Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful Riverside Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect - Basalt is a lovely town. Great river view. Room was very nice.
I loved this hotel. The sight and sound of the river was so serene. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I am recommending this hotel to my friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bochum

Wunderschöne Lage an einem breiten Gebirgsfluss.

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Die Gastgeber und die Lage am Fluß.
Cons: Das Frühstück
Location: Es liegt zentral in Basalt und es gibt einen ca 12 Meilen entfernten Stausee zu dem man immer am Gebirgs- fluß entlang fährt,vorbei an roten Felsen.
Von den großen Lodgezimmern schaut man auf einen Gebirgsfluss und hört dessen Rauschen. Auf einer Wiese vor den Zimmern gibt es Bänke und Tische sowie Grillmöglichkeiten und shattenspendende Bäume .Besonders lobenswert ist die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft der Hotelbesitzer.Sie haben sich intensiv darum gekümmert,das ich ein erwartetes Päckchen auch wirklich bekam und es von der Post abge holt und mir über geben. Die Besitzer sind sehr gastfreundliche Menschen aus Polen. Neben der Lodge gibt es ein schönes Restaurant,wo man auf einer Terrasse sitzen und ebenfalls dem Rauschen des Flusses zuhören kann. Ich würde Basalt und die Alpenalt Lodge dem sterilen Aspen in jedem Fall vorziehen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A well-kept secret!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: We enjoy staying at independently-owned and operated places that offer personal service and have a comfortable "feel".
Cons: The entrance is tricky to find but we saw a bit of the small town of Basalt due to our wrong turns!
Location: We were visiting family this trip but there are a wealth of things to due in the area - fly fishing, skiing, hiking and more.
We stayed at this motel because of a very positive experience last year. Our room was again on the riverside and the sight and sound of the Frying Pan river was delightful. The room was simple but had everything we needed. The staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was just right for us. The lodge is located in the town of Basalt which is delightful with interesting restaurants and shops. We come this area every year and look forward to our next stay at Aspenhault Lodge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good basic room

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Walk out of your river-side room and relax a bit along the edges of the Roaring Fork. Beautiful. Front desk staff very nice and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast is marginal in terms of offerings (bananas, cold cereal, oatmeal packets, hard boiled eggs, pastries).
Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff, free wifi. They've got all the basics covered just fine. It's definitely no frills in terms of decor or architecture (no charm) but a clean, inexpensive place to lay your head for a quick stay in Basalt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: It's close to Snowmass.
Location: It was the closest affordable location to Snowmass for us. Whole Foods was nearby to get soup, salad and other foods. Internet was slow.
Quiet area, small mountain town, nice staff. Our Garmin GPS got us lost so we used Google Maps to find the place. It would a little confusing to find it at first since it's not located out on the street. The office and rooms are located in different buildings intermixed in a block with a market, liquor store, restaurant/bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, WY

Posted Jan 27, 2015
We came down for the X-Games and stayed in Aspenalt Lodge for the cheaper prices. It was only 15 minutes into Aspen and had bus services right at the corner of the hotel to take us to other towns! It was a great hotel for the price with no complaints. The only other guests around us were all young college kids as well that could get roudy. The owner checked us out and had to do all room checks to ensure there was no damage to his property. We were welcomed to come back next year as we plan to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Nice clean little hotel right in the heart of Basalt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and comfortable location near Aspen

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Ability to park next to room.
Cons: The beds could use some updating
Needed a room in the Aspen area that wouldn't break the bank. The motel is very convenient to many scenic spots around the area. Being in the little town of Basalt was an added benefit to me. Little traffic and easy location to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
There I's only a few places to stay in the area and them are all average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder

No heat in room

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Close to the river which had a lovely sound.
Cons: Care about your guests comfort.
It was quite cool and when I asked how to get some heat, I was told simply that they had not yet turned on the heat. There was a thermostat in the room that did not work. Oh well, guess guests just get to be cold.