Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Sandra from Niagara, Canada

Close to the A3.

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Proximity to the A3.
Cons: Restaurant should be a little more refined and less like a truck stop.
This hotel is quite close to the A3, which made it convenient to stay on our way from Sicily to Amalfi. I was a little disappointed, though, as it is not nearly as nice as the pictures and reviews would have you believe. It was actually a bit like staying at a Motel 6 or Red Roof Inn, which is really not what we were looking for in Italy. The room was basic and clean, parking was secure and the breakfast was better than average. We ate dinner in the restaurant as we arrived quite late and weren't sure if the area was okay to walk around late at night. The meal was fine, but the restaurant itself was terrible. The overhead lights were glaringly bright, and there were TV's just blaring-- obnoxiously loud, and not a game or anything, just regular television. No real selection for the meal, just two choices for primi and two choices for secondi. We had read that there is a good pizza place across the street, but they were unfortunately closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by emilia, Hotel Management
Hello Mrs. Sandra. Thank you for given us your opinion. Each your consideration helps us to improve our service, to let you find the hotel more efficiently to your return or for clients to come. I always ask to the guests to express their discomfort because we do all the possible to satisfy them. About your review, without any problem, we could lower the lights, maybe raised on demand of some other customer. Me too prefer to keep them lower. Also the TV volume could be lowered without any problems. In any case, since we are hoteliers, our mistake is not having perceived the uneasiness in your atmosphere, however resolvable. During the dinner, to those who use the restaurant service, we make choose a first dish and a second dish among five first and five seconds. I do not know why was made to you to choose between only two first and two seconds. I will make the necessary internal investigations to see what did not work in our system, but in the meantime I offer my apologies to you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian from Milano

Decent hotel; good value

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Free on-site parking with a security gate. Rooms are aging but kept clean. Wifi. Air conditioning. Easy to drive to. Not much to do in Battipaglia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2014 by Emilia, Hotel Management
Thank you Mr. Brian. Maybe did you stayed in one of those few rooms which are not renovated yet? I'm very sorry, unfortunately we are moving one piece at a time. There remain only the fa├žade, whose renovation begins early January, and these few rooms, whose renovation will be completed by mid-year. In any case, thanks for all the positive comments that you have given us. Emilia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cloggied

Nice and cheap let down by lack of thought.

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in the centre of town which is always a plus. Well maintained reception area staffed by someone who spoke English, not the norm this far south in Italy. The smallest lift I've ever been in but also the quickest which is another plus if you're claustrophobic. Rooms 2** are on the third floor!! and as usual in all these cheap hotels the 'stuff' needed for 3 star status is just thrown in to a very small room when a little attention to detail would make all the difference. For instance 2 bedside lamps one with a switch halfway down the cable and the other one with a cord pull switch, the cord was about one inch long, and a desk with no usable power socket nearby. Good free wifi connection. Bathroom large and functional cheapest towels I've ever used but the shower was good. Breakfast room was lovely, lots of cake but not breakfast as we know it Jim. Overall - convenient no frills, nice little town with a buzz and beautiful people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Antonia

Honest staff, quiet time

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We arrived in the area to see Paestum, the biggest attraction after Positano, and have found the hotel easily following the GPS and local hotel signs. Free parking, a rarity in these places, was a little crammed but OK. Elevator is really tight, in fact too funny for two persons with light luggage (not suitcase). Room was clean and designed in good taste; bed not comfy though. TV channels were all right but not too many good sought choices like news; complimentary internet and breakfast were welcome (except that we did not take advantage of the latter due to rest time). The next day while far away on the east coast of Italy we remembered that we forgot our cables and chargers for cameras gadgets, and to our present surprise, the staff team not only found them in the room but actually kept them safely until our return a week later. They were speaking English but Italian skills have helped us communicate better. This is a place where we would go back. Although the view is residential, the courtesy and service make up for it. Strongly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from North Carolina USA

Central Location

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel. Older building but rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Several good restaurants within walking distance. Just a few blocks to the main plaza area which was very active and fun at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
Location: Not a tourist town.
Typical town centre hotel but also offering parking. Rooms of high standard. Best to eat out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted May 1, 2009
I recommend this hotel, staff were wonderful, room was just what I needed, price was excellent. Va bene!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

On the way south

Posted Aug 13, 2008
We stayed at the Palace as it was on our way to Calabria and was cheaper than the salerno hotels. We were only there overnight so we didn't feel we needed a lot of extras. My wife and daughters used the free internet, the breakfast was good and we enjoyed walking around the downtown area in the evening. Everyone seems to come out at night and there were a number of places to eat and get gelato. Overall, the four of us, my wife, my two daughters and I were pleased with the Palace and would recommend it as a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sundaygirl from Kenilworth, NJ

GREAT value!

Posted Aug 8, 2008
We were happily surprised at the quality and comfort of this hotel! We stayed twice, one night each. We chose it as an easy stop off the highway on our way to and from the south of Italy. Arriving the first time on a Sunday night, the neighborhood appeared to be a bit iffy-- graffiti everywhere, no one around--but the next morning, it was clear that this is a thriving safe community with everything we needed--good inexpensive restaurants, shops, etc. within walking distance, lots of people on the streets. The hotel was great! Off street parking, great staff, nicely decorated. Our room was large by European standards, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom was wonderful--modern and big. We travelled with a toddler, and the hotel was very welcoming and accommodating to him. (extra 5 Euro for the travel crib) Great breakfast -- large variety of foods (though many sweet things, as is common in Italy). Overall, we highly recommend this hotel--definitely the best value for money hotel BY FAR that we've stayed in in Italy this trip or during our 2 former trips to Italy.