Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bonita Springs, FL

Nice hotel, best view in the entire city

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: View and close to cruise ships
Cons: Would not recommend the breakfast package. We thought it to be expensive and not worth it. On site restaurant was good but had limited entree menu.
Location: Within short walking distance to city buses and sightseeing busses.
Very nice hotel about a 10.00 € cab ride from the cruise port. The hotel sits high above the entire city. We had a 5th floor corner unit which had a spectacular view both dining the day and at night. Large room, super sized balcony adjacent to a classy city park. Staff was exceptionally nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Beautiful hotel, would recommend

Posted Sep 7, 2014
We have just arrived home from a stay at the mirimar hotel, which on the whole was a brilliant hotel. We stayed in a premium room which was incredibly spacious and home to one of the largest bathrooms I think I've ever seen. We had a lovely sea/harbour view! It's a main harbour so yes you do hear the ships engines when they come in, but for me it wasn't a great problem. The hotel is sat amongst beautiful gardens, has a very stylish outdoor pool with bar, nice indoor pool and gym, it is a joy to be in and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a shooting range not far away and you can hear some "pop pop" noise from the rifles being fired ( though my girlfriend didn't pick up on it until I pointed it out) if you are going to sunbath for long periods and think this may annoy you, I would suggest taking some headphone, you don't need to put your music up very loud before the noise is gone. The hotel it's self is slightly out of town, but we walked just about everywhere and think the average person could reach the harbour in 20 minutes ( mainly shops and restaurants here), La Rumbla in 30 minutes and a brisk walk will get you to the Olympic port in around an hour. if you work out how to get into the town via the park ( go out the back of the hotel follow all the steps down then follow the track) the descent is quicker but lots of steps. I wouldn't recommend coming up through the park at night, it's not well lit and there were quite a few people just hanging around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Great hotel for exploring Barcelona

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: A few more sunbeds by the pool.
Comfortable hotel set in gardens with good pool space. We stayed for a week with two children and the pool provided well needed rest after serious sightseeing. Food in the restaurant was good, the manager at breakfast was quite a memorable character. The staff a the pool worked incredibly hard in the heat and were always very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taunton

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: View. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Beautiful hotel.
Cons: If i had to be picky I would say there can be a shortage of loungers around the pool.
Location: Located high over the city. Bus stop nearby but last bus from city is 2115. Metro at the bottom of the hill. Cable car starts from the terrace nearly.
Rooms are large comfortable clean and a bit funky. Lovely staff. The view over the city is awe inspiring and don't see how you could ever tire of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent Up Scale Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel is very clean and quiet. There is music at nights and you can eat at the hotel although it is a bit expensive.
Cons: Hotel needs some kind of transportation to the airport and to the city. Just to get out of the hotel I had to pay alot of money in car service.
Location: The hotel is very private and next to nothing.
Hotel is beautiful with a picture perfect yard!! If you are looking for a very private hotel, I would highly recommend this hotel. Things to keep in mind. You will Always need transportation since this hotel is up on a hill and close to nothing. Also the food is a bit pricey..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel does not meet "Preferred Boutique" standards

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Positives: - View of City and Port of Barcelona (if you negotiate a sea view) - Pool area is clean, with modest seating. Lobby seating area is nice.
Cons: - Smell of urine/raw sewage emanates in common areas and room - Room ceiling leaks in 3 places - Communication of staff name Miguel is apathetic
Location: Location on hill overlooking city and port of barcelona. I recommend searching for another "preferred boutique" hotel. There are many other choices.
Positives: - View of City and Port of Barcelona (if you negotiate a sea view) - Pool area is clean, with modest seating. The patch of grass alongside pool is nice. - Lobby seating area is comfortable. Areas for improvement: - Smell of urine and raw sewage emanates from common areas of hotel and room (the smell is disgusting) - Room leaks from ceiling in three places in the bathroom. Floor is wet, smell of mildew throughout. Informed front desk after several hours the leak was patched. Returned to room later in day to find ceiling paint, dust and a pile of dirty towels (from maintenance crew) on floor in room. Ceiling leaked from three places next morning. Smell of urine and mildew in the room. Informed Marc and Miguel at front desk. - Communication of specific staff (Miguel) at front desk is indifferent, apathetic, unresponsive and frankly cold. - "Hotel" offered 1 night compensation for guest tolerating two nights of leaking ceiling, smell of urine, and dirty floors. Hotel displays the "Preferred Boutique" logo on their website. The experience was disappointing at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Limassol, Cyprus

Nice hotel with the best reception staff!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The reception staff!
Cons: Overall cleanliness and maintenance!
Location: Is a little far from the tourist attractions, there are a couple of good restaurants around it.
The hotel if beautiful, but I believe it is in need of refurbishment! Maybe, a little better housekeeping, new towels and curtains and for sure to look a little bit after cupboard doors and bathroom doors etc! The reception staff was exceptional! I have never experienced more helpful, polite staff who gave you fantastic info for all your questions. I would not recommend it if you are only staying 2 to 3 days and your aim is sightseeing, because it is too far out. Also, if you are booking through Expedia, then clarify if breakfast in included because it is quite expensive if it is not! For 2 people 56 euro a day is expensive!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but next to shooting range

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The hotel staff is excellent, very friendly and helpful. A small issue with my booking was dealt with very effectively and they even sent a bottle of sparkling wine to smooth things over. The spa is ok, not great. All facilities (sauna, steam bath) are by default off and need to be preheated for 20 minutes. And there is just nothing to do in this enclosed space (no windows, zones separated by gender, not even a good resting area. Rooms are varied with some very nice, including balcony ... it really depends. The restaurant is excellent, friendly staff. The kicker for me really is that the place is directly next to a shooting range and once you realize this, you cannot stop hearing shots, even noticeable through closed windows. The location has a spectacular view over the city, but it takes a taxi pretty much each time you want to leave the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godalming, Surrey

Great Hotel, Great Staff

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Everything. Great staff, Great rooms, Great bars, Great food! Total relaxation!!!
Cons: Very little, It just needs a little maintenance in some areas.
Location: Barcelona is a great city, Lots of Bars and restaurants and superb architecture. The open top bus tour is a great way to get around.
Miramar is a superb hotel set in a fantastic hillside location overlooking Barcelona. The hotel staff and facilities are great, the rooms are amazing but there are some small details at the hotel which need some attention (loose tiles etc) All in all probably the best hotel I have stayed at in Europe. Value for money and very very relaxing. Upon arrival you are offered a glass of Cava. Nice touch! One thing to watch out for is that the taxi drivers like to drive around the long route to increase the fare!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Oasis of Comfort in a Busy City

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: I could not book my son and family into the hotel, because the rooms are designed for couples with max of one child.
The Hotel Miramar is a beautiful hotel with and excellent staff. This was our third visit to Barcelona and we had never visited the Montjuic area. We found it surprisingly close to downtown (a 6 Euro taxi ride to Las Ramblas), yet tranquil with an excellent view over the water and pretty gardens and grounds. Our hotel room which was standard, was very large with balcony and large luxury bath. I would recommend it highly to anyone who does not need or want to be in the heart of the city.