Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Staff and location! Nice and quiet area
Staff extremely helpful, and very friendly! Breakfast was amazing, and again staff would help with any requirements!! Hotel close to tube station which made travelling to Las Ramblas easy and quick! 5 stops I think
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel near to metro

Posted Aug 22, 2014
We had a brilliant stay at Silken St. Gervasi, they were so helpful when it came to getting to the airport, giving us clear directions and different options. We were both students and could not really afford a taxi so the airport bus from near centre of Barcelona was the recommended option. The receptionists were very welcoming and gave us a map of Barcelona as expected also briefly explaining how the metro worked. In terms of the room, it was beyond our expectations, wonderful air con though the room was cool most of the time so we only used it after a hot day out. It was cleaned on a daily basis as expected, can choose to put do not disturb sign up. Though we didn't use room service, the prices were reasonable and we could have easily stayed in one night for a meal. The beds were comfortable and with a fridge stocked with cold drinks we were set for a great stay. We were greeted each time we arrived and left the hotel and were able to leave our cases behind on final day before we had to go back home. We would love to go back. Would suggest use of metro just 10 minute walk away rather than walking into the centre of Barcelona, it took about an hour and a half, though we were clueless to start off with slightly confusing map. Don't let that put you off the hotel, as there are some lovely cafes/restaurants, supermarket across the road very convenient and a lovely pastry shop about 5 minutes away. Overall I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Barcelona.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HULL

good location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Although not in the centre of the city , it was in a good location to use all types of transport. Local or guide bus and metro. staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 7, 2014
This is a great hotel. Staff are so helpful. The rooms are well maintained and clean. Only downside is that it's a bit of a trek to the centre of town on the L7 which runs every 15-20 mins so take this into account when planning your day. Also room fridge didn't work well but that may just have been our room. Area is safe and a convenience store just outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

I would not recommend this hotel to a tourist

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Install proper wifi. Train the staff to be helpful and to sort out complaints, not simply shrug their shoulders.
Location: nothing. the only thing worth stating is the metro line a block from the hotel.
Although the hotel is relatively cheap, there is nothing happening in the area, so you end up spending your time on the train to get to the spots that are happening. The wifi reminded me of the days when we used postman to run with the message. I do not know why they advertise for wifi when it does not work properly. I did bring this to the receptions attention, and they just shrugged their shoulders. The shower was blocked. I know that this is a known problem to the hotel, because I read this in a review. I just assumed that it was a simple issue that would have been fixed. They switched the air-conditioning off during the day, so the control in the room does not work. it only comes on at night. so if you head back for a nap before going out at night, the rooms are too hot. The cleaning lady walked into the room unannounced at 08h00 in the morning without even a knock.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel, near to the local metro

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly, quiet. Rooms cleaned daily if you wished
Cons: Only 1 iron for the whole hotel and hard to obtain and not very good. Bring your own
Great holiday, nice clean hotel situated right near to the El Puxtet metro stop on the L7 line. 5 metro stops to La Ramblas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shobi from Portsmouth

Nice hotel close to metro(easy access to city cent

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness, cleanliness and comfortable. AC/warm water and wifi top notch.
Location: Easily access to metro to go to barcelona city centre and loads of shops/restuarant literally within a 5 min walking radius.
I was very impressed with the hotel. Staff were friendly, rooms/toilets were clean and comfy, wifi, AC and hot water was top notch. Furthermore, there are many shops to pick up supplies from(5 minute walk) as well as a supermarket right opposite the hotel which shuts late(10 steps from entrance). The metro is very close(a 5 min walk) which allows easy access to barcelona city centre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff but far from the beach

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The hotel was nice - the staff were very helpful! The only downsides were that the beds are very uncomfortable and it's on the other side of the city! Have to take 25 minute cab rides to the beach or city center.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CJones from Italy

Service without a smile

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed at many hotels on vacation across Europe, and always look for the good side of a hotel. I've never written a bad review until now. The Silken St. Gervasi is located close to the metro, and was clean. The service was ok, but they seldom smiled. Especially the lady doing breakfast. The tables were filthy even though there were just a few people eating. The napkins at table and the clean table she sat us at had been used previously. They advertise air conditioning, but it was turned off for the hotel and was over 80 degrees in the room. We asked if they would turn it on, and they said no. When we open the windows, smoke from the smokers outside below came into the room - and the neighborhood noise is very loud. The party in the room next door lasted until 4 AM. It's a no smoking hotel, but either the office, or the room next to the office, reeked. Overall, it was a bad experience for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com