Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wirral

Hidden gem

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Location, set back from high street
Cons: Details of car park access.
Location: Central
Very clean, well maintained accomidation. Breakfast excellent. Staff attentive.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gloucestershire

Left 2 hours after arriving!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
We had booked the £80 double room for one night but having spent a short time in the room before we were due to go out and meet family we decided not to stay, checked out and in the end drove home to Gloucestershire the same night. We knew the room would not be overly fancy given the price and it being near London. However we had expected a little more for our money. Although the appearance was reasonable and it was clean there were a number of factors that meant we felt it was not value for money. The double bed was in fact 2 single beds pushed together and the single headboards were not fitted properly. The 2 windows above the bed were not properly glazed, allowing a cold draught. The most significant issue however was the lack of soundproofing which meant that conversation in the next room could be heard and as this was also located next to rooms used by staff, it was actually very noisy. Also not helped by the large gap at the bottom of the door. If you are a heavy sleeper or not bothered by noise then it would probably be fine but this was never going to work for us. The staff dealt with our concerns extremely well and understood the issues. Although offering us the opportunity to see another room we decided not to stay. They also refunded the cost of the room so no complaints about the staff and the smells from the kitchen were appetizing but we were eating elsewhere with family that night so cannot comment on the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mark Jonathanfrom norfolk

noisy night

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
noisy from 2230-2330 Saturday night, I think the staff were moving stuff around? and the doors don't half bang when shutting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great overall minor grumble

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
very clean,tidy and comfortable just shame about the noise of banging doors and loud talking throughout the night and early morning overall brilliant place to stay amazing food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good Location. only 10 minutes walk from the underground. Hotel very clean. Excellent breakfast with excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nicole Sfrom Canada

Great Place!

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed in a single room shared bathroom and it was great. Room cleaned daily and extra cookies, glasses, tea, and water replaced consistently. The hot breakfast is amazing and the staff are very helpful. They neighbourhood is quiet and cozy but with lots of places to eat and a beautiful church nearby. It takes a while to get to downtown London by train and the Northern line closes every other weeked for repairs, although there are busses to supplement it's a pain with luggage - so look ahead!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really noisy rooms...

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Nice restaurant and friendly staff, but the rooms are without isolation and you can hear every sound from another rooms or from small hall between rooms. It is not possible to sleep well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lezfrom Arbroath

Spoilt by noise

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
A great hotel, good location and service but very loud noise outside our room and from upstairs . Did not get to sleep until 0230 in the morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Islafrom Huddersfield

Hidden away but great hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely location just off the Main Street, the rooms are small but nice and clean and tidy, breakfast was totally amazing :)
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hotel Queenfrom LONDON

It's just a resturant

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay in a lot of hotels this is quite a naff place to be. The room is dark the furniture worn, TV is rubbish the bathroom seals mouldy. All for £95!! For one night. I won't stay again