Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Overpromised and under delivered

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: None of the safes installed in the hotel rooms worked and so had to make do with checking laptop in/out of downstairs strongroom at Reception.
Location: Strong Retail and Restaurant presence with good public transport system making touring Barcelona very easy
The reception staff were less attentive than what was anticipated. For example, when a taxi strike occurred on the day we were to transit to on board our ship no solutions were offered towards getting ourselves and other guests to the required destination 1.5 km away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Staff/location/value for money
Cons: Rooms could be updated
Location: Perfect location for Las Ramblas - handy but quiet
We always stay at this hotel (our 9th visit). Staff/value for money/location all excellent. Only negative would be that the rooms don't seem to have had anything done in those 9 years and are looking a little 'tired' - holes in curtains/ cupboard doors that don't close etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Excellent location excellent accommodation.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Close to la Ramblas.
Location: La Ramblas, hop on and of buses, marina, cable cars, and many many more attractions.
My first visit to Barcelona so was very pleased to be staying right in the heart of La Ramblas. excellent location, excellent staff and excellent hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our three day break and will definitely will be back in the next year or so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are so glad to see you had such a wonderful memories about our hotel and your 1st visit to Barcelona!! It would be a pleasure if you come back again for your next visits to our city. Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Great location and decent hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Superb location just off Las Ramblas. The hotel seems excellent, but there are some minor details (cracked TV screen, broken tiles in the bathroom, hole in the curtain, lots of loose end on the towels) that stop it being perfection. That said, the room was spacious, clean and quiet and the staff were excellent. The food in the hotel restaurant was also very good and great value for money if you opted for the menu del dia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time in giving us your opinion, which will help us a lot to improve all those items you said, in order to improve our service day by day. Best wishes!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sonoma county, Ca

Good family room

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We enjoyed staying for one night with our two boys. The only negative we would note is that the walls are paper thin, especially in the bathroom. This was not much of a problem for us as we didn't have neighbors until near bedtime an they were not too noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay between us was, and are glad to see you enjoyed your family room so much, in spite of being so sort. We hope to see you soon!! Best regards,
1 out of 5
by Vinny from england

Worst 4 star hotel I've been too

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I will NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. This was the most terrible experience I have had at a hotel. Apart from one member of staff, all the rest of the staff were extremely rude and not helpful at all. The upper pool was not clean and I was disappointed that this so called 4 star hotel, had service you would expect from 1 star hotel. The AC in our room wasn't working and we were given a twin room instead of the double room we had paid for and was specified in our booking. Instead of the staff being understanding they were extremely rude to me and my partner. The hotel staff themselves admitted that the AC wasn't working. As a result we asked to be transferred to another room. They did so, but they made such a scene about it that I felt so embarrassed. I paid for a room with AC in the middle of June with the temperature at 31 degrees. I don't think it was unreasonable to expect that if we had paid for a room with AC. The only good thing about the hotel was it's location as it is a 30 second walk to les ramblas, but there are many surrounding hotels that may be a better option. If you want to come back to a nice hotel after your day out from the beach or site seeing, this hotel is the worst one to go back too. Furthermore, the card to my room had to be changed on numerous occasions just to enter the room. As you can imagine after going up so many floors to get to your room, which was really frustrating after a long day out!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We apologize about not being able to reach the expectations you had in our hotel. We take note from all your comments to solve them, in order to improve our service. But just want to explain you hte remarks you wrote on Expedia.com (double bed) anre only on request, not mandatory. It depends always on the availability on check in time. Best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Enjoyed our stay very much

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Close to Las Ramblas and Placa de Catalunya. Several good places to eat in courtyard close by. Felt very safe in the area and staff was very attentive, gracious and courteous. Room was updated and clean. We were entirely pleased with our stay and will be happy to return to Barcelona and this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you so much for giving us such a great rating. Your comments are much appreciated, just to improve day by day our service. We hope we can welcome you again next time you visit our city. Yours sincerely,
1 out of 5
by Sus from London,UK

Worst hotel i have ever stayed in!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The staff are crap! I have travelled around the world and never have i stayed in such a horrible hotel! Didnt tell us there was a taxi strike even tbough we called the day before and asked for teansport! Electricity in room kept turning off! No room service and they didnt have any water when we asked in the evening Hardly spoke english! Sewage smell through out the day! Cant put drinks on your room from the bar. Terrible staff! Thick and unhelpful! Stay away!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, I am so sorry about your stay in our hotel was not to your liking, as I personally explained you. Remember that we offered you a room change twice in order to find a more comfortable room for you, but you refused it, and just not in very good manners: screaming and shouting our staff and customers, is not the most suitable way to get a solution. My apologies again for having not covered your expectations. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alireza from Toronto, CA

Nice hotel close to many events and beaches!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly, helpful. The hotel was clean, the closeness to many event and Las Rambles street is really great and to the beach area.
Cons: I think the washroom lighting could be better, and some small things here and there.
Location: Many restaurants and nightclubs were around. by aerobus you can get from airport to the Catalan plaza and walking to the hotel is about 5-6 min.
This was our first experience in this hotel we enjoyed it. The hotel distance to many sites and beaches are really walking distance. Except for the fact that the swimming pool is small and the exercise room were getting open at 10:00 am, everything was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear Alireza, Thank you so much for your nice words!! We are happy to see you enjoyed so much our hotel and the city as well, and would be happy too to welcome you again next time you visit Barcelona!! Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Just a few clicks from good to great

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Hotel is in a super location for Barcelona--close to just about everything. Our room (224) was a suite overlooking the street and was well-appointed. You can tell that a make-over was done recently; however, the staff needs better training on simple things: speaking to others in different languages more fluently, giving better directions to their hotel (just 50 meters from Catalunya Plaza does not get one to the front door!), and paying attention to details like not knowing if their printer worked and closing their marvelous pool by 10 PM--Spain is just waking up then! They are a gem looking for some polish and just a few clicks to great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Quality Department, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time in giving us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are happy to see you enjoyed it so much, and will take into consideration your advises. I only want to answer you a couple of things, just to inform you. The pool closing time is at 10 pm, just not to disturb the rest of the guests and also the neighbours. And the second one is referring to you reservation. You booked through Expedia.com, so we can not send you a confirmation from a different website than ours. But I am sure Expedia.com have sent you their reservation confirmation, as the rest of our mutual guests. To sum up, I want to thank you again for choosing our hotel to spend your days in Barcelona, and would be very happy to welcome you back again!! Best wishes!!