Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Fabulous Hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Cons: Air conditioning
We were lucky enough to be upgraded with our room as they weren't full. It was a tremendous experience and we would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were fabulous, there is nothing I can fault about our stay with the exception of the air conditioning. We could not quite get the room cool enough. We swam in the pool and the beach, lunched at the pool restaurant with its incredible view and had dinner in the hotel dining room. Both meals were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dick from Douglas, IOM

Luxury personified

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: great location, great food, great spa, gracious living
If you want to be pampered and live the life of royalty for a short while, this is the hotel for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeri from Austin, Texas

Fantastic, luxurious experience!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Only thing was that our room was on a service road and there was a high level of noise, early in the morning...
Location: Swimming, surfing, shopping, history, walking, museums, restaurants...pretty much everything right there!
A very fine hotel and experience in Biarritz! As a "well-seasoned" traveler, I would say this is a gem. The property in itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The staff are excellent. Location is perfect. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lizzie from LA

Honeymoon trip!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Hotel Du Palais was incredible!!! We got a great room with a view of the lighthouse, it was perfect and private and quiet with a super comfortable bed! All the hotel and staff were amazing, it felt like you were visiting your families summer home, we got to know the pool director and all the concierges' and bellman! What a beautiful charming historic hotel... you can just feel the past and the royalty all around you! Worth every penny!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Essex, UK

Great place for a long weekend

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Do try tea in the spa - excellent!
Location: Right on the beach couldn't have been closer.
Staff were very kind and helpful. Bedroom could have been bigger and not enough storage space but otherwise very good.
2 out of 5
by james from London

In need of refurbishment

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Terrace view overlooking the beach is wonderful
Cons: rooms are dated and need modernisation
Location: great location
It's looking a bit dated and in need of a complete overhaul for the 21st century. By contrast we also stayed at the recently refurbished Hotel Maria Cristina (Starwood) at San Sebastian (40mins away in Spain), which has all the mod-cons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaron from Tel Aviv

Absolute classical best hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Everything
This hotel is a legend. Does not need a review. Great SPA area. Swimming pool is a separate legend itself. Just gotta be prepared to high cost of breakfast and that the bathrooms are a bit old at a modern point of view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by S. Ebel from Los Ranchos NM

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved the gracious hospitality exhibited by every single staff person in the hotel. The food was exceptional. Our room was large and comfortable, but a bit on the ordinary side. Plain. A strange vinyl cabinet held the mini-bar with TV set on top. Weird and disappointing for someone who appreciates good design and beautiful decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jjulie from Perth Australia

Great hotel if you need pampering and relaxation.

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: Food, pool area, position, dogs entry
Cons: Cant think of any
Location: Perfect
Very relaxing hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful without being obsequious. The view was divine and the swimming pool overlooking the beach was gorgeous. Very gracious and everything was quality especially the food from the perfect boiled eggs at breakfast to the basque cherry cake. Also loved that you allowed dogs into the bar area, coming from Australia where this is not allowed I thought it was so civilised and homely Loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Luxurious, grand bad very pricey. With one stay.