Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Amazing View

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Our stay at the Miramar hotel was great. The location was excellent. It is within walking distance to the metro, it's alsohas by the cable car that takes you down to the beach area. Cabs cost about 10-15 euro to most spots in the city. The room was good and clean the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is well maintained. The only thing negatives I can say about the hotel are the prices of food in the restaurant and they need to replace the lights on the pillar caps on the decks ad most of them arent working.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel but service not good

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Service not good.hotel clean,comfortable.food not good and overly priced. Noisy outside room. Service at pool area terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Stayed here on a short break and hotel was very friendly and perfectly located to explore this wonderful city. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, FL

Nice hotel, best view in the entire city

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: View and close to cruise ships
Cons: Would not recommend the breakfast package. We thought it to be expensive and not worth it. On site restaurant was good but had limited entree menu.
Location: Within short walking distance to city buses and sightseeing busses.
Very nice hotel about a 10.00 € cab ride from the cruise port. The hotel sits high above the entire city. We had a 5th floor corner unit which had a spectacular view both dining the day and at night. Large room, super sized balcony adjacent to a classy city park. Staff was exceptionally nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Beautiful hotel, would recommend

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We have just arrived home from a stay at the mirimar hotel, which on the whole was a brilliant hotel. We stayed in a premium room which was incredibly spacious and home to one of the largest bathrooms I think I've ever seen. We had a lovely sea/harbour view! It's a main harbour so yes you do hear the ships engines when they come in, but for me it wasn't a great problem. The hotel is sat amongst beautiful gardens, has a very stylish outdoor pool with bar, nice indoor pool and gym, it is a joy to be in and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a shooting range not far away and you can hear some "pop pop" noise from the rifles being fired ( though my girlfriend didn't pick up on it until I pointed it out) if you are going to sunbath for long periods and think this may annoy you, I would suggest taking some headphone, you don't need to put your music up very loud before the noise is gone. The hotel it's self is slightly out of town, but we walked just about everywhere and think the average person could reach the harbour in 20 minutes ( mainly shops and restaurants here), La Rumbla in 30 minutes and a brisk walk will get you to the Olympic port in around an hour. if you work out how to get into the town via the park ( go out the back of the hotel follow all the steps down then follow the track) the descent is quicker but lots of steps. I wouldn't recommend coming up through the park at night, it's not well lit and there were quite a few people just hanging around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Great hotel for exploring Barcelona

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: A few more sunbeds by the pool.
Comfortable hotel set in gardens with good pool space. We stayed for a week with two children and the pool provided well needed rest after serious sightseeing. Food in the restaurant was good, the manager at breakfast was quite a memorable character. The staff a the pool worked incredibly hard in the heat and were always very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taunton

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: View. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Beautiful hotel.
Cons: If i had to be picky I would say there can be a shortage of loungers around the pool.
Location: Located high over the city. Bus stop nearby but last bus from city is 2115. Metro at the bottom of the hill. Cable car starts from the terrace nearly.
Rooms are large comfortable clean and a bit funky. Lovely staff. The view over the city is awe inspiring and don't see how you could ever tire of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent Up Scale Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel is very clean and quiet. There is music at nights and you can eat at the hotel although it is a bit expensive.
Cons: Hotel needs some kind of transportation to the airport and to the city. Just to get out of the hotel I had to pay alot of money in car service.
Location: The hotel is very private and next to nothing.
Hotel is beautiful with a picture perfect yard!! If you are looking for a very private hotel, I would highly recommend this hotel. Things to keep in mind. You will Always need transportation since this hotel is up on a hill and close to nothing. Also the food is a bit pricey..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel does not meet "Preferred Boutique" standards

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Positives: - View of City and Port of Barcelona (if you negotiate a sea view) - Pool area is clean, with modest seating. Lobby seating area is nice.
Cons: - Smell of urine/raw sewage emanates in common areas and room - Room ceiling leaks in 3 places - Communication of staff name Miguel is apathetic
Location: Location on hill overlooking city and port of barcelona. I recommend searching for another "preferred boutique" hotel. There are many other choices.
Positives: - View of City and Port of Barcelona (if you negotiate a sea view) - Pool area is clean, with modest seating. The patch of grass alongside pool is nice. - Lobby seating area is comfortable. Areas for improvement: - Smell of urine and raw sewage emanates from common areas of hotel and room (the smell is disgusting) - Room leaks from ceiling in three places in the bathroom. Floor is wet, smell of mildew throughout. Informed front desk after several hours the leak was patched. Returned to room later in day to find ceiling paint, dust and a pile of dirty towels (from maintenance crew) on floor in room. Ceiling leaked from three places next morning. Smell of urine and mildew in the room. Informed Marc and Miguel at front desk. - Communication of specific staff (Miguel) at front desk is indifferent, apathetic, unresponsive and frankly cold. - "Hotel" offered 1 night compensation for guest tolerating two nights of leaking ceiling, smell of urine, and dirty floors. Hotel displays the "Preferred Boutique" logo on their website. The experience was disappointing at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Limassol, Cyprus

Nice hotel with the best reception staff!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The reception staff!
Cons: Overall cleanliness and maintenance!
Location: Is a little far from the tourist attractions, there are a couple of good restaurants around it.
The hotel if beautiful, but I believe it is in need of refurbishment! Maybe, a little better housekeeping, new towels and curtains and for sure to look a little bit after cupboard doors and bathroom doors etc! The reception staff was exceptional! I have never experienced more helpful, polite staff who gave you fantastic info for all your questions. I would not recommend it if you are only staying 2 to 3 days and your aim is sightseeing, because it is too far out. Also, if you are booking through Expedia, then clarify if breakfast in included because it is quite expensive if it is not! For 2 people 56 euro a day is expensive!