Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom Seattle

Even smells brand new!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
This would be a nice hotel in any moderately large town. Rooms were impeccable, view of Arctic ocean, nice lobby. Good food at restaurant (at Alaskan prices, what do you expect....probably about 30% more than lower 48. No room service BUT can order in restaurant as take out. Did that both nights as room has fridge and microwave. (If you have a micro, they need to have some cheap plates and utensils, maybe paper towels.) No need for pots, pans, etc. WiFi worked OK, a little slow but fine. Need a Verizon tower near but still could call out. Take the Tundra Tour, ask for Walter as your guide. He had the history in today's young adult perspective, absolutely wonderful. I felt like buds at the end. Lots of birders there. Not able to get to Point Barrow, too washed out. If I went again, I'd go in Whaling season. Don't think a good place to see northern lights in winter as is very often overcast. Bravo, TOW!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by WYinORfrom Oregon

Decent stay in Barrow

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed. Good location.
Cons: Free wifi.
Location: It's right across the street from the ocean, and most everything in town is within walking distance.
Based on other reviews I'd read, I wasn't expecting much, so I was pleasantly surprised overall. The room was small but clean and had useful amenities (e.g., refrigerator, coffee maker). The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful. It isn't fancy but this is Barrow and people should adjust their expectations accordingly. The two complaints I have are these: even for Barrow, it seemed expensive; the hotel doesn't have free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robfrom Seattle, WA

Ocean view frontier experience

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Hotel has the best location in town. Should the sun be visible, the waterfront view is amazing.
Cons: Make sure that the plumbing completely works (shower).
Location: Arctic ocean.
Like everything in town, the hotel is build on pilings driven into the permafrost. If you are expecting anything swanky, don't go to Barrow. Staff was friendly and polite. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Shower worked (sort of). Mini fridge in the room. Flat screen satellite tv.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by minofrom Maryland, USA

convenient for meals

Posted Jun 2, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Slow Wi-Fi
Location: Can see the Arctic Ocean from your room (frozen...)
There were only 3 active hotels in Barrow. Top of the world is the most expensive and most far from the airport but its next door is the Mexican restauran, and so close to the Japanese restaurant(Korean owner).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zuxakfrom Colorado, USA

Don't let the outside scare you

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: Oceanview rooms! Make sure to book one of the ocean view rooms! Worth the extra charge.
Cons: Beverage center not in operation and looked like it hasn't been in a LONG time.
Location: Hotel is walking distance to a lot of places in town. This is NOT a city.
The Top of the World hotel in Barrow is perfect for a 2 night stay. The towels were the cleaninest towels I've seen in any hotel in over two years of travel! The bathmats are actual terrycloth bathmats and the rooms have all that you need for a good night's rest. The bed sheets were very soft and the pillows were perfect. The clocks have an ipod station. My room had a refridgerator and mircrowave. Easy to make snacks and hold water or cool drinks. (Ask about these items by calling first) I was there for only 2 nights and did not see much action around the hotel. The hotel was quiet - which was perfect for me. I would choose to stay here again for my business travel. There are several restuarants in the area and they are descent places. My favorite was breakfast at Pepe's. Try the basic egg, hashbrowns, bacon, toast breakfast - you can't go wrong (Not a fan of reindeer sausage). Pepe's literally next door to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Somewhere to stay at the end of the earth!

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Expensive for what it offers but considering the location hardly suprising. Basic but clean and warm with en suite bathroom. Don't have their own restaurant so you have to go to the Mexican next door which is OK but nothing special. There is NO alcohol in Barrow, it's illegal even to bring in your own! There is parking in the front of the hotel but sometimes it was tricky to find a space.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alan, authorfrom Ohio

Expensive oasis in the tundra

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Arctic Ocean view
Cons: Price
Location: Like the old TV show "Northern Exposure."
considering that the location is at the edge of nowhere, they do a great job of providing adequate accommodations. The prices are exhorbitant-- rates rival the Sheraton in Anchorage. appreciated the airport shuttle as all roads are unpaved and muddy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Remifrom San Francisco, CA

I enjoyed my stay there

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: Staff was very friendly
Cons: Room was very hot, although it seems to be very common for indoor places to be over-heated (Pepe's restaurant, Brower's, Osaka, etc)
Location: It is unique, but it is North of the Arctic circle so do not go there if you expect vibrant nightlife, alcohol, etc.
The staff was courteous and helped me find a guide while off-season, the room clean and spacious. Altogether an hotel well adapted to the local conditions
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Fe NM

not many choices but still would try somewhere else

Posted Nov 11, 2011
at least it's close to the airport
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Shanghai

Acceptable

Posted Nov 4, 2011
I have just spent 2 days there. The hotel is general ok in such a remote place especially considering the clean rooms. The only issue there is that no one can help you with the baggage.