Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Great location poor customer service!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
After arriving 36 hours late because of plane delays, and an email sent to give them a heads up of our situation, they were unwilling to move of our original 2-night booking over by a day. So, we lost a night and paid out of pocket (at a higher rate than the original price) for the change :( In the middle of November, it being slow season with ample room availability you would think they would be more willing to compromise... We left unhappy customers and they lost out on our business for the remainder of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Direccion Hotel Inglaterr, Hotel Management
Dear Jojo, Thank you very much for your review explaining your experiencie in our property. I apologize for the inconveniences that your delay flight and the fact that your reservation was non refundable and cannot be modified, could have caused you. An early bird reservation means that the reservation cannot be modified even if you send an email informing aobut your arrivald date. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the nex future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to major sights

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Great location
Cons: In room coffee maker or be able to buy coffee from restaurant instead of having to pay for the breakfast buffet just to get coffee.
Hotel location is excellent. Aerobus and Tourist bus at the Placa Catalunya. La Rambla right at the corner. Room #103 was TOO small for 2 adults, only a walkway to the bathroom since you had to set your luggage on the floor, no luggage rack. Closet was too small to put anything in. The A/C blows directly on to the bed, impossible to get the temperature right for a good night sleep. And the bed was too soft for us. Walls too thin ... You can hear everybody coming back in late at night or early in the morning. We stayed for 4 nights and did not get a good night sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Direccion Hotel Inglaterr, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having posting a review about the Inglaterra Hotel. As you mention in your review we are next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Room 103 is the standard size room the city rooms; our city view rooms are bigger and facing the street. I apologize if your stay in the room was not very comfortable due to the blowing of the air conditioning directly on the bed. Our main priority is to be able to offer a good atmosphere in the rooms. So, this is something we will take into account for the future room's upgrade. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in another kind of room. Best Regards, Maribel Ponce
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

Stay at Hotel Inglaterra

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No tea or coffee facilities in our room ( 203)
Location: Close to transport links and centre of Barcelona. Great location
Had a great stay. Hotel in a great location for sightseeing. shopping, metro and 5 min walk to Plaza Catalunya. On the down side I was disappointed at no tea or coffee making facilities. Would recommend hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Direccion Hotel Inglaterr, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at the Inglaterra Hotel. Our hotel is located in the best area of Barcelona, just in the city centre. I apologize you felt disappointed for the lack of coffe making facilities. We are thinking of offering this service in our rooms in the future. We will be very happy if you visit us again in the future. Best Regards, Maribel Ponce
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kirriemuir

Sight seeing break

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location, location location. Modern well fitted room and en suite on 5th floor. Only one lift so used stark quite a bit.
Cons: provision of safe in room, but we used safe deposit at reception - free.
Location: excellent location and walking distance to Catalana, Metro / bus stop in 50m gave access to services to all areas. Good shopping in walking distance
Ideally located for sight seeing - close to metro and bus, walking distance to La Rambla and harbour areas. All Staff could not have been more helpful with any questions on hotel, left luggage using their computer to book tickets (recommended) for Sagrada Familia. Roof top pool small but loungers and shades great after long day touring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Good clean hotel, with friendly helpful staff

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Good location, close to center. Hotel clean and well-kept
Location: Across the street from the University metro stop 3 blocks from Plaza Cataluna, 3 blocks from La Ramblas
Very well situated right across the street from University metro stop, and a couple blocks from Plaza Cataluna and La Ramblas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire

Very nice hotel in the centre of Barcelona

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet and good value
Cons: Would have liked a kettle in the room but realise this is an English requirement!!
Location: Easy to access the metro & tourist buses.Just off La Ramblas
The hotel was centrally placed.The staff were very helpful. The toiletries were nice as was the breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, great location - not much else

Posted Sep 25, 2014
friendly staff, pool upstairs was too small, room service were pretty rude, reception was very friendly, wifi was unstable and unfortunately no ethernet connection. I'd recommend for a short stay, it has a great location and very quiet despite being on a main road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Great clean modern hotel in a superb location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Cons: Mirrors in the room (not just bathroom) and draws.
Location: Perfect location for a central stay, a minutes walk from the top of La Rambla.
Hotel staff are excellent and the hotel itself is new and very clean. If I had to say anything negative it would be that the 'Swimming Pool' was a slight exaggeration and more of a large hot tub than a pool. It would also be good to have some mirrors in the room itself not just the bathroom, either a full length in the room or a smaller one above the dressing table would be helpful and some draw space, not just a hanging wardrobe. These are minor niggles though and shouldn't detract from the great hotel that is it and stay that we had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England, UK

Modern hotel in a great location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Stayed for 4 nights for a city break in Barcelona. Location couldn't be better! Situated inbetween two metro stations and a 5 - 10 minute walk to the top of the Ramblas. Plenty of shops and restaurants surrounding the area and opposite the hotel is a very handy small food store and a Subway. Also a Starbucks is down the street. Room was cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and towels, free air con, and a mini bar which we used to cool our own drinks in. We were lucky enough to have a queen size bed with a city view and although it is quite a busy street the soundproofing was excellent for a great nights sleep. Furnishings are very modern and in our room we had lots of space. Didn't try the breakfast but looked buffet style. Terrace roof with a small jacuzzi sized pool was a great addition after a busy day sightseeing to relax and wind down - although they could do with a few more lights up there. Staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful with directions and gave us lots of info and leaflets on Barcelona on arrival. There is also a room you can use to store your luggage after you have checked out. All in all I would choose to stay at Hotel Inglaterra again if I was ever back in Barcelona. Great city, great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Nice hotel close to the sights

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Welcoming staff, the breakfast was great plenty of choice. The room was very clean and tidy. Only criticism is our room was at the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy due to the hustle of the city.