Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Would highly recommend

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The ambiance. The Staff and the quality.
Staff are very helpful and speak very good English The Hotel is lovely, relaxing, ideally situated for most tourist attractions and the Metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from San Francisco

Great modern hotel -

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Beautiful hotel- Clean, Modern efficient Beds, like all over Spain, very very hard. However staff were able to place some cushioning when requested to do so. All chairs in lobby, bar and restaurant very low, awkward to get up from. But they look marvelous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from England

Nice hotel good value

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Excellent service. Stylish. Good location
Cons: More comfortable bed
Location: Very close to the metro, so easy access to everything
The hotel is excellent. Only criticism is the bed was very firm. Everything else was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vicki from england

Nice hotel in a quieter area

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Small and friendly
Location: Good area to get to lots of attractions but away from the hustle and bustle
Helpful staff, nice atmosphere and lovely fragrant candles burning. Nice roof top bar area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff. Cleanliness. Decor. Comfort. Rooftop terrace.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in rooms.
Location: .
Just returned from 4 day break in Barcelona. Weather was not the best but hotel was excellent. All staff were very polite and helpful at all times. Hotel is a little further out in terms of walking to Rambla, Port, La Sagrada Familia but Metro is easy to use and less than a minute away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jo from Toronto

Good hotel for exploring Barcelona

Posted May 23, 2014
Hotel Villa Emilia offers the tourist a very comfortable base to explore all of the best things Barcelona has to offer. It is close enough to walk or hop on the Metro to see the Gaudi sights, museums and the most interesting areas of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Singapore

Nice hotel just for stay

Posted May 17, 2014
We stayed in villa Emilia from the rave reviews it got from TripAdvisor. The hotel room is excellent. Clean, nice and modern. 5 stars for cleanliness. However, they don't provide bottled water for their guests. It is chargeable. Neither do they provide a kettle for boiling water. Breakfast is also chargeable at eur15 per person. The lifts to the hotel room are quite slow and we had this experience where there was a big group of people who just checked in and were waiting at the lift. We had to wait a long time for the lift to ferry them up then come back down. Aside from that, this hotel is located near Rochafort metro station. It is one stop away from espanyol station where you can find the old bull fighting stadium which is now converted to a shopping mall. Hence, location is great if you prefer an enclosed shopping environment vs passieg De gracia, which is very open and you have to walk to many blocks just to get to one store. Overall I felt that the hotel stay was good due to the proximity to the metro and excellent room condition. What I felt was a letdown was the lack of customer experience. The service staff felt cold. If you just want a nice hotel to sleep in, I would still recommend villa Emilia. Just don't expect any service or water from them. Everything here is chargeable.
3 out of 5
by Cheryl from Reston, Virginia

Nice Hotel-Not For Us

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel in general and the rooms.
Cons: The attitude of the front desk women. The two guys were quite the opposite. They were very coutreous, friendly and helpful.
Location: If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your hotel and around the immediate area, this hotel is fine. There are nice cafes in the area.
We booked this hotel based on the good reviews, the website and the good price. We travel quite frequently, so I am basing my comments on similar hotels. We spent 5 nights the last week of April. At registration, it was brought to our attention that we booked through Expedia instead of the hotel, and therefore, were not entitled to some of the perks. We've encountered this negative reaction at other hotels, and will remember this when making future bookings. The room was lovely with a nice bathroom. The hotel was clean and modern.The location was far from the main tourist sites. We were led to believe the hotel would be more centrally located. We like to walk but this was much further than we expected. After discovering that we needed to download tickets to the Sagrada Familia, I asked the ladies at the front desk for help. Theirs is the only printer in the hotel. This was at night when no one else was around. They said they were too busy. We found them aloof, unfriendly and put out. If you are coming to Barcelona to enjoy the major sites and a friendly staff, this is not the hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Birmingham

A modern, comfortable, clean hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food excellent and good value for money and there was wonderful live jazz music on two nights.
Cons: Can't think of anything particularly we felt could be improved.
Location: The hotel is very near metro station Rocafort. It only takes 5 minutes to get to the city centre. There are bars, ice creams, restaurants etc nearby
Hotel Villa Emilia was prefect for us. It is an ideal location just outside the centre . The facilites are modern and clean, the staff are amazing. We had two evening meals at the hotel which was ecellent quality and good value at 25 euros for 3 courses. Also it was lovely to finish our bottle of Cava on the rooftop terrace. We got around the city using the metro which is very quick, cheap and user friendly. It's best to pre-book the busy tourist attractions (Sagrada Familia, Gaudi houses etc) which we did via the Tourist Information Office in Placa Catalunya and also using the hotel's free internet. We hope to come back to Barcelona and would definitely stay at Hotel Villa Emilia again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dee from Wigan UK

Little Gem of a hotel.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: everything!
Stayed 3 nights on 24th April 2014. Great Hotel, good location, 20 min walk to Las Ramblas or has a metro stop 2 min walk away. Very helpful friendly staff. Lovely modern clean rooms. Lovely roof terrace. Had free cake with Tea or coffee between 5-7pm, great touch! Would definitely recommend.