Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Apartment in El Ravel close to Barríe Gotìc

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location (near the Merchat St Antoni and the Metro) and availability of a kitchen
Cons: Security, check-in pricess
Location: Many small restaurants and shops, Mercat St Antoni, Metro
The apartment does not have afront desk, as previously explained. The machine that dispenses the keys is tricky to work and does not like American magnetic strip credit cards, so a call had to be made to management. There were lockers available to store luggage until check-in or after check-out time. Our 1 bedroom apartment for 3 people was quite small. Although 3 or 4 people can stay there, the sofa bed would basically fill the width of the living room if pulled out (our third person slept on the sofa without pulling out the bed). The kitchen is also very small and does not have many basic things like a lid for the large pot, measuring spoons and cups,a vegetable peeler, etc. but was minimally functional. We chose to stay in a apartment because I need to cook due to health concerns, and did get my food made. There was a mid-week cleaning. Our biggest problem was on our first full day there. Someone gained entry (not obviously forced) into the apartment and stole over €420 and some American dollars. surprisingly they did not touch the electronics that were in the apartment. The theft was reported to management, who stated they got security tapes of the time involved and were reviewing them with the police, but we never heard back about it. The impression that was left was that it was our fault because we did not double lock the front door nor use the safety lock box provided (we did not know it was such a risk!) This incident negatively affected our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely apartment close to all amenities.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, services, facilities
Location: Close to metro, inexpensive and easy travel. Easy access to all tourist attractions including beaches. Indoor market, supermarkets bars shops.
Enjoyed a weeks city break with my daughter in law. Used the Metro every day which was safe. clean and inexpensive. Lots to see and do. Even went to the beach. Hired bikes, ate in nice restaurants on harbour, visited attractions and even ate in a couple of nights as food in the indoor market was plentiful and of good quality, especially fish and meat! Very enjoyable stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Disappointed

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The maintenance man (that fixed the kiosk and our shower drain) was very nice.
Cons: Staff demeanor. Please train your staff to be courteous & polite. Just courteous and polite is sufficient, but friendly would be even better.
I booked this apartment based on the Expedia rating of 4.5 (at the time of booking) 3 months prior to our trip. We encountered the following problems: 1) The staff gave me the wrong building code when I called 1 week prior to the trip (as directed by the reservation; 2) After getting in, the self-service kiosk was not recognizing credit cards. There were 4 families in the hall with the same problem; 3) When I called from the phone beside kiosk, the gal was rude and patronizing; 4) After we resolved check-in, our apartment was not very clean, the kitchen trash reeked and pillows were missing pillow cases; 5) when I asked the cleaning lady that was sitting on the stairs playing with her cellphone, she was rude and unhelpful. She deferred (or whatever) to the maintenance man whom delivered the cases; In addition 6) our shower drain was clogged upon 1st shower. All this after a 24 hour travel day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by OzHol from NSW

Well Equipped

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were impressed at how well equipped this small but tastefully designed apartment was - everything that we needed for our short 4-day stay was provided. Our only complaint was that the walk to the centre of Barcelona (La Rambla, Gothic Quarter etc) took us through a very seedy part of town but apart from that we had no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcel from Miami | Rome | Philadelphia

Good Apt but don't leave anything behind...

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good apt, clean, good location but I left 3 expensive shirts in the apt and when I called to have them held for my next arrival the managers tell me that cleaning service didn't find the anything in the apt. Word to the wise- Don't leave anything behind because you won't see it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for a long weekend

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Called from the airport to get the front door code, quick response and good English spoken. Easy to get to using the Airport train and Metro. Automated check in was easy to navigate, but took a few attempts to realise the name input was case sensitive. Apartment was a good size and just what was needed for exploring the city. Walking distance to the centre and 2 minutes from some local shops and a metro stop. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jen from Toronto

Convenient for early/late check-in/out

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed only briefly, as we had an early morning flight the next day. Loved that we could stash our luggage before check-in time (2p) for only 1€ (deposit). Efficient. Straightforward. No hassles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rita mellott from USA

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was so pleased with how well our check in went, even though we were late to arrive. The hotel staff told us what to expect as far as the door code, the workings of the machine in which we received the key, and even though I was skeptical, within minutes we were in our room. The room was lovely, large and located within easy walking distance of the underground. There was a beautiful store right beside our building with easy access to fresh fruits, vegetables, milk and coffee if needed. Also cafes and restaurants within a few yards of the apartment. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good location

Posted May 5, 2014
The apartment was ok - great market next door - best is Barcelona fresh fruit and vegetables etc the apartments shlould be cleaner and the hair dryer didn't work few light bulbs were missing - curtain was shabby etc. but it offered comfortable conditions walkable distance from the centre etc
1 out of 5
by Amy from LA

Be aware of the hotel service

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: The phone representative's attitude need improvement. Hotel room facility need to improve. The room should be cleaned and ready before check in time.
Location: This hotel is far from the old town and the palaces traveler plan to go. It's a waste of time to stay there. You will need to take metro to go out.
Be aware! There is no front desk. You have to find a pay phone yourself to call them to get the code to get through front door. Then there is a machine you can use to check yourself in. If you have problem, you can call using the phone next to the machine, but the representative may tell you 'no English'. I booked the hotel on Expedia and paid $143.19 + $14.32 tax and fees. But when I check in, they force me to leave my credit card and charged $2 as tax fee. I guess they just want to get my credit card info as deposit. The check in time is 3PM. It took me about 1 and half hours to finally get the room key, but when I got in the room around 4:30PM, the cleaning ladies were still there cleaning the room. We didn't feel safe to leave our bags there, so we waited about another half hour for them to finish. They didn't even clean the room well and the rugs had a moldy smell in them and we saw the cleaning ladies folding the towels on a dirty table. Later, we found out they did not make our sofa bed so we had to set it up ourselves. We also found that in the restroom, the cleaning lady only gave us half a tiny bottle of unfinished shampoo and only gave us 1/4 roll of a toilet paper. The bathroom had no fan. This is the worst hotel experience I've ever had. They definitely not worth 4 start rating. I only give 1 start based on my bad experience. Expedia should delisting this hotel.