Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandman from Arlington, Va

Nice Hotel, Great Staff, Good Location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The location was good for us. The hotel stay included a a very nice breakfast and clod drinks (water, soda and juice) in our room.
Cons: The steps to the lobby may be an impediment to some. It was not for us.
Location: The tram stop is nearby, as it shopping for whatever you need. We enjoyed walking along the river, stopping at cafe's and touring the old town.
We only stayed one night - flying in early to catch a river cruise the nest day. It was an easy trip from the Airport on the bus and tram. It was before noon, but a room was ready and we were able to check in. Nice room, typical size for Europe, and comfortable. If you stay in the city you get a tram pass with the room. The location was good ; we explored on both sides of the river. The town's cafe's had good food and drink. Breakfast next day at the hotel was very good. We checked out and the hotel staff stored our bags until we returned in afternoon and the staff called a taxi for us. Should I ever find myself in Basel again it would be my first choice to stay there. The lobby is 5 or 6 steps above street level and some may have an issue with climbing those with their baggage - but given our experience with the hotel staff I'm sure they have some means of assisting handicapped guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keng76 from Bangkok

Great location

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Location and river view.
Cons: Pillows are too soft.
Location: Nice walking all the way from hotel to Messe or you can even walk across the bridge to Marktplatz - the main market square that offers fresh fruits.
The location is very good, few steps from Tram stop. Also great river view from our room. The staffs are very helpful, friendly and informative. Only pillows that are too soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anny from dallas tx

Best location

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A real queen bed not two twins pushed together
Location: Great access to every point in central tourist area and easy access to city tram and buses.
Tram Rheingasse station just a step away and at head of the historic bridge so walking to old town is just two minutes. Can't beat that! Great room with river view. Great staff. Only wish it was a true queen size bed rather then two twin beds pushed together. Still we would book it again if we were to visit Basel again and recommend it to anyone coming here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a very nice hotel, right on the Rhine River. We ended up paying extra to upgrade our room to a river view once we saw how beautiful it was. The location was right on the tram line so you could get around very easily, plus an easy walk over the bridge into the old part of town. The only negative was that it had no air conditioning, so the room was stuffy, although they brought in a small fan when we mentioned this, which helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff from Asheville, NC

Very nice location, room, and service

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleased with the location and the service at this hotel. Convenient parking in the lower level. My room had an incredible view of the Rhein. The only gripe, which I had with all my European hotels is that "Free Wifi" is stated on the Hotels.com page, but the wifi was not working properly. After a week of fighting horrible hotel wifi across Europe, I admit I was too tired to keep fighting it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very basic room for the money.

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic room. Clean enough. Nespresso machine on the table made up for not even having a teaspoon available (they provide those little plastic stirrers). Ok but I will look for other options around the same money/location before I stayed again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

River facing room a #5, back street a #1 .

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel has a great location, just across the river, and a short walk from all the sights. There is a tram stop around the corner. The service was very good, the room comfortable and the breakfast was very nice. The problem with our stay was that our room overlooked the back side street rather than the river. There is a bar opposite the hotel, which starts to play loud music around 10 PM and it doesn't stop until after 2 AM. Along with the music were very loud conversations from the drinkers at the bar. The music and talking interfered with our trying to fall asleep. The rooms facing the bar should be soundproofed. I assume that rooms facing the river don't have this noise issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by philip rushton from basel

pay the extra for the river view

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel and good service and great location.....but the noise from the street into the streetside rooms..(almost every night and especially on weekends), is terrible. I was on the 4th floor, using ear plugs and pillow over my head....it was still a noisy riot in the street. At one point around 2am on Saturday night, I almost called the police.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ramy from San Francisco

Room different than what was pre paid

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've stayed before and written a prior review. Dated hotel with a great river close location near a tram stop and with some great surrounding neighborhood attractions. I pre-paid extra for a queen room on hotels.com, but upon arrival was checked into a double. I went back to reception and had them switch me. I was then put into a room with two double beds next to each other, however the gap between caused by the bed frames was significant. Having paid quite a bit more for a queen bed, i ended up with a twin/single bed. After 24 hours of commute and time change you don't want to deal with stuff like that. I well stay elsewhere in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed from Chicago

Superb location in Basel

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was great, the location in Basel excellent rooms were clean, neat, comfortable but average