Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, amazing breakfast!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were there to visit Bath - a 15 minute drive or you can use the nearby park and ride or local buses.
We stayed at the The House for a couple of nights so we could go Xmas shopping in Bath. I have to confess we found The House as everywhere in Bath was already fully booked, however this turned out brilliantly. The hotel is extremely comfortable, our room was lovely and the hosts have spared nothing to make their guests feel very welcome. Breakfast deserves a special mention - literally the best hotel breakfast I've ever had and I consider myself something of a connoisseur!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerset

Friendly Welcome and Lovely House!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
My wife and I were warmly welcomed by Rowena and Mike into their lovely hotel. We had a lovely room and Rowena even catered to my wife's needs as she is pregnant. The bed was huge and very comfortable with all of our needs met by the facilities. In the morning we were greeted by a huge spread for breakfast with a choice of continental and/or cooked. Will be staying again, can't reccomend highly enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Fantastic: stay here, it's worth it

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Firstly, Rowena and Mike won't treat you like a customer rather like a relative: they're more than hospitable! Mike very patiently waited up for us until 1am and even smiled despite having to wake up early. Second the breakfast was abundant, tasty and heathly: it's all either organic or locally sourced from the farmers. Last but not least lhotel is superbly decorated and cosy. It's beautiful and not an industrial approach: for instance Rowena selects bed and pillows more expensive than normal hotels (and you get one great nights sleep) Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford, UK

Great, friendly hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself, the operators, and the attention to details
Cons: Dinner service
Location: It's in the countryside, and is easily accessible to Bath by car.
From before we arrived, the hotel showed a personal touch that was fantastic. The hotel is beautiful and only about 10 minutes from Bath. The manager changed offered to change our room once they found out we were traveling with an infant. The room had a king size bed in it, and the room can handle it, one of the more spacious rooms we've stayed in England. There was even a little room just off the master where kids could stay, and we set up our cot there. Breakfast was wonderful, and featured many local suppliers (like the fresh bread and the yogurt, both delicious)! We had the French toast as well, and it was fantastic as well. If you prefer the quieter more personal hotels with lots of character, then you will love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Fantastic B&B with a fantastic host.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
I stayed here with my two parents and had a great stay. We wished we could have stayed longer. The house is an amazing old rectory that has been nicely renovated. The rooms are lush and comfortable. The host (Rowena) was fantastic and very welcoming. Breakfast in the mornings was amazing too. The best I've had in the UK/Europe. It caters for everyone and the food is delicious. Thanks Rowena for a perfect stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Magical place.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Very unique residence. Superbly decorated. The owners were excellent to deal with. Continental breakfast was the best we had in England so far. Bed was super comfy and it was extremely clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom München

Schönes B&B in der Nähe von Bath.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Sehr freundliche Besitzer, die uns auch sehr herzlich persönlich begrüßten und verabschiedeten. Zimmer sauber und in einer Mischung von rustikal und modern eingerichtet. Wir waren im direkt an das Haupthaus anschließendem Nebengebäude untergebracht. Alte Holztreppe zum ersten Stock in diesem Gebäude, die natürlich knarzte und etwas eng war, aber das ist bei alten Traditionshäusern eben so. Großer Garten mit Bäumen und Liegestühlen zum Entspannen. Sehr gutes Frühstück - auch mit versch. frischem Obst . Kein Restaurant im Hause, wie bei B&B üblich, aber Bar am Abend geöffnet. Pub mit Essensmöglichkeit einige Häuser weiter, haben wir aber nicht ausprobiert. Insgesamt gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis (Unterkunft deutlich günstiger als vergleichbare Unterkünfte in Bath selbst). Fahrt nach Bath entweder mit eigenem PKM oder mit Buslinie vor dem Haus ohne Komplikationen möglich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic, personal service from great hosts

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Every review I read before booking this venue mentioned the proprietors. Believe the hype - Mike and Rowenna will bring a level of personal service to your stay that you will struggle to find at more expensive and higher-starred options. I would strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a comfortable, friendly hotel from which to explore Bath and Somerset.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bexley, Kent

Lovely Guest House in a quiet location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It was very unique and had a nice atmosphere about it. It was set in a nice quiet location and was quite near Bath town centre.
Cons: Doesn't really need improving
Location: It was set in a nice quiet location and close to Bath town centre, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat Safari Park and Stonehenge.
Loved staying at this Guest House for the weekend. Was made to feel very welcome. The owner was very friendly and helpful and suggested lots of restaurants and places to visit. The House was set in lovely country surroundings and had a nice garden at the back. Very quiet. The breakfast was excellent especially the croissants which were really tasty. I would highly recommend friends and family to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Spent 2 nights here in July, and really had fun. Location and the hotel itself are wonderful, and it's very convenient for Bath and the surrounding area. Think crossover between a boutique hotel with the friendliness of a B&B. Rowena and Mike are great hosts, the grounds are beautiful and the breakfasts wonderful. The hotel wasn't full and we were upgraded on arrival too! Only small gripe: we had a ground floor room and could hear the people in the room above us a little too clearly... but this generally didn't detract from the overall impression: a genuinely different and fun hotel experience that we will recommend to our friends.