Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by DanBridle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by L from UK

A comfortable haven

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent a few days at the Avalon resort and loved it! Willem gives a warm, friendly welcome (and even offered a welcome drink) and nothing is too much trouble for the duration of your stay. We stayed in Fire Cottage which had a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, dining area, living room and outside private balcony area and it had everything you need for a comfortable and private stay with a parking space right by the door. There are laundry facilities on site with a natural pool, beautiful gardens and even books to read and dvd collection to use if you wish. The resort is conveniently located in Kerikeri. It even has a great Indian restaurant at the end of the drive :) This is a great place and is very highly recommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert from Warsaw

Magical stay

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Avalon hotel is a good base for exploring the North part of New Zealand. It takes aproxymetelly 30 minutes to one hour to drive to beatiful beaches. I strongly recommend to stay there minimum there nights and done day trips to the Cape Reigna. Do not allow to park car in front of your window.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gibbs from West Chester, PA

Excellent.

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Traveled 1.5 months in NZ and this was a highlight. I stayed in one of the cottages one night and a studio the next. Both were super. Free wifi, laundry on site, dogs, pigs, chickens, and ducks all complimentary! I'd say I would prefer the cottage for more privacy, plus all of the cooking amenities, but the studio was gorgeous as well. Its a very quiet place. Hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Book with confidence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Auckland, New Zealand

Beautiful setting

Posted Nov 12, 2012
Pros: Teak furnishings
7acres of sub-tropical park-like grounds sloping down to riparian river boundary.Lake with ducks.Close to Kerikeri town centre and restaurants.Friendly professional hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved every moment of our stay with this wonderful magic Avalon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

A little too laid back and quiet, but good if you want total relaxation.

Posted Feb 27, 2011
I found Kerikeri lovely, picturesque and a plesant area to get around in. It was central to several other spots like Paihia where you can catch a boat out to Hole in the Rock or Cape Brett but it's a long way from Cape Regina. You need to be prepared to do a lot of driving if you want to see everything the North has to offer. I would recommend breaking the trip up north into several stop overs amounting to about 2 days each. Many sections of the main highway (No. 1) were under repair or reconstruction and this made it a long drive from Auckland to Kerikeri. There is a new toll road leaving Auckland to go up north and if you are pushed for time I recommend using it. For NZ$2 it is well worth it, and make sure you have a good map or GPS to help you get in and out of Auckland. Air New Zealand has a few hidden traps for the unwise traveller so check out the airfares and what is and is not included before fying with them. In all New Zealand is a great holiday for families, couples and singles. It's safe, clean, friendly and good value.