Ratings based on 472 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The location is really convenient you can walk to restaurants and is just a minutes away from ski places. the hotel is good is not the most modern thing but is decent. the pool is a good place to swim in and is good in the winter since its inside. the breakfast is good and its a really nice restaurant also is not expensive the breakfast is around 5 dollars and the service is really nice. and the staff were really nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice big pool, heated. Game room. Good location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Pool, game room
Cons: needs some updating.
Stayed one night and it was perfectly fine. Hotel could use some upgrading but the room was clean and comfortable, did not smell as some previous reviewers mentioned. Hallway did a little but not the room. Room is equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. Hotel pool is bigger and warmer than most I have been to. Location is right off of I-80 and there are 2 shopping centers across the street with several restaurant choices. We stayed the night before we went to Camelback. It is probably a 15 min drive or less so pretty convenient. Don't know if I would stay a whole week here but for one or two nights it is fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Whole place smelled like cigarettes. Only other guests we ran into were drunk kids going in and out of hotel room parties. Room had 2 temperature settings: too hot or too cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Smell and updating of carpet.
Location: Skiing, tubing centrally located. Great location.
Hotel room and hallway smelled. Staff were nice and price was right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Howard Johnson is a great hotel. Their food is delcious. The staff is wonderful. The hotel room is comfortable .They have a really gorgeous pool. It is just perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

swimming pool was good for family.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: swimming pool
Cons: internet speed
It was generally ok. Staff was friendly. Location was good.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Nice location but horrible smell on the rooms.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The hotel is well located and you can go walking to DD, right across the street is Chilis and othe good stores. The hotel was not bad looking but the rooms had this bad smell that didn't go away. Also beds and in bad conditio s just remembering my back hurts.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom co

Corridors smell cigarette

Posted Dec 30, 2014
In the corridors of the block of rooms smelled cigarette
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Good enough... Standard hotel... Nothing fancy.. Conveniently located if you're going to the casino or exploring some wineries
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Nice warm indoor pool. Bad housekeeping

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The only thing good about the hotel was the indoor pool which is twice the size of most other hotel pools I've been to. And the water was very warm.
Cons: Poor lighting in hallways. All the fluorescent fixtures in pool area were missing bulbs or not working. Only a few spotlights worked.
Location: Easy access to Rt80. Plenty of food choices along this main strip of the poconos.
I stayed at for two nights with family. Unfortunately housekeeping did not clean the room for in preparation of the second nights stay. Frontdesk advised that housekeeping said we had our do not disturb sign out. Well, let it be clear that the sign was on the door until we left the room at 11:30am. By the time we returned around 4pm, the room was still not cleaned. I had to carry a stack of damp used bath towels to the front desk in order to exchange them for clean new towels. Needless to say that was a disappointing experience.