Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Eh, i guess its pretty good

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: good for the price
Cons: room care and service. also, not vegetarian friendly
Location: take the ecotour excursion that brings you to a school and a city and a farm. it was the best part of the trip by far.
Our couch smelled like sweaty foot. i mean really nasty. the bed was rock hard. the blanket on the bed had stains on the underside. the bathtub looked like somebody spilled some paint on it. the towel rack was falling off the wall. the fridge had a few half drank sodas in it. the nachos they bring for room service are sad. all of the food from all of the restaurants really comes from the same place, its just served in different rooms and some of the meals are limited to specific restaurants. the place was awesome, the rooms... not great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Good food. Lots of different options.
Cons: Hotel is way out of date. Wi-Fi does not work. Hotel needs major upgrade. From outside hotel looks really nice. From inside really looks really old.
Hotel looks nice from outside. Once entered inside you can see that the hotel did not have much work done. Wi-Fi does not work. It only where the receivers are located. Our room had problem with electric. None of the receptacles were working. Lobby lights are turned off while guests were still sitting. Basically, they were trying to tell us to go to bed. We stayed four days at the hotel and could not eat at any of the restaurants besides the main buffet. They require reservation but it was full all the time. Unless you stay there longer you won't be able try different restaurants. Most of the staff does not speak a second language only Spanish. If you do not know Spanish you might have some difficulty but they are nice. While on beach you are constantly bugged by people who are trying to sell you stuff. Good part is hotel is close to the beach. You will enjoy the sun and the ocean. Pool is nice but not deep enough. Lots of good drinks. Even though we only ate at the main buffet the food was good and there was always new food. Also, if you are buying tours from the hotel just watch for the pricing and they lie to you to sell the tours. There is nothing much you can do about it. Not much to see in the hotel. I was surprised there is no jet skies. You can play volleyball on the beach if you like. Snorkeling is always an option. There is 2-3 night clubs you can go. That's about it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

The best hotel in Punta Cana

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The people are very helpful and friendly. room was always clean and was always pleasant to come to our room find it neat n clean
Location: location was perfect as we were able to sleep without any noise! this place was very peaceful!
My wife and I had a very good time at Riu Palace Punta Cana ,the Food is great, the drinks are very good, bartenders Antonio and Jorge serve the best drinks at the pool bar. Sandy was our server at the buffet! He always went above n beyond to make us feel welcome!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average stay

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Staff was mostly helpful. Food was ok, wasn't too happy with the reservation process. You need to book two days in advance for a decent meal, otherwise the dinner buffet was a poor alternative. The grounds were great as well as the entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

Nice clean and the staff friendly

Posted Mar 7, 2015
The hotel smell damp the ceiling fan had rust on it overall good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Paradise!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Do not renovate this beautiful traditional hotel!
Beautiful beaches, helpful, friendly staff, lovely facility, which should NOT be renovated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Food, beach and landscaping.
Cons: The mattress was not comfortable.
We just returned from a week long vacation and we had such a good time. The beach is gorgeous. The landscaping is incredible. The drinks were amazing and the food was plentiful everything you could imagine. There were some restaurants you had to make reservations for but we preferred eating in buffet. The room was cleaned well but the bedding could be more comfortable. The staff was always friendly and smiling. Overall we had a great time at this resort and would recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
I always stay at Riu no matter where I travel. I have always had a great experience. I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Paradis

Posted Mar 1, 2015
The location couldn't have been any better. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The pool and beach areas are amazing. Our room had an amazing views of the pools and beach. The food was awesome, something for everyone! I really have no complaints! We will definitely be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, USA

Crawdad hotel with always COLD Jacuzzi.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing. My first and last stay there.
Location: Parasailing
Dirty beach. No one even think about to clean in up after waves throw tons of seaweed Lack of clean beach towels and availability of beach beds. Always COLD indoor Jacuzzi at the spa. Stuff refused to make the hot water. There are no dedicated spots for smoking. People smoking in the pool, beach, buffets, hotel halls, everywhere!!! Just one pool for so many peoples