Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collingwood, ON

Not my first choice!!!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
It's an ok hotel if you really only need a place to sleep. The staff were friendly and excellent to deal with. The inside of our room was neat, clean and served the purpose of having somewhere to stay. However the rest of the hotel was rather disappointing, hallways had a weird smell, carpet was sticky, location was a bit sketchy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

definitely Econo.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The price.
Cons: The breakfast is really terrible- bagels or toast and that's it.
Location: Lots of restaurants right there and not a far drive to the casino.
We were going to a show at the casino, and being the 4th of July pretty much everything was booked up. So we decided rather than drive all the way back to Barrie, we'd stay at this cheap hotel. Normally we would have stayed at a nicer and more expensive hotel. The staff was friendly and we were expecting it wouldn't be 5 stars or anything, but I don't think we were expecting it to be this run down and dated looking. Just needs a renovation. The room itself appeared clean but the hotel in general didn't set us at ease that it was clean under the surface. I made sure to thoroughly check for bed bugs but luckily didn't see any. Many reviews had complained about the non-smoking rooms still smelling like smoke but they put us as far from the smoking rooms as possible so that wasn't an issue. My sheets looked not too bad, but my towels were definitely grey-looking as the reviews warned. I was hoping the beds would have been more plush, but they're the older non-pillow top type. If you're more used to staying in discount hotels than we are then I'm sure it will be fine for you. But it's definitely time for full reno on this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Hospitable hotel well located, excellent value

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: All we want from a hotel is a clean, modern room accessible to lots of activities including restaurants. This hotel covered those bases and more.
Location: Orillia isn't a big place. Everything is near by. You can walk to a number of restaurants, independent and chain, get tot the waterfront in 5 minutes
folks on the desk were very helpful both with information and with assurances they'd keep an eye on our bicycles. We got to Orillia several times every summer. Theatre at the Opera House, boat cruise, lovely waterfront, bike and hiking trails make it a great mini-getaway from Toronto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pradeesh from Toronto

Real nice reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: they could add some eggs for their breakfast
Location: nice peaceful location, very close to lake and park
A neat hotel with all required amenities located in a very nice location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby condition

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: pleasant staff on duty
Cons: needs to be refurbished
Location: Good location and lots to do
Our room was very shabby. Needs a lot of work. Floor lamp couldn't even be turned on as switch was broken off. Carpet on the stairs and hallway hadn't been vacumned in a few days by the looks of it and also very stained
2 out of 5
by D from M

Old and moldy

Posted May 30, 2014
I don't mind a room that's a little dated. This room was moldy and dirty. Staff not helpful when asked for a ground floor room . The hotel was empty. Staircase narrow and difficult . I would spend the extra 10 bucks and stay elsewhere .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

iLL GET A HOTEL TONIGHT AND GET SOME SLEEP.

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: tHE BREAKFAST ROOM IS NICELY SET UP.
Cons: tHE NOISE IN OTHER ROOMS CONTINUED TIL 1:30 OR 2:00 a.m. tHE HOTELS POLICY IS NO LOUD NOISE AFTER 11:00 A.M...
tHE OWNERS WERE VERY NICE PEOPLE AND PROUD OF THEIR HOTEL.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel convenient to Soldiers Memorial Hospital

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Easy parking and convenient to amenities
Cons: Little more comfort in the beds.
Very pleasant stay, the staff were very accommodating and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Great staff Clean rooms Good location
Cons: Rooms do need some simple repairs (see comments above)
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance and even more close by. Close to the hospital if you need to be in that area Short drive to downtown
We didn't need anything fancy - just a hotel for overnight so we didn't have to travel back home for the two days we had to be in Orillia. The price was right, the location was good for where we needed to be and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean but there were a couple of things that concerned us about the functionality of the room. We were on the first floor and the window overlooked the parking lot. Unfortunately, the curtains did not completely close and looked like they were falling apart. The chest of drawers in the room was also falling apart - the top of the cabinet lifted right off in my hands. The other two issues with the room were, unfortunately, security related. As safe as I feel in Orillia, the fact that the outside door had no bolt to use (although it was there) and the inside door had screws missing from that security jam does make me think differently about staying there in the future. If management just makes some simple repairs to these rooms this would be a rather nice place to stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Accommodating staff

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: This hotel is pet-friendly
Cons: The decor/furniture is dated.
Location: Casino Rama is a short drive and it is within walking distance to many shops.
Very friendly and accommodating staff. I have a senior dog and they were able to move us from the second floor to the first.