Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eleanor from Kent, England

Spa hotel in Biarritz

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: The layout of the room, atmosphere of peace and quiet, facilities, staff, bar area, sea views
Cons: Exterior of the hotel could do with a paint
Location: Location is near Biarritz town centre, great for Miramar and Grande Plage beaches, with many good restaurants nearby
This hotel surpassed my expectations. The staff were polite and attentive, and clearly took pride in their work. The spa facilities and swimming pool were fabulous, and the views over the sea stunning. I will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful spa hotel with a unique location

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Location, design, friendliness of the staff and a delicious restaurant - a true gastronomic experience
Cons: Bathrooms are too small and offer no modern shower; rooms are not spacious enough; concierge needs to come with a decent tagging system for luggage!
Location: Albert restaurant is a great fish restaurant
I'm a regular at the Sofitel and always receive a great service - both at the hotel and at the spa, which is one of the true spa with proven benefits in France. As a French citizen living in London, I can only get a "French escape" infrequently and for a maximum of 10 days, and I always make a point of coming to the Miramar, which kills many birds with the same stone: amazing location in a beautiful city (Biarritz), delicious food, great wines, and all the benefits from the spa anyone who is calory-conscious and health-focused. Having said that, the stay is not cheap and for that price - even blaming the busy summer season - the rooms would benefit from offering more space and functionalities. Superior rooms are priced like a junior suite in another hotel while they're not. I find the staff really helpful and welcoming - particularly Dorothee in Guest Relations, who has done an outstanding job at solving problems and making sure I had a smooth stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by family of 4 from UK

great hotel, wonderful stay

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel. The outdoor pool was fabulous and the room was very comfortable. The only criticism we would have is that terrace was quite small and there is no separate shower (in any of the rooms we were told), so we had to shower in the bath. For a 5 star hotel we found this surprising. Otherwise it was very luxurious, the children had a fabulous time and the location on the beach was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Scottsdale, AZ

Right on the beach and a short walk into the town.

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Location: Location is great. Right on beach and a 10 minute walk to restaurants, casino and shopping.
Very nice hotel and staff. The outside is a little stark but inside is very nice . Great spa and right on the beach. You can not be the location of this hotel...a charming walk to town on a walkway the follows the beach. 10 minutes to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely facilities

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Shame about the building works, our request to move rooms was auctioned straight away, it was just a surprise to be woken on a Saturday morning by someone drilling on the other side of the wall that the bed was against! Otherwise, an amazing break
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NYC at MADISON from New Yorker

Biarritz Spa

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel lobby and common areas are in great condition. But all the terraces need work and due to the salt water alot of wear and tear is showing. rooms could use some updating as well but are well appointed. If you are here for the SPA then you are in heaven, the pool and spa treatments are 1st class and well worth the money spent. Location is hard as you must drive to get anywhere close to the town, but it is on the beach and away from the crowds. I would come back here just for the Spas. Traveler from New York City.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Pros and Cons of Luxury

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
THE CONS: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are all disasters. Don't eat at the hotel, period. They are short-staffed, don't have enough clean tables, didn't have menus in English (only in the room) and everything is SUPER overpriced. When we did get a table, we kept getting asked what our room number was (like they thought we didn't belong at a "fancy" hotel or something.) We also waited... A LOT. We left our empty table (and sometimes waiting for a table) on a few occasions to walk to the city to eat instead. We felt more welcome at the restaurants/cafes outside of the hotel where we also didn't pay an arm and a leg, got what we wanted and were treated well. Room service was sub-par for the hotel being considered "luxury". We got a salad and a club sandwich. The salad had a few leaves of lettuce, all of the tomatoes were peeled/unappetizing and a ton of salty croutons with over-oily dressing, the sandwich was soggy and had an unidentifiable vegetable on it... (heart of palm? rotten avocado? grey egg yolk? I'll never know). Again, go out to eat, you'll thank me. THE PROS: The front desk staff are AMAZING. They communicate well, are friendly and always want to help. The room was always impeccable.The pool was well taken care of. The location was nice too- on the beach and about 10min from the center of the city by foot. Easy easy. In summary: This was NOT a luxury hotel experience for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by charles

by the sea

Posted Jan 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
very good and pleasant stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were very pleased, and the location was fantastic. We had made reservations for 2 rooms back in MAY, Our e-mail confirmation showed we had 2 sea view rooms, but when we arrived we were told NO sea views. The desk clerk was kind enough to change our rooms, and the views from our balcony were wonderful. We also enjoyed our time out at the pool, and the service at the pool was also very pleasant. No complaints - the Sofitel was terrirfic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Izzy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels.com