Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Expectations lost

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: NO comment
Cons: Honest staff
Location: Wonderful rural location pity did not get the chance to see more of it.
Booked to stay at the hotel with Expedia but received a text/ voice mail to say all rooms were booked and some were taken out of service due to a plumbing issue. I am disappointed with what the Receptionist said and am inclined to state that she was not telling the truth and infact when challenged she did admit it. I booked the hotel for it garden walks etc and being near to Bath. The manager saved the day though and sent us to the Henwood up the road and that was splendid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daisywoods from Cheshire

Stunning setting

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Set in stunning surroundings. View down Brassknocker Hill amazing. Short drive into Bath which is a lovely city.
Very enjoyable stay. Our room was in the Manor house overlooking the gardens and countryside beyond. Absolutely stunning views. We were really lucky with the weather so were able to sit outside. Drinks quite expensive but probably on par with other hotels of this calibre. Wish we had have taken swimwear for the outside pool. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. Large bathroom with quality toiletries. Ate in the Georgian restaurant. The set menu was of high quality as was the service. Everyone was very attentive. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would love to go again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views, tired room

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Scenery was excellent, friendly staff and good leisure facilities. Rooms are quite tired looking for what you paid. Food was good but they served me the wrong meal and didn't offer much apology or compensation despite me saying id eat the meal just to save time so they got off lightly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and beautiful setting.
Cons: Decor and cleanliness.
Location: Bath and all its attractions.
This hotel is in a beautiful peaceful setting yet only a stones throw from the convenience of the park and ride facility to the centre of Bath. The leisure facilities are top class and we all made good use of the pool. Our rooms were set away from the main building. Although comfortable they were on the shabby side, well worn bedding and furniture also lots of stains on walls and carpet. The bathroom needed updating and was also shabby. Not what is expected of a 4**** hotel? Dinner and breakfast were both very good, it was great to be served breakfast to your table. However attention to small detail is required, dirty sugar bowls, sticky sauce bottles and packet butter? The bar had no draught bitter on arrival and still did not on departure. We went to the local pub instead! Overall a lovely place which just needs to make more effort to the finer details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed in the lodge but the hotel - manor was nice

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Very happy and would return, food good, manor nice. The only thing that let it down was the lack of atmosphere in the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
4 out of 5
by Michelle from Australia

Good escape from the weather

Posted Jan 11, 2014
The hotel room furnishings were care-worn with some stains but it was clean and comfortable and the room amenities were good. It was a good place to hide away from the storms and rain but do be aware that it is quite some distance from the centre of town and not easy to access. I would recommend it if you were staying within the grounds of the hotel for the duration of your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay at Combe Grove Manor, reception staff were very helpful and wonderfully welcoming. We had dinner at the brasserie which was unfortunately a little underwhelming, there was no one to welcome us and there was no ambiance in the bar area where we sat. It was a very busy night for the bar however they only had one staff member on who was rushed off his feet. We got served reasonably quickly all things considered and the waiter/barman was very good. The food was less than average which didn't help with the experience. We decided to have dessert back in the room which was perfect. The breakfast was great and service at breakfast was faultless. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay at Combe Grove Manor Bath.

Posted Dec 28, 2013
We booked a garden lodge room which we discovered was in a separate uncovered block from the manor house, which is a nightmare if raining as it did during our stay. The block & room very tired, in desperate need of refurbishment, and with strong smell of chlorine from the leisure centre next door. Breakfast service appalling, had to ask for order to be taken after sitting at table for more than 20minutes. When our food arrived, it was cold & not freshly cooked as expected, but clearly cooked considerably earlier & just dished out. We were due to stay for 2 nights, but checked out after one night and moved to brand new Premier Inn, in central Bath for a better room and saved £70.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com