Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Refused to honour Expedia prepaid booking

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Nice design, decent sized and comfortable beds, good shower.
Cons: Different pillow options could be provided: ours were too tall for comfort. Staff should be briefed on how to handle Expedia-booked customers.
Location: Great location in central Barcelona, handy for many sights and attractions.
Hotel had no record of our booking when we arrived. A day later, insisted that Expedia had not paid them and that they no longer did business with Expedia. I called Expedia, handed them the phone and all seemed to have been resolved. At checkout they once again claimed that Expedia had not or would not pay them, although they at least had a printout of our booking details at that point. Put them in contact with Expedia once again (all of this from my mobile phone!) and even though Expedia explained the payment process they refused to follow it, apparently threatening to Expedia that they would call the police on us. Expedia explained to me they were not playing ball, and offered an immediate refund. Hotel then tried to charge us 40% more than the booked Expedia rate. We eventually got them down to 10% more, paid and left. We will not be going back, and I suggest that neither do you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey, USA

Excellent hotel in a central location.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Close to hot spot of the city. Hotel staff are nice and accommodating. Hotel is modern and clean.
Cons: none
Very good experienced.restaurant and torist spot are in walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guadalajara, MX

Close to Las Ramblas

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: location, Services, great attitude from the staff, Very good recomendations near by for breakfast, launch, and dinner, proximity to Las Ramblas.
Location: Las ramblas, metro station, Cañete Restaurant, Opera Liceu, Escriba Coffee shop, Gothic neiborghood.
very nice and confortable hotel at 60 meters from las Ramblas and to the Metro Liceu station, great actitudes from the staff, both restaurants offer good options for breakfast, and the other for dinner is a Gourmet one, Very delicious, we loved to Stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and well situated hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Found the hotel to be well kept and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit tight but to be expected for the location. My only complaint was that our room only had a window facing the interior of the hotel instead of the outside. Not at all a big deal, just my personal preference. Overall, Hotel España is worth a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: Perfect location if you like Las Ramblas area. Safe and Quiet.
Very friendly and helpful staff. So accommodating that they let us check-in when . we arrive early, Gives us map of Barcelona and tips on good restaurants. we would definitely recommend and return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philly

Perfect location

Posted Nov 30, 2014
This hotel is clean and perfectly located. Ths staff is extremely helpful-they assisted me in the retrieval of serveral items that were left behind. Rooms are small but when in Barcelona one should not be in ther room for anything other than sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire.

Wonderful central city position.

Posted Nov 26, 2014
The perfect hotel for a visit to Barcelona. Great central location which is close the heart of the city. The hotel has attentive staff and good facilities. We are planning to revisit in the future. Didn't actually eat in the hotel apart from a substantial breakfast each day. This was only because of the choice of eating establishments in the vicinity. Well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Their location and they had a great taste on the decor.
Location: Just behind the Opera liceu, a block away from the Ramblas and two blocks away from the Boqueria market.
Room is really a nice jewel close to the most important attractions in Barcelona. There is also less than a block to the metro station for further locations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Was a little hard to find, but no issues with getting a taxi during the stay. The hotel is extremely clean and charming. Rooms are a bit small, but there is so much to do in Barcelona that I was hardly ever in the room. One other draw back for light sleepers is that the walls are pretty thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

A good hotel overall

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, quiet.
Cons: Lighting in bathroom for make up application.
Location: Two blocks from La Boqueria Market.
The location was excellent for us. Half a block off La Rambla in Barri Gotic and easy walking distance to beach, Eixample and Born areas. Despite this it was very quiet at night. The hotel itself is an interesting mix of old and new. There is a beautiful, old alabaster fireplace in the lounge. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only downside is that we felt ripped off when we needed to exchange US dollars for Euros at the front desk. Our cabbie didn't know how to run a non chip and pin credit card so we needed cash to pay him. I highly recommend bringing a chip and pin card to Barcelona as we had to repeatedly show non English speakers how to run them. While this could be entertaining as both sides had to be creative in communicating, it did get old.