when we went to get a cocktail at 11 or so at night, the staff told us were weren't allowed to be served drinks by the pool and had to sit at a table. When we sat at a table, no one came over for 20 minutes so we left. WAY too many rule for a place that should seem laid back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the center of it all

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The staff. The staff is first class. The food was better than the other reviews led me to believe. Breakfast, which was included was very good.
Cons: Nothing....it was noisy outside, and our room faced the ally, but it was quiet inside.
Location: Shopping, waterfront, market, taxis, and everything you need is easily found.
If you are staying in Barcelona and want to experience by walking around, this place is perfect. If you have questions or needs, the staff will help any way they can..and they can. If you want quiet and cool, its here too. The plaza is fun and you can easily walk to the waterfront. Fabulous food abounds, but the food we had on the Terrace of the DO was amazing. Mango Gazpacho rules. I would go here again and again. It is one of most wonderful boutique hotels I've stayed in and pretty soon it will be too expensive for me. This place is a gem above gems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Boutique and centrally located.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We visited the W and were happy that we selected the DO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Excellent small hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Service and location. Room was excellent as was the restaurant. Perfect place to stay for seeing Barcelona, but pricey for an extended stay.
Location: Place Reial is a hub of activity. La Rambla offers great shopping and access to sightseeing buses about a half mile walk.
Located near the gothic quarter on the Placa Reial, near a number of restaurants, La Rambla, lots of shopping and easy access to sightseeing. The restaurant at the hotel is also excellent and provides a great place to sit and watch activity on the Placa. Staff is first rate, very helpful and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Super Lage

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Perfekter Service und extrem freundliches Personal
Ein tolles Wochenende in Barcelona.Tolles Hotel, super Lage, perfekter Service.