Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north la

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Over all the room was clean but the ac made a lot of rattling noises... And the tub drain was plugged. They did move us to a different room without hassle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: The room being free of mildew. Notice to customers that the hotel was under construction. A safe and secure experience.
The hotel was under construction and smelled of paint. This was not as bad as the horrible smell of mildew in my room. I have allergies and the room was very uncomfortable. The security doors were kept propped open by two pink colored blocks of wood--provided by the hotel. The doors were propped into the night. At one point I kicked the block out so the security door would lock, but someone replaced it within 10 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by MIKE, Hotel Management
DEAR GUEST, we are very sorry for the inconvenience during the renovation. and just because of the odor of the paint we had left the door open so guests does not have very strong smell of paint. we do have security for the night time. Even though we don't have trouble with the car break or nothing. It is very safe area. but we are sorry. we do concern about your reason.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by akdavisak from Central TX

It was just enough

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was all right. The hallways were very musty, but the rooms were very clean. Breakfast was limited and I had to find some of the essential myself (spatula, oil, etc.) A good stay for the price, no real major complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
dear guests. thank you very much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity serve you. its good to hear that you like our hot breakfast. but just because of we have 2 shelves for the breakfast items may be that was the reason you couldn't see the utensils. sorry for that. we also happy to hear that you liked our rooms and cleanliness of the room. We hope to see you again when you are in town. thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Main reason for "disappointed" rating

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The staff was very warm and friendly. Breakfast was good, too!
Cons: Get rid of that mildewy smell/feel.
Location: Plenty of food options around and only a 10-15 minute drive from most of Baton Rouge's sites.
The rooms were musty, humid and "felt" mildewy. There wasn't any mildew that we could find, but it had that moist, humid, mildewy feeling and smell. Everything else was fine - beds were comfortable and slept VERY well, A/C worked, TV fine, bathroom fine, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2014 by MIKE, Hotel Management
dear guests, we are very sorry for any inconvenience during your stay at our property. As you mention you did not find any mold and that's very true that we do not have melldew problem in any of our rooms. we are very happy to hear that you like our comfortable beds and you did slept good. thank you very much for staying with us and giving us your valuable feedback. thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patrick Parker from Franklin, LA

Combination Visit

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Because of the location of the of the jobsites I had to frequent between June 4-6, 2014, and some of my wife's relatives decided to converge in Port Allen. Clean, neat, right off the interstate very close to relatives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
dear guests, we are thankful for staying with us and hope we have satisfy your needs. We also thankful to you for taking some time from your busy schedule and giving us good reviews. we are trying our best to provide you good service and will continue doing it. we hope we will see you again in future. thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
dear guests, we are very thankful to you for staying with us and we hope you have enjoyed your stay at our property. we are trying our best to satisfy all of our guests. thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
The office area was extremely hot. The hallway to the rooms stunk. They smelled like body odor. The tub drain didn't work properly. It took about 15 minutes to drain from a bath. The humidity in the room was awful. The bathroom needed to be repainted and caulked. The exterior of the facility was deteriorated. This was the first and the last stay with a best western facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2014 by MIKE, Hotel Management
dear guests, we apologize for inconvenience stay at our property. In the lobby area our air condition was broke so it was hot. And I think I have fixed your drain too. But we are very sorry for that and hope you will give us another chance to serve you much better and we make sure that you will be 100 % satisfy on your next visit. once again we are extremely sorry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Decent Place, Convenient Location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place was decent, for the price, it met what we needed. It wasn't a place we would send a friend or family member to, but as a place to crash after a concert at LSU it was clean, safe and VERY conveniently located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear guests, thank you very much for your stay and spending your time for the survey. we really appreciate and sorry for any inconvenience during your stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
dear guests, we are very happy that you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again when you are in town. thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Just what we needed

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a nice place. Interior entrances...nice clean and friendly. Going back next time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear guest, first of all we glad to hear that you like us our interior entrance and our all staff. we hope to see you soon. we all very thankful to you for taking your valuable time from your busy schedule to give us your opinion. thank you