Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Canterbury

Motorbike holiday.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Great helpful hosts, our room was very clean and tidy, quiet. Really enjoyed our stay here. Excellent undercover parking for motorbikes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10 out of 10

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Great place close to everything rooms clean and tidy thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alisfrom Australia

Good location

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Spacious room and comfortable with limited views of Bay. Location is good for boat tour of Bay of Islands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrewfrom Brisbane, Australia

Good family motel close to the heart of Paihia

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Proximity to shops, restaurants, wharf as well as great service
Cons: Room was starting to look a little dated so perhaps a slight revamp/refresh is on the cards in the future.
Location: It's close to almost every major tourist attraction in Paihia.
First and foremost, as many others have said, the owners really go out of their way to ensure all guests have a great stay, which we also did. It is a very welcoming place with some good views. Facilities were good although the motel room was starting to show its date a little.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paulfrom Perth WA

Great Location.

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great, central location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&Jfrom Hampshire, England

We wish we could have stayed longer.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Friendliness, comfort and position
Location: Beautiful Bay - take ferry across to Russell, a historic village. Waitangi Treaty Centre is in easy walking distance. Good restaurants in town.
We arrived, jet lagged from the UK and we could not have asked for a friendlier or more helpful reception. The suite offered was spacious, comfortable and ground-floor.We only had one full day to stay, so asked for advice on what to do. By the time that we fell in to bed a boat trip had been booked and information given about walking to the nearby Waitangi Centre. The Swiss Chalet is located very close to the centre of Paihia - five minutes walk to find meals and all facilities. We wish that we had more time available to stay and explore the area more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TJfrom Hertfordshire, UK

Ideal location in Paihia

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Friendly proprietor
Cons: Slight mustiness soon disappeared - it was winter so room had probably been closed up for a while.
Location: Ideal - both within Paihia and for the Bay of Islands.
Phil, the proprietor, was an excellent host who was most helpful on our arrival and throughout our stay. He was knowledgeable about the local attractions and restaurants, without being pushy. The room was beautifully clean and well maintained and was all that we could have wished for. There was under cover parking for the car (good to shelter from sun and rain) and there were good laundry facilities. There was a hot tub but we did not use it so I cannot make a comment. The situation of the motel within Paihia was idea; just a short distance fom the centre and set back enough from the main road to give a quiet night in high season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynnefrom Vancouver, Canada

Very comfortable

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Swiss Chalet in Paihia for 4 nights - very comfortable room, newly renovated bathroom and kitchen. Maureen, the owner/manager, was very pleasant to deal with and very helpful. The motel is one block away from the main pier where all the cruises and boating fun begins. We totally enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbarafrom Bangor, North Down, UK

Good location and friendly service

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Good location just off the main road through Paihia. Easy access to main facilities in the town and close to the ferry terminal across to Russell
Cons: The rooms felt a little tired and in need of a makeover in keeping with its ethos 'Swiss Chalet'. More space for storage in the smaller rooms.
Location: Excellent location to town and for exploring the area.
The owners Phil and Maureen were extremely helpful and togther with the staff provide a first class service which felt very homely and friendly. Nothing seemed too much trouble and they obviously had a lot of local knowledge for recommending places to see and things to do. The bbq area was very clean with all utencils provided and there is a patio area nearby with a large table for outside eating.