Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with amazing view

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Beautiful view from our room.
We had a room in the building across the road from the main building, and the view of the ocean from the veranda was magnificent. The hotel was clean and convenient and about 5-10 minutes walk from the center. The breakfast was very tasty. It was also very good to have the small kitchen in the room. All in all, we were very happy with our stay and can recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Herts

Friend's long weekend

Posted Sep 22, 2014
This is not a 5 star hotel. But for a 3 star it's really good value for money. Centrally located with beautiful views of the beach. It's a busy hotel...but not overly. All amenities were clean and comfortable. Shower was lovely and clean. I think they have undergone a recent refurb. Very impressed and pleased with our choice. It was just a base to explore beautiful Biarritz and suited our purposes. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GWfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great Biarritz family hotel in area close to all.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Great value, large room, unexpectedly fantastic view, nice pool, were all bonuses.
Cons: The rooms are a little tired in decor & missing air conditioning - in the hottest summer months would be a problem but are fine with evening breeze.
Location: Ideally situated to go to the 3 key beach areas of Biarritz from its hilltop perch.
Was very pleasantly surprised by the newness of the common areas (lobby, etc.), large rooms and the helpful staff. Biarritz has many "pocket" areas of interest and this hotel sits perched on the hill in a manner that was perfect for quick access to each area. The outdoor heated pool was great for kids as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Happy Travellerfrom Liverpool

Excellent location

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was superbly located right by the seafront, with short walks to the front and the centre. Plenty of shops, cafés and bars all within a few minutes walk also. The hotel itself was great, very clean, our studio apartment was ideal for our needs, the staff were also extremely helpful when assisting with our queries. We read some complaints about the lack of kettle in the room, but the coffee maker did the job (just don't put coffee in!), there was a daily maid service and towels are provided. The pool remained open despite us reading it would be closed! We had great views from our balcony despite us facing the rear of the hotel - if possible, request to stay at the front side of the hotel as those views were more stunning (we were still more than happy with our view though!!). Overall, we loved Biarritz, lots to see and do, Bayonne, St Jean de Luz, Millady beach (gorgeous), all great places to visit by public transport (we didn't have a car and buses were frequent). Would recommend Biarritz and a stay at Le Grand Large.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Nickfrom Welwyn

Nice Sea view

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Used as an overnight stop with our grandchildren. Staff very helpful and the food in the restaurant was good, both for adults and small children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheridanfrom Houston, TX, USA

"Great hotel for a family!"

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: Apartment room was wonderful!
Cons: The restaurant downstairs was a little pricy.
Location: The location is walking distance to town center and beach, in a quiet neighborhood, and beautiful view of the coast!
My stay at this hotel was wonderful! The staff was really nice and accommodating. The room was wonderful, plenty of space, clean, nice, fully equipped, and beautiful balcony with great view! I would definely stay there again, if I went back! It would be perfect to stay at for a week or so with the kitchen and access to the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Moulay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark

Great Stay

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Our stay at the Le Grande Large was amazing. The hotel is very close to the shore and our window had a side view of the ocean and lighthouse. We plan on going back and will request a room with a full ocean view. The ocean is just across the street from the hotel which sits atop a hill so the access path to the beach winds down through lovely trees and flowers. The town is close by with lots of pretty shops, delicious smelling bakeries and cafes. We had a difficult time deciding where to eat! The room was spacious enough for our traveling couple to join us for a lunch of breads, cheeses, meats and wine. The only down side is that there is no dish liquid to do your dishes and no coffee or tea for the filter style coffee pot. There is a small grocery shop near-by that you can purchase these items and everything else you need: cork screw, glasses, plates, untensils, etc. are provided. It was just a great place to stay, close to St. Jean de Luc and St. Sebastian. With better planning, we would have stayed here for the four nights. It's just a very comfortable, friendly hotel with a great location for walking around the beach and town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew

Wonderful

Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great location, helpful staff, comfortable and reasonably priced room. Only complaint is the laundry machines did not work well and are very expensive. Learning that this may be a France issue that I am not used to though. Get a top floor room with an ocean view!