Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2013
individual heater. no towels. breakfast minimal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Emily from Baltimore, MD

Quaint Location at the Beach

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a family run hotel with all the charm of a bed and breakfast. I booked a room here at the last minute because I had a business meeting nearby in the morning and it was the only place I could find in Bay Head. It was empty due to being out of season and exactly what I needed! The walls seemed thin and it could be noisy but I had no problem. Check in and out was easy. It is good to know that the only parking is on the street in front - this was confusing to me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil from Bryn Mawr

Convenient to Point Pleasant Beach

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We ate dinner in the restaurant. It was okay but overpriced. The room was small and the bathroom was antiquated. The bed was okay, although linens were ancient. They charged $25 for the dog, which they didn't mention on their website. I might look for another place, if I came again. No breakfast service at 8.A.M., nobody at the desk to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Room was large but bathroom was cramped. Best described as a step below shabby chic. Pet friendly though and a convenient location. The dining experience was very nice. Will probably stay there again with dog if I need a place in the area and the price is right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from Harrisburg PA

Wonderful Food & Courteous Staff

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I were going to the beach for a night and needed a place to stay. We randomly picked The Grenville and couldn't have been any happier. I was planning on taking her to dinner and we chose the hotel restaurant because of convenience. It turned out to be one of the best meals we ever had. The Shrimp Bisque was easily the best soup I've ever had. It's a little pricey but the freshness and portion size is to die for. The hardest part was trying to figure out how to get the leftovers home safely with a 4 hour drive. The TV's could use an upgrading. It wasn't prime beach weather so time in the room was warranted. I would recommend this hotel for any couple looking to have a romantic getaway. It's less than a block from the beach and the courtesy of the staff was superior.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally misrepresented

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Literally everything. The room we stayed in (201) was in need of complete renovation or transitioned to a closet. For the price we paid, this place
This hotel was completely sub standard. Our room as very small and the sink was outside of the bathroom because it could not fit. We had no bath mat, cups, extra toilet paper, hair dryer, clock, or phone. There was no closet - an huge armoire was placed in the small room in front of the windows. Pictures and mirrors we're hang in unusual spaces. Upon our investigation they were covering numerous holes in the wall. In addition there were holes on the wall that were visible. We have never stayed in a hotel with such poor conditions. We had to request a blow dryer and iron - which were old and dingy and kept in a cheap plastic box next to the check in desk. A continental breakfast was offered. This as also horrible. - no fruit or yogurt. Only store bought bagels, cakes, dry cereal. Milk was bad and coffee was out. It as replenished in a plastic water pitcher. We have never experienced anything so bad in 30 years of traveling. Hotel staff was in the clouds.