Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Tauranga

Well situated motel

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The owner was very helpful and all the facilities easily accessed. Room was comfortable and being able to cook our own food and wash some clothes was
Cons: Nothing
Location: About 5 mins stroll to Russell township . Took car ferry to Paihia and went to Waitangi Treaty Grounds
Very pleasant. Stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Brisbane Aus.

A wonderful stay

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location,size of room, staff, generous FREE wifi.
Cons: Shower pressure
Location: The ferry to Paihia is a short walk to and a very pleasant trip. From paihia it is a half hour walk(flat ground ) to Waitangi.
We booked at the Russel motel for both budget and previous review reasons. This Motel is well located, well priced and the owners are extremely helpful and pleasant. We took the long way to get to Russel as we didn't know that there was a car ferry!! The Duke of Marlborough hotel is a great spot to eat. It appears to be pricey but it is about normal for top quality in Russel and is WELL worth it! Only downer at the Motel is the water pressure in the shower. Not tragic but a bit limp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russell lover from Auckland

Well cared for in the wet

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: We received an upgrade and it was very clean and comfortable
Location: Russell abounds in things to do even swimming in the rain
We were listened to and our needs met very well, especially in wet weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Melinda from San Bernardino

Great Place able to walk to town and the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The couple who ran the Motel were so great a Host that we could have stay there for our whole visit. They helped with every question we had they were so nice. Great laundry facility lots of places to hike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Like it quiet from Auckland, NZ

Well maintained motel, great owners

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Clean, roomy, trees outside the bedroom window, quiet (even though on the main road in - it wasn't that busy)
Cons: Bed was quite hard
Location: Walk into Russell in a couple of minutes, lots of cafes, a few nice shops. Bay of Islands, lovely beaches, scenery, sailing, fishing.
Stayed for a night to meet people from Coastal Classic. Only a few minutes walk from town but round the corner from all the bars and cafes, so nice and quiet. Well looked after and really clean, seemed great value, nice trees around perimeter so a bit of privacy. Really nice owner / manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Auckland

All great and very friendly people.

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time and loved everything about our stay. Even stayed an extra night so this should say something. Everything was A1 and thanks again for a lovely stay. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D Hayes

Posted Mar 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
About half a mile walk to Russell village and restaurants. Nice mini-poo and garden area. Helpful staff and good value motel room with the usual facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by colin from england

to long in one motel

Posted Mar 4, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: the noise from the room above
Location: fantastic location bay of islands
as a motel it was ok but we stayed for 8 days maybe 4 days to long in one motel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerard from Auckland, New Zealand

Russell in January

Posted Feb 8, 2012
Well priced motel rooms at the peak of the holiday season, 5 minutes walk from the beach and restaurants. Friendly, casual staff and a nice little swimming pool and BBQ area. Best of all, very quiet, despite being on the main road just out of the cetre of Russell.