Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque, new mexico

Hotel was centrally located to all activities

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Hotel was nice, but seemed noisy. Could hear everyone walking up and down the halls. We were in a handicap equipped room. Didn't really care for the bathroom accomadations since we didn't have any handycap needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dover Kent

Will not stay again

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Room needs up-dating, could be cleaner as build up of dirt in the corners. location and staff was the only positive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wifi.
Good hotel. Great location. Annoying wifi, forced to share email to sign in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Delightful hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: in the middle of everything!
Cons: Everything was clean. and the employees were very accommodating !
Location: Very social location! Beach a short bus ride away. Good restaurants and open air market.
This smallish hotel was a jewel. In a very social area, metro right there. lots of out door restaurants. And the employees were very helpful. Everything was very clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX, USA

Overpriced.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location
We had reserved a room for 4 people (couple 2 kids) and the site suggested a family room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed, which sounded perfect. We reach there and find out that it is actually a regular room with 2 single beds. They simply had converted the sofa into a double bed. We were expecting a much bigger room that was sold as a family room with space for sitting area. So, we ended up with no sitting area and barely enough room for one person to navigate around the room. The TV in the room, kept on the table, was about the size of the monitor of our desktop computer at home. One evening when we returned we found the door to our room had been left ajar by the maid. We were horrified and checked all our bags carefully, but nothing was amiss. It could have been an honest mistake on the part of the maid. One last gripe: almost all signs in the hotel are multilingual (with English as one), except for the one that advertises their buffet breakfast for 9 euros per person. The details are only in Spanish. On inquiring we found out that that price is valid only if you eat there every single day of your stay. The alternate price is not displayed on the signs (it is 13.5 euros per person). On the plus side, the hotel location is excellent. It is centrally located on La Rambla (the main tourist oriented street). The flip side of that is the street is very loud till late night, which can be around 3-4 a.m.. If you are a light sleeper this could be a major problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Gribriel, Ca

Nice hotel close to every thing

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: When it completely remodel it be great
Location: The farmer market and shops. Tour bus was near by
It was the best pick for being so close to every thing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Central location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and location.
Cons: Breakfast in the hotel was a bit expensive.
Location: It is very central being right in the heart of La Ramble, very close to the hop-on hop-off bus tours and the port.
The hotel is in a great location. The staff were super friendly. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. There was noise from the street at nighttime but a set of earplugs took care of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel, fantastic location!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
We enjoyed 2 nights at the Oriente and had no complaints. The staff very helpful and friendly and check-in was pain free. The hotel is in a great location of La Rambla and has easy access to public transportation. It's within short walking distance to  Plaça de Catalunya where the bus stops can be located including the aerobus (buses direct to El Pratt terminals1 & 2) and tour buses. The underground system is also a short walking distance. The hotel offers a continental breakfast at 13 euros per person per night, but we would recommend you book bed and breakfast as this works out as a much cheaper option. The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment to the outside of the building so has shrouding on the outside, however, this does not spoil your stay at the hotel. NB. If your looking for a hotel in a quiet location then we wouldn't suggest staying in La Rambla as it's busy from morning until late into the night with tourists visiting the many shops and street cafés. Overall we had a great stay at the Oriente.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Oriente, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting such a positive review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue with our very high standards of service. As you mentioned, the city of Barcelona began in February of this year a refurbishment of the facade of all the historic buildings, and our landmark hotel is included in this program and we wish the hotel will be a nice value after works. We will hope definitely to see you again in Barcelona and of course in our Hotel with our wonderful new facade. Best regards The management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by retired couple from Manchester

easy walking distance to places & on La Rambla

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: location and view
Cons: As an Englishman tea making facilities in the room would be nice
Location: On La Rambla near to the beach, main cathedral, main square, arts theatre, some of Gaudi's houses, many restaurants and street cafes
the staff were helpful when we had a problem with our flights and made an effort to please us. the rooms were good for a 3 * breakfast was simple but fresh and the staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Great hotel, if you want to be on Las Ramblas

Posted Jun 24, 2014
If you want to be in the middle of the action... The party does not close