Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Good basic room

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Walk out of your river-side room and relax a bit along the edges of the Roaring Fork. Beautiful. Front desk staff very nice and helpful.
Cons: Breakfast is marginal in terms of offerings (bananas, cold cereal, oatmeal packets, hard boiled eggs, pastries).
Comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff, free wifi. They've got all the basics covered just fine. It's definitely no frills in terms of decor or architecture (no charm) but a clean, inexpensive place to lay your head for a quick stay in Basalt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: It's close to Snowmass.
Location: It was the closest affordable location to Snowmass for us. Whole Foods was nearby to get soup, salad and other foods. Internet was slow.
Quiet area, small mountain town, nice staff. Our Garmin GPS got us lost so we used Google Maps to find the place. It would a little confusing to find it at first since it's not located out on the street. The office and rooms are located in different buildings intermixed in a block with a market, liquor store, restaurant/bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Cheyenne, WY

Posted Jan 27, 2015
We came down for the X-Games and stayed in Aspenalt Lodge for the cheaper prices. It was only 15 minutes into Aspen and had bus services right at the corner of the hotel to take us to other towns! It was a great hotel for the price with no complaints. The only other guests around us were all young college kids as well that could get roudy. The owner checked us out and had to do all room checks to ensure there was no damage to his property. We were welcomed to come back next year as we plan to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Nice clean little hotel right in the heart of Basalt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and comfortable location near Aspen

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Ability to park next to room.
Cons: The beds could use some updating
Needed a room in the Aspen area that wouldn't break the bank. The motel is very convenient to many scenic spots around the area. Being in the little town of Basalt was an added benefit to me. Little traffic and easy location to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
There I's only a few places to stay in the area and them are all average.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boulder

No heat in room

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Close to the river which had a lovely sound.
Cons: Care about your guests comfort.
It was quite cool and when I asked how to get some heat, I was told simply that they had not yet turned on the heat. There was a thermostat in the room that did not work. Oh well, guess guests just get to be cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Fe

Near the Maroon Bells

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Wanted something cheaper than Aspen. Nothing on website said no pets allowed. That was a problem for us. Room and staff were both unpleasant looking! We went down the road to Carbondale for a nicer room at a lower price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful rooms that are next to the Frying Pan .

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: As well as all of the above, in the parking lot there is a store where you can purchase food to have in your room.
Cons: The spa "jets" were very bad. Hardly worth getting into.
Location: About 20 miles from Aspen. You can also visit the Maroon Bells from there and go on the easy hike around the Maroon Lake and view the "bells"'
Our room was across from the river. There are chairs along the river for people to sit. Beautiful setting and lovely rooms with microwaves and refrigerators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Nice hotel on the river

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This was my second stay. Everything was great, room was comfortable, free wifi and nice front desk staff. Would stay again.