Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darren from Hertford, UK

Great experience with family

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Two adults and two small-ish children stayed in an "apartment" room. Room was large, very well appointed and clean, staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Once the shutters were down the room was quiet even on a Friday night despite being on the first floor at the front overlooking the street and a tram line. Whole experience was great, the children loved it, and the little extras, such as complimentary drinks in the fridge, really made it a stay to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: Locality
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Great
Air conditioning is not great and the creepy doll in the hallway should disappear
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very good for the price

Posted Oct 10, 2011
The location cannot be more convenient if you travel by train but it's also very central...and quiet besides. My only gripe with the room was an occasional bzzzzz noise from the air conditioning, which I was not even using. When I mentioned it at the desk they took note, but I only stayed for one night. Breakfast buffet was remarkably diverse and everything was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Rugby, UK

Friendly, handy, would use it again.

Posted Dec 22, 2009
The staff were very friendly and gave us lots of advice on where to go, which trams to catch (and they supply a travel card). The room was clean and pretty newly decorated. Very convenient near the Central Station - great for the airport bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cranston

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2009 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very convenient - walked from the train station. beautiful room and decor. very friendly staff. The room was too warm - that was the only minus. We had to sleep with the window open
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Johnson City, Tn.

Great location!

Posted Sep 30, 2009
I traveled with a group of 8 friends and we were all impressed with every aspect of the St. Gotthard in Basel. The breakfast was outstanding as was the service. The mobility pass made sightseeing extraordinarily easy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Mixed feelings

Posted Sep 12, 2009
This hotel is an odd mixture. Entering the reception feels like going into a Travelodge, and the staff look as if they just came off a shift at MacDonalds. But the breakfast room is in traditional style and very characterful. The room I had was large and clean, but overlooked the station road. Had good doubleglazing, but you could still hear the trams which seem to run throughout the night. If in doubt, ask for a quiet room. Overall, was decent value for money, but don't think it merits its four-star rating. Three star would be more accurate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leawood

Right across the street from the Railroad Station

Posted Aug 31, 2009 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel and we would recommend it except for one item. Granted we are spoiled Americans, but we stayed there in August and it was hot. The air conditioning was not adequate and the staff at the front desk had no idea how to rectify the situation. No views. Otherwise, it is clean and modern hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from uk

hotel ok

Posted Aug 15, 2009
no fuss hotel. Shame about the noisy tram in the street. good location near the station. easy access coming from the airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boston

Swiss cleanliness and original art

Posted Aug 12, 2009
The St. Gotthard is across the street from the train station and within walking distance of the Old Town and many tourist attractions. The hotel itself is comfortable and outstandingly clean even by Swiss standards. The buffet breakfast included with our room rate had a wide variety of delicious choices, and the breakfast room itself very attractive. The hotel features original contemporary art in the rooms and hallways.