Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Barcelona

Posted Aug 28, 2013
We've been in this hotel 7 nights, during the august of 2013. The stuff are very polite, they have help us if choosing some good Spanish restaurants. The hotel is situated from the Rambla Street, approximately 20-25 minutes by the bus (Nr.59).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al from London

Nice hotel, convenient/ reasonably quiet location

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Quite minimal/ stylish & clean.. not too close to town for more relaxed break.. but still close to main roads & bus into town.
Cons: Staff friendlier or happier. Less noise outside with deliveries or people late night/ early mornings..
Location: Bus route/ pick up stop for tourist tour/ main bus to town close. Close to local eating places/ shops & new malls further up on main road.
Bedroom was facing front street which is quiet most of time apart from late night and early morning when trying to sleep some deliveries or people talking other activities are going on. The lift shaft or other machinery must be quite close/ can clearly hear noise. But overall it was good standard/ clean room for the package/ cost. Most staff are reasonably friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Scotland, UK

A good base for the city

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: None
Location: Good location for access to all attractions
Hotel staff very helpful. The hotel is a 10 minute bus journey from Plaza Espanya where there are lots of shops and a number of tourist attractions.Bus about 2 mins walk away. Hop on/off tourist bus about 5 min walk away and the hotel can give you advice about that and all other transport. Plenty of restaurants and shops like local grocery, bakers and fruit shops nearby. Big shopping mall about 10 mins walk from the hotel. Metro 10 mins walk from hotel which takes you everywhere. Travel on buses and trains is inexpensive. Less than 10 euro for a 10 journey ticket and if you know what you want to do then other tickets available too. If you have time get a train to Montserrat from Plaza Espanya. The staff at the station even help you buy the ticket from the machine!! Going this way is interesting, easy and half the price of the tourist buses. You will be ther most of the day to see it all. Be prepared to queue in Barcelona - and they move slowly. The bus journeys also defy any health and safety regulations you may be used to so squeeze up! Just when you think the bus is full 20 more get on! Have fun in this city and enjoy the cultural differences. The people are lovely. I had no problem with theft but as with all big cities just be careful. There were a lot of police around so I think they are addressing any problems you may read about in other reviews.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vadym

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Elizabeth from New York

Excellent hotel in a decent location

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great hotel with no complaints except for the location- a little far from the center of Barcelona and a little far from the closest metro stop. The area is a little quiet at night as well so we chose to take a cab from the metro to the hotel every night. Other than that, no other problems
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Sparks, Nv

Pre-cruise overnight stay

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: The staff was extremely helpful
Location: Perfect for doing some exploring on our own. We found a fantastic restaurant very near by
A very courteous and knowledgable staff. We arrived on an early morning international flight and much to our surprise were able to check in to our rooms immediately on arrival. The rooms were large and comfortable, even including a seating area. We were directed to the closest stop for the hop on hop off bus, only a few blocks away, which enabled us to spend the day sightseeing before departing on a cruise the following day. A very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Kent, UK.

Brilliant hotel

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The only thing I could possibly complain about is that there's some noise outside at night, but nothing that disturbed us too much.
Location: Only a short walk to the Metro station and Camp Nou. Plenty of shops around.
We only stayed for two nights, but the hotel was absolutely wonderful. The staff spoke fluent English (to make up for my terrible attempts at Spanish) and were more than happy to help with anything we needed. The room service was top notch and the rooms were incredibly comfortable with TV channels in Spanish, Catalan, English and Russian on offer. Check out time was 12pm but our flight didn't leave until that night. The staff were more than happy to allow us to hold off on checking out for a couple of extra hours and then kept our luggage secure while we saw a few last things in the city. It was an absolutely lovely place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: The staff and the comfy bed
Cons: sometimes noisy
Location: very close to a tram line and shopping district. Also a short walk to the Nou Camp.
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and we were very happy with what we got. The staff here were extremely helpful in telling us the best ways to get round the city. The hotel could be a bit noisy at times but overall a very comfortable stay. Thank you very much for the stay and hope to see you again soon
3 out of 5
by Cindy from USA

Wouldn't stay again.

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: Hotel Derby is trying to be an elite hotel, but is missing it by quite a bit.
Location: The location was not ideal, it took a lot of walking or transport to get anywhere. Plus it was very noisy!
If you are looking to doing touristy things (like visiting la ramba, the beach and basiclica sagrada de la familia) you have to walk at least 1.5 miles to get to each (unless you take transportation). The hotel was in a very noisy area even though it wasn't really near anything. I usually do not have problems sleeping and it would wake me up at night. The staff were not very helpful most of the time, which is a disappointment. I felt as if I was a trouble more than anything the majority of the time. And the swimming pool should not even be advertised as such. It's the size of the majority of hotels' hot tubs. I didn't dislike my stay, but I'm sure there are much better places for the same price out there.