Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good enough for a 4 star

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This hotel was ok but not for a 4 star. We chose this hotel on the good reviews but what is not mentioned is the rubbish view of the slums we had as a view (only the superior rooms have the nice balcony out the front). The pool is tiny with only 3 beds around it! As you can imagine they go quick. The towels at the pool get taken quickly too. The room didnt have a kettle which all 4 stars iv stayed in have. We got moaned at by reception for not having the cleaner in for only a couple of days! There are much better hotels down the same street let alone in barca.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Excellent

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel is right in front of a new shopping mall walking distance to public transportation Friendly staff Great experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Amazing hotel in great location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Stayed here monday to friday with my boyfriend! Hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, always very helpful and friendly! Hotel is in a good location, 2 minute walk to a metro station, close to lots of restaurants and shops in the shopping complex next door! Hotel was clean, quiet and modern, rooftop pool is small but all you need for a quick dip after a day sightseeing! I would thoroughly recommend the Ofelias Hotel, a great base for sightseeing in Barcelona!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dee from London

Boutique hotel just off Plaza Espagna

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, striking modern decor, comfortable rooms and near to underground station.
Cons: Breakfast was excellent, and served in a beautiful dining room, but very expensive. Pool was much smaller than it looked in the photos.
Location: Good transport connections. Close to Montjuic, Caixa Forum, Magic fountains, Park Joan Miro, Olympic park, Miro Museum and Poble Espagnol.
Beautifully appointed hotel two minutes away from Plaza Espagna (underground and airport bus stop). Modern, comfortable with striking decor. Free wifi, excellent rooms. Swimming pool on roof terrace is extremely small and narrow but fine to cool down in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by josephine from israel

amazing!!!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: decoration staff pool details
Location: mont juic
beyond my expectations amazing staff perfect decoration
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Westchester County, NY

Hotel is well situated

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location, location location! in one of us...beautiful use of space.
Cons: Bed mattress was extremely hard ( we read this in other reviews and it is very true) Hotel should get foam mattress toppers to correct the hardness
Location: Great hub location for getting anywhere by subway or train. Shopping mall is across the street of all the local retail firms with a good food court.
Hotel is located on a very quiet and safe side street within a half of block of a large plaza with great subway and bus connections to anywhere in Barcelona. You can take the Aerobus to and from the airport as they have a scheduled stop on Plaza Espana a block from the hotel. 5 block walk to the Sant train station if you want to do some day trips outside of Barcelona, say to Girona, which was lovely. Easy to get to everywhere, and you are not exposed to the crowds of noise makers staying and partying in the Rambla district. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel as it was very expensive compared to the local bakeries where we could grab a quick croissant and café con leche and head out for the day. Restaurants on the Plaza Espana were not very good or service oriented-after two tries we went to restaurants in the Born and the Gothic area and Rambla Catalyna for some really great tapas and meals instead. Hotel is beautifully appointed, modern and trendy, as are the rooms. Very clean rooms and very quiet. Very good bathroom amenities. Bed mattress was extremely hard ( we read this in other reviews and it is very true) and uncomfortable, the only bad point here. We used pillows under our backs to break the hardness of the mattress....we suggest that they get some foam mattress toppers for their beds to help with this issue. The front desk staff , all shifts, was very professional, was very informed and helpful about helping us adjust and get around town when asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Thomas from USA - WI

Great Location

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved this hotel! It was in a super location and was very up-to-date and most importantly - clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nik from Hampshire, UK

Great location, good value, friendly staff

Posted May 11, 2014
As with any large city, getting the balance between price and location is tricky. This hotel ticked the boxes and although is not in the centre of the old city (the more touristy bit) it is within easy reach and, being 1 minute walk from Placa d'Espanya, providing excellent access. (Both tourist buses and the Airport bus go from the Placa d'Espanya). Only small criticism would be the exceptionally hard beds (might suit some) and the annoying habit of the Spanish to have twin beds, instead of a double. Also the breakfast (which we had on 1 morning only) was over priced and not that great. Simply avoid and pop over the road instead. However, overall, brilliant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: It was conveniently located to shopping, museums, parks and the Metro.
Cons: Our room had a small area of black mold along the caulking in the shower. It was minor, but it could be so easily fixed, otherwise it was perfect.
The hotel location, the breakfast, the accommodations, the helpfulness of the people working the front desk and the breakfast were all wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roxy from London

Lovely hotel in Barcelona

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The decor, very stylish and clean.
Cons: Having some English speaking TV channels or movies available.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Ofelias Hotel. It's in a great location, easy to get around and base yourself from. And lots of great places to eat in walking distance of the hotel (or a very cheap cab) which was great. The hotel itself is lovely, beautifully decorated and very clean. The only drawbacks for us were no restaurant/room service, no bathtub in our room (though a heavenly rainforest shower, so that did make up for it) and no English TV channels apart from CNBC and BBC news. Completely appreciate we're abroad but even having movies available to watch (pay per view) would have been nice so we could relax in our room in the evening. But overall a wonderful hotel and highly recommended.