Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ontario, Canada

Disappointing

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Oh, I don't even know where to begin........ The lobby was not at all inviting and the condition of the hotel just became worse as viewed.
Location: The hotel is not close to any of the restaurants or stores and was not easy to find, we thought we were heading back out of town before we located it.
The poor lady at the front desk needed another 4 legs and arms to get done what needed to be done. First off we had to wait 10 minutes for her to get to the check in lobby because she was running around the motel trying to help do everything that was needed to be done. It seemed to me that there wasn't enough staff and she had to run around like a chicken with her head cut off. She was very pleasant with us when she came to check us in and never complained about not having enough help ( this was totally my observation ). When we opened the door to our room I wanted to check out because it smelled so closed in and musty, however there were no other rooms around for miles that would have been available for us to do this. The room was clean, just very musty. There was not enough room for us to even put our luggage anywhere, and the bathroom was so small you couldn't even turn around in it. There was a plug in in the bathroom that worked if you were 6 feet tall to actually use it, it was inches away from the ceiling. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I felt very bad for the employees because they were run off their feet, and they still managed to be pleasant with everyone. Our view out of our back window was of grass that was six feet tall and an old boarded up building, made us feel unsafe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Went home for reunion hotel was great

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms friendly staff
Cons: Not much
Location: Not the most active town but for what it is it was fine.
The staff was pleasant and I had no problems with the hotel inj any way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review of Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier VT! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us while coming to town for your family reunion. We appreciate your business, and hope to have you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Laval, Qc. Canada

Hôtel rénové et très propre

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: La tranquilité et la propreté.
Cons: Prévoir un stationnement plus grand.
Location: C'est une ville très petite et il n'y a pas grand chose à faire.
On n'a couché qu'un seul soir mais je n'hésiterais pas à recommander cet hôtel à cause de la propreté et du fait qu'il a été rénové entièrement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you stay with us again when visiting our area. Have a great summer!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to good Italian restaurant and local stores

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Spacious and comfortable for two beds
Cons: The lobby definitely needs renovating. Having to go downstairs for breakfast is a problem for people with physical challenges.
Location: Nice town with several choices for eating.
One night stay was comfortable. A bit far to attend the Norwich University graduation but enjoyed the beautiful scenery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are only a quick 15 minute drive to Norwich, and we are one of Norwich's top choices for hotels in this area to recommend for parents or vistiors of the college. I'm glad you found your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our beautiful area. Thank you for your business, please stay with us again when visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

helpful, courteous, pleasant staff

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Pleasant accommodation, quiet location, recently renovated.
Cons: Breakfast options.
Location: Rock of Ages, Ben & Jerry's Factory tour, hiking, good restaurants, etc.
The only downside to this stay was the average quality of the included full breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliments on our superior staff service! We work very hard to ensure that every guest is completely satisfied and well taken care of. Our free, hot breakfast buffet we provide in the morning exceeds the standards for our brand, and we continue to add different items to suit the needs of our guests. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you again sometime!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Bad Service, Rude Staff

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
I was in Barre VT on business and booked this hotel for two nights. Upon arriving back at my room late in the evening of 4/24/2015, I found it in the same state I had left it in the morning. It had not been cleaned, there were no clean towels, and the bed was unmade. Due to the late hour, I decided to inform the staff in the morning. The next morning I informed a front desk clerk of the situation and she informed me the housekeeping staff had said there was a Do Not Disturb sign on the door (which was absolutely false). The clerk was apologetic, and I advised her to share my displeasure with this situation with hotel management. Upon dropping off my room key, a woman named Melissa identified herself as the manager on duty and she proceeded to be disrespectful and argumentative about the situation. I opted to not engage in further discussion regarding the matter as I was getting nowhere. Again, the clerk was appropriately apologetic about the lack of housekeeping, but the rudeness of the manager was inexcusable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize that you had not received service in your room during your stay with us. When our guests leave their Do Not Disturb sign on the door handle, that informs our housekeeping staff that the guest does not want to be bothered. After review of the situation that took place in the lobby on the morning of your check out date, it was apparent that you were extremely upset about not receiving service, and proceeded to raise your voice and swear at the clerk at the desk about it, before the manager ever entered the lobby. We have 24/7 staff at the front desk to assist our guests if they need anything, and would have immediately sent someone to clean your room upon being notified that there was a problem. We want all our guests to be comfortable and completely taken care of, and as you can see from the many positive reviews we have received, it is not a common occurence that it doesn't happen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Old and In need of repair

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Only Stayed due to the fact that payment was already made and it was late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we were wondering if there was something in particular that you were not happy with during your stay. Was there something that we could have done better to better accommodate your party? We value this information as it helps us to strengthen our customer satisfaction, and to improve on our already excellent customer service, Please contact the hotel directly if you would like to discuss further. Thank you againh for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Staff was pleasant

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
Place was clean and suited my purpose. I wanted to take advantage of the hot tub but you had to go outside and enter a different building to access it. When it's 20 degrees outside that's not much fun..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. With our guest rooms being outside corridor, it is a short walk to the pool & hot tub area. We do have a private changing room located inside the pool room area, and most people find it convenient for colder weather months. We appreciate your compliments on our staff service, and hope to have you stay with us again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Nice place to stay for the price. It was the second time I stayed at this Quality Inn. I would recommend it to family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We value our guests' feedback, as it is a great tool to help us in perfecting our service. We appreciate your business, thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice, affordable Vermont hotel!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Close to destination, good accommodations, pool/hot tub, hot continental breakfast
Cons: Hot tub jets seemed faulty
Location: Barre is a nice little town, close to the capital of Montpelier. It was the perfect location to stay, then travel to Sugarbush Mountain the next day.
I was looking for a place to stay for a snowboarding trip to Sugarbush Mountain. This Quality Inn in Barre, VT was about 45 minutes away, and relatively cheap compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel was right on the Main Street, only a few minutes away from the center of downtown Barre with shoppes and little restaurants. When we got there, we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in. We were impressed right away by how nice the room looked, including the beds, wall color, and finishings. It looked to have been renovated fairly recently. The bathroom was nice as well, with granite-esque vanity and shower. We got to use the hot tub and pool as well, which was a plus. We were also impressed with the free hot continental breakfast in the morning, which was offered from 6-9 am--perfect for us snowboarders who wanted to get an early start. Would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your excellent 5-star rating of our property! The front desk staff works very hard to make sure that all our guests are warmly welcomed, have everything they need, and are completely satisfied. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer, and that you really liked our newly renovated rooms. We have many skiiers that come to stay with us because they find the value in our hotel and don't mind driving to the mountain, rather than pay the expensive price to stay at the mountain. We value your business, and look forward to having you stay again sometime soon!