Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: the motel was very quiet. Not a lot of door slamming, loud talk etc.
Cons: could serve a continental breakfast and could upgrade their televisions.
Location: the physical location is not the greatest but it was ok
the rooms were spacious, beds were very comfortable. rooms were very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fishing trip

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Hotel was clean with Good pillows and comfortable bed. No breakfast. No shampoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel 6 Bay City.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and service. It is bright and cheery and I really like that. The facility looks brand new.
Cons: I was happy with the way it is.
Location: I go there for work and would be glad to tell you about all the farmers I visit, but I don't think most people would be interested.
I stayed at what is now the Motel 6 in Bay City, Texas. I took a chance and stayed there because it's a lot less expensive than the choices in El Campo and Wharton. I was surprised by how sparkling clean the facility is. Motel 6 is a no-frills chain, but I was very happy with all the little things that add up, especially the service. My daughter gave me a NYFD 9/11 cap and after checking out and being on the road for a while I realized I didn't have it with me so I called the front desk at the motel and asked if anyone had found it. The receptionist immediately went to the room where I had stayed, called me back and told me that she had found the cap. I picked it up on the way back home. I don't get friendly and prompt service like that every day, so I am happy to recommend the Motel 6 in Bay City to anyone who wants a nice clean, friendly hotel that treats their customers remarkably well.
3 out of 5
by Monique from Justin, TX

This is MOTEL 6, not America Best Value Inn

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Location: We were 30 minutes from the beach, which was awesome!!!! Had to drive down by the beach for good food.
We couldn't find our hotel at the given address, it was a Motel 6. So I called for directions and indeed, this location has been owned by 3 separate hotel chain in the last year or so according to the desk clerk. They do not have access to towels or toilet paper or pillows or any supplies after the owner leaves at 3pm. The owner is an extremely young girl who was laying on the lobby couch with her shoes off, purse beside her, watching tv. She looked like a guest. They do not provide shampoo or conditioner. They have no continental breakfast and the blankets on the bed were stained and burned. The price was a bit more than the Expedia quoted price and they didn't care to accommodate on that. Good things... The bed was comfortable. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The shower pressure was decent. The room had soap, tp, Kleenex, a microwave, a fridge, a tv, and wifi that we were able to connect to. A do-over would include just staying across the street, they don't look as nice on the outside but bay City felt like a safe town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Momma from Texas

Quiet stay, friendly staff.

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Room size, staff, lots of fluffy clean towels when we needed them. Beds were big enough we didn't worry about our kids falling off in the night.
Cons: Bath tub faucet.
Location: Just a few blocks from downtown Bay City, yet not far from the northern boundary of town. We spent time with family and went shopping and out to eat.
We were amazed at the size of the rooms that were available at a great price! The pool was small--but not unexpectedly so. Having an indoor entrance into the hotel was lovely. Having the little workout facility was great! We ended up needing to extend our stay, and the transition was effortless... the only downside was that we needed more clean clothes, but that worked out great, too, because there's a little laundry room for the guests. Our bathtub faucet leaked, which meant that by the time we got to our room to check in and in the evening during our stay, the tub was filling up with water, but as long as the stopper is kept up, the leak didn't present any problems for us. The staff were awesome in their helpfulness and friendliness. Thanks to previous reviewers who posted that this hotel is now a Motel 6! My dad, who lives nearby, didn't even know there was one in town, and usually sets us up right across the street from this hotel... but this one was a bit nicer, in my opinion.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Apr 6, 2013
The America Best is now a Motel 6, we had a hard time finding the place. The GPS said that we were there,but we did not see a sign for America's Best, we finally went into the Motel 6 and asked. We were told that it had changed hands six months ago. A good thing to know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn from Tx

What motel is this?

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Clean motel . It was a Motel 6 not America's Best Inn.Same address and had my reservation.Used to be Holiday Inn Express.I'm not sure where the mix-up was,but it was much nicer than most Motel 6,more like Holiday Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: That the work out area and pool were open 24 hours
Cons: All the cricketts lol!!!
Location: Great!!
I would have to say that our experience at the hotel was great staff and all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Weezie from Houston, Tx, USA

A Great Hotel for everone.

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: the space, and set up
Cons: hallway scent
Location: quiet, away from most traffic, but close enough to go and get food.
The Hotel was very nice. The staff was very nice. The room was very comfortable. The front desk clerk turned the AC on before I arrived in order for the room to be cool and comfortable. There was a stale scent in the hallways. Maybe an air freshener will do. Overall, I think it was awesome for the price. Emma, Houston, Tx.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Surprised

Posted Apr 4, 2011
Hotel room was huge, had couch, microwave and fridge. Very high quality, looks newly renovated. Desk staff was friendly. I would recommend this hotel to other going to Bay City. Did have a slightly odd smell to the room, but other than that very pleasantly surprised.