Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in excellent location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Excellent for the price and very central location. Clean and spacious rooms. Close to major tourist locations like Picasso museum and Gaudi museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice hotel, central location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better air conditioning
Location: Las Ramblas, Cathedral, & Picasso Museum are nearby must sees. Train & gondola trip Mont Serrat is worthwhile. Sagrada Familia is worthy of a miss.
Best thing about this hotel is its location, within easy reach of Las Ramblas, the Cathedral, etc., including a Metro stop just yards down the street. Metro is a great system - get a pass at any station (the kiosks have an option to speak to you in English). Overrated as a 4-star, but still quite comfortable and reasonably priced. Air conditioner worked but was barely adequate. Interior view of a courtyard, which made the room a bit dark, but you're not there for the view from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Phoenix, Arizona (US)

Very Good hotel in a terrific location.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location, helpful staff.
Cons: Don't buy breakfast, unless it's included. It's worth about half of the 16 euro @ cost.
Location: A safe location on a major street, 5-10 Minute walk from the Cathedral, La Rambla and the Picasso Museum. Plenty of restaurants and shops close by
Just finished a 6 night vacation stay. Hotel was very clean and in a safe, convenient location within walking distance from the tourist sites in the old city. Hotel is also about 50 meters from the Metro and easy access to other major sites. It is a very good value for the money with only a few glitches. Reception and maid staff was very helpful. The fridge did not work in our room and my wife, who is diabetic, needed an accessible place to store her insulin. The reception staff gave us immediate, 24 hour access to a fridge just off the lobby. Calling a taxi was no problem but providing directions, beyond drawing on a tourist map, was beyond their level of English or my level of Spanish. My wife asked for an extra large towel for her hair on the first day and each day thereafter they left her an extra towel. We had breakfast at the hotel only one morning. The price was outrageous for what you received (16 euro each), but there were plenty of breakfast options available a few steps outside the hotel. My wife is very picky and she was happy with the Hotel Gotico. I will stay there again my next trip to Barcelona and would recommend it to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by rococorichie from Manila

Fantastic!

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Location Charming Hotel! Just Fantastic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location, close to metro.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Location was wonderful. Good staff. Breakfast ok. Lovely rooftop terrace not everyone will find we happened to be on 5th floor.
3 out of 5
by Jim from Sunnyvale, CA

Small and cramp, should probably rated as 3 stars

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location! Location! Location!
Cons: Bed mattress, and Wi-Fi policy.
This hotel is a bit overrated, the location is their best jewel, price is also fine, but the room is very small, and bed is too soft and sink too much when you sit on it. The worst experience is the Wi-Fi, each device must have its own login credential, and every day you have to re-login, at least for my iPhone, such an inconvenience for customers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wilderbeast from England

The Hotel is well positioned. Easy access to lots

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Had lots of difficulty with Wi fi But overall enjoyed Barcelona. Hotel could be better.
3 out of 5
by Eddie from Manchester UK

Hotel in an excellent location

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Main thing the location.
Cons: Hotel run down and boring WFI connection very erratic
Location: Excellent location certral to the Harfour/Ramblas
Whilst in an excellent location the Hotel it's self is a bit boring and run down. No restaurant facilities and a very small bar off the reception that was never open. We chose board only which i was glad about as the breakfast buffet area was small and dingy and not very appealing. The rooms are of a good size and were kept clean but the hanging space was a bit sparce if you were looking to stay longer than a couple of days. Overall a bit disapointing but in a great location which does compensate as there is everything you need just outside the Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location

Posted Sep 3, 2013
The unique selling point of this hotel is that it's very well located within the Gothic center of Barcelona. On that note one should appreciate that it is a slightly old hotel, but it's always clean and tidy (although never was keen on the scent they used in their cleaning products). For the money i paid i can't complain. Great place for a short stay in BCN.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Leeds

Good Value, Perfect Location.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location!!
Cons: The rooms are small and basic but comfortable nonetheless.
Location: Perfect Location
If you're looking for good value in the perfect location then this is the place to be. Located just yards from the metro station, Jaume I, the hotel is ideal for accessing all that the city has to offer. The beaches and harbour are just a ten minute walk away or a one minute metro ride. La Rambla is even closer, just five minutes walk. Barcelona is such an amazing city you won't want to spend much time in the hotel! Hotel Gotico couldn't be placed any better. The rooms are small and basic and there is no view to speak of. But the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. The hotel was very quiet despite it's central location and the rooms have air conditioning to combat the stifling summer heat. If you're after a convenient location that is good value and aren't planning on spending much time in the hotel then look no further.