Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Classy and sophisticated in a central position.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a lot of character and was very clean and the room was very comfortable.
Cons: A follow up from the man at reception, to attend to a fault in the room. No feedback after complaint, that a bathroom tap was faulty.
Location: Great location, and near la Rambla and good restaurants.
A pleasant, quiet retreat and in a very good, central position.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Once found worth finding!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location was great and the room was a good size and clean with a comfortable bed, Staff were very helpful.
Cons: Better signage out the front.
Location: 40metres from the Ramblas. 15 minute easy walk to La Famillia.
Not easy to find, you need to look for a 30cm square sign on the first floor to find it, but worth the effort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami florida

Hotel service disapointing

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the open market Boqueria were you can get great food daily.
Cons: Staff is too young and not trained to service guest. I had asked why they don't turn the bed at night and their answer was " we are not a 5 star hotel
Location: close to everything but too busy an area.
Hote Espana is located one block of las Ramblas and its super bury and laud at night. Room service was terrible. They only did the bed and nothing else, sandy floors, dirty dishes not picked up, bathroom towels missing... etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Convenient for all attractions

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Very clean, very modern. Excellent surroundings.
Cons: Restaurant/breakfast way overpriced. Downstairs bar very atmospheric but did not stock bacardi (?) so no use to us!
Location: Central to everything; half way between Place Catalunya and the Port and everything reasonable walking distance.
Hotel just off the Ramblas - by the Opera House. Extremely quiet, no noise from outside or inside. Rooms very smart and modern, although the hotel is quite old. Staff helpful. Rooftop bar great for having a drink before bed but could get a bit hot during the day. Did not eat in the hotel as quite expensive but fantastic restaurants/food market close by so did not go hungry! Great base for a brilliant few days in Barcelona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Close to las lambras and public transportations

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Friendly staffs and speaks good English and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

A Beautiful hotel close to The Ramblas

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The location, comfort, quietness, (small) pool & roof terrace & the decor.
Location: Very convenient for central Barcelona & the old town, just off The Ramblas. Loads of attractions in easy walking distance.
A comfortable and characterful hotel with interesting early 20th century decor in the public areas. Can't comment on the restaurant as it was too pricey for us, but everything else was fine. The room was compact, with no bath, just a shower. Given the constraints imposed by the layout of this historic building this is understandable. It didn't bother us, but some might want more space. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, lovely terrace bar

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, terrace bar
Cons: Wifi reliability
Location: So much to do and see. Apart from the obvious tourist destinations, it's worth exploring the Gothic Quarter, particularly for evening meals.
Impressed by the excellent location, just yards from Las Ramblas, and we enjoyed evening drinks in the lovely terrace bar. Disappointing that the main hotel bar wasn't open in the evenings. The communal areas were lovely but we were disappointed by the size and location of our room which overlooked what appeared to be the back of a rundown block of flats. The bathroom was badly designed and consequently the floor was wet whenever the sink or shower was used, however careful we were. One of the sink taps fell off - but we were offered a change of room which, given it was our final night we didn't take up. The free wifi was unreliable to say the least. As we were there to explore Barcelona, the hotel was ideal but I wouldn't have wanted to spend very much time in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mary

Beautiful hotel with excellent service.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The hotel is beautiful, we fall in love with this hotel in Ramblas. As soon as we arrived the room was ready. Excellent service, very clean and the location: awesome. We will be back soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Fl

I'll never go back

Posted Sep 13, 2014
The best thing was the location. The staff was not helpful at all and gave incorrect information at times. In order to get around the bed to use the bathroom you had to hug the wall or you would end up black and blue. The management calls the decorations in rooms modern. I would call it minimalistic. It was however clean which is a plus. I would look for another hotel with a more accommodating staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We thought it would be better.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The restaurant.
Cons: The hotel's design and the location.
Location: The location is abysmal. There are good food locations around the area, but not worth staying in a location that is less than satisfactory.
Unfortunately the location and amities including the room size is worse than disappointing. We thought Barcelona would be a highlight of our Barcelona trip, but we were sadly disappointed. The room was tiny, unable to move in the room at all, no views to the outside although the restaurant was quite good. I wish I would of know this before I scheduled this for my girlfriend and I.