Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Cheshire

A beautiful place that's full of character

Posted Apr 7, 2014
We spent a lovely weekend exploring Bath as part of celebrations for a special occasion. As one who frequents hotel rooms for work, this was a refreshing change. It's an older property decorated in keeping with the style of the building. I wanted something unique and a bit special and this fitted the bill nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hannah & Ben from Bexley, Kent

Friendly B&B very close to bath centre

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Friendly and welcoming owners Comfortable and clean rooms Close to bath city centre Picturesque hotel with lovely garden area
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Bath

good location, service not so good

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hosts were pleasant and friendly. However, two service-related issues are very prominent in our assessment. On the first morning, we removed a soiled sheet so it can be changed but the same sheet was again used to cover the mattress. Also, the TV was not working the first night and was not usable the second night. We expected an offer for a small refund but none was offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chloe from London

Lovely, intimate hotel close to the centre of town

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very near the centre of town
This is a lovely family run hotel. The rooms are quirky and delightful and the breakfast is excellent. I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by moread from Cornwall

What a find!

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Charming hotel, easy parking, excellent location, friendly dog and owner and importantly a very comfortable bed!
3 out of 5
by HunBun from England

Over rated

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: The idea, but not the final offering
Cons: The decoration, the attention to detail, customer attention,the breakfast.
Location: Near to the town center, with lots to see and lots of resteraurants
On the surface the room was decorated on a high standard, in keeping with type of property. However the silver Gothic 4 poster type bed looked as if it had dried blood smeared on one of the bed posts, on closer inspection it was found to have been touched up with bronze paint! The light bulbs didn't match and some didn't work at all. There was no milk offered the first night, then upon request milk was made available the second night in an uncovered jug! But the bottle of water that was offered the first night was not replaced the next night, despite have almost used the whole bottle . Breakfast the first morning had a lovely platter of fresh fruit on offer including mango and a couple of strawberries. However there was no choice of fruit juice, just orange and only marmalade, not any other preserves. The second morning when we entered the dining room for breakfast, the other 4 guests were already seated and no places laid for us, the only other guests. The host then proceeded to erect a garden table for us and we had to request fruit juice and toast, which he was clearly forgetting about. If this was an inexpensive B & B then the complaints would not have been noted, but it is being marketed as an up-market establishment!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aj from Liverpool

Cozy perfect for a married couple getaway.

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: location and staff. Is ace for a couple married for a few years to come and relax and enjoy Bath. Not a young persons ideal spot.
Cons: Internet wifi.
Location: Bath is 10 mins walk.... theres a lot to do there!
Location : Ace. close enough to town, to walk to and from hotel. But not too close to get disturbed. Parking: Free, roadside. Reception: Very friendly. No particular rules, paperwork dilemma. easy and comfortable. Staff: very homely, Sailor the dog is the star, honestly miss him. Room: a bit cramped. very Victorian, but tight. Bath: spacious and comfy. TV: Normal free view. Garden: Beautiful to have a cuppa in the sun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan and Tony from Whitnash, Leamington Spa, Warwickshire

What a little gem!!

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: The building is very interesting and the way it has been furnished is perfect for style of the rooms. The food was good too.
Cons: The decor could do with refreshing and minor details of cleanliness eg the skirting boards and door frame in our room needed attention.
Location: Within walking distance of all the main attractions. Don't miss out on the Roman Baths!! Good shopping and a lovely riverside walk. Take your camara!
We had a bit of trouble finding the Queen Charlottes Orangery as it is behind what appears to be a garden wall and is around the corner from a main road. How ever we were very glad we did find it. It is a charming place, not perfect , but so beautifully OTT and interesting. We were greeted by the very charming owner and shown to our small but rather lovely room. It had a four poster bed, with beautifully painted uprights, a lovely wrought iron(I think) headboard and really good quality bedding and embroidered cushions. however , the bed was a little noisy! The decor was a little tired but was not at all off putting. The whole ambiance was wonderful and the breakfast really good. The only downsize was the room was smaller than expected but the rest more than made up for it. The owners lovely little dog (a scottie or highland terrier???I don't really know ) was, for us, an added bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda from Ware, Herts

Wow! What a place!

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
If your thinking of heading to Bath, you'd be mad not to book here, providing they have availability! It's a pure one-off! Lovely rooms, great services, and not too far a walk from the centre of Bath. And the rooms were so quiet, which made for a fantastic nights sleep. I'd stay again on my next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mcarta from Scottish Highlands

A gloriously quirky gem!

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
From the moment you enter through the door-in-the-wall, you know you're in a remarkable place! You walk straight in to a circular room, with several doors leading off - it can be a bit of a challenge remembering which one is yours! The whole building is decorated & furnished in High Georgian style and the Italianate garden is a lovely little place to be. Easy walking distance to the interesting parts of Bath centre, and safe parking by the door, even if you're in a car that doesn't lock...Greg & Sailor the westie are excellent hosts (and yes, you ARE expected to say 'Hello Sailor' regularly :-) A total delight for those who like the quirky - as my wife said 'it's like being back in Venice'! Cannot recommend it enough..