Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Elegance and gracious living personified

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The elegance, the ambiance, the history, the peculiar French chic, everything.
Location: The hotel is in the middle of the historic resort of Biarritz, which has an elegance all of its own with many interesting sites to visit.
To stay at this hotel is to experience gracious living and elegance at its very best. We started coming here three years ago.to celebrate our wedding anniversary and now make a point of coming back each year. The hotel remembers each year the reason for our stay without reminding and go out of their way to make our celebration special. It is little touches like this that make the Palais the very special hotel that it is. Apart from the hotel, Biarritz is a very special place to visit. It should be on everybody's bucket list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fabulous Hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Cons: Air conditioning
We were lucky enough to be upgraded with our room as they weren't full. It was a tremendous experience and we would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were fabulous, there is nothing I can fault about our stay with the exception of the air conditioning. We could not quite get the room cool enough. We swam in the pool and the beach, lunched at the pool restaurant with its incredible view and had dinner in the hotel dining room. Both meals were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashleyfrom New York

Historic Majesty

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely loved the hotel. It is just as gorgeous as the reviews all say, and the service is fantastic. I went down to the front desk and requested a decanter for a bottle of wine I'd purchased on my own, and housekeeping literally beat me back to the room! The pool is also second to none. The only reason I give less than 5 stars straight through is that the window was very small, and porthole style, so the room was rather dark (tip: the lower floors are the best -- don't be fooled by a fifth floor reservation!) But if you're staying in Biarritz, it's worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gerrit M.from Davis, Ca

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
An amazing property. The pool overlooking the beach was spectacular. And the service was first rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dickfrom Douglas, IOM

Luxury personified

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: great location, great food, great spa, gracious living
If you want to be pampered and live the life of royalty for a short while, this is the hotel for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerifrom Austin, Texas

Fantastic, luxurious experience!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Only thing was that our room was on a service road and there was a high level of noise, early in the morning...
Location: Swimming, surfing, shopping, history, walking, museums, restaurants...pretty much everything right there!
A very fine hotel and experience in Biarritz! As a "well-seasoned" traveler, I would say this is a gem. The property in itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The staff are excellent. Location is perfect. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizziefrom LA

Honeymoon trip!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Hotel Du Palais was incredible!!! We got a great room with a view of the lighthouse, it was perfect and private and quiet with a super comfortable bed! All the hotel and staff were amazing, it felt like you were visiting your families summer home, we got to know the pool director and all the concierges' and bellman! What a beautiful charming historic hotel... you can just feel the past and the royalty all around you! Worth every penny!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patfrom Essex, UK

Great place for a long weekend

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Do try tea in the spa - excellent!
Location: Right on the beach couldn't have been closer.
Staff were very kind and helpful. Bedroom could have been bigger and not enough storage space but otherwise very good.
2 out of 5
by jamesfrom London

In need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Terrace view overlooking the beach is wonderful
Cons: rooms are dated and need modernisation
Location: great location
It's looking a bit dated and in need of a complete overhaul for the 21st century. By contrast we also stayed at the recently refurbished Hotel Maria Cristina (Starwood) at San Sebastian (40mins away in Spain), which has all the mod-cons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaronfrom Tel Aviv

Absolute classical best hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Everything
This hotel is a legend. Does not need a review. Great SPA area. Swimming pool is a separate legend itself. Just gotta be prepared to high cost of breakfast and that the bathrooms are a bit old at a modern point of view.