Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eastern WI

Lucy's Place

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The hosts and the breakfast with them and the other guests.
Cons: Warm up the room in winter if possible.
Location: We were there for the ice caves so we didn't do much else. The tourist information talked of cruises and Shipwreck Tours which are a summer must.
Although the room was a bit cold (on a very cold night), the extra blanket in the cupboard made it cozy and the common area outside the room offered a fine place to relax. The hosts were wonderful and we really enjoyed the wonderful breakfast with the other guests. I would love to see the gardens in the summer. Looks like we may need to return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Just not what we expected

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The hosts. They are nice, talkative, interesting. Clearly like what they do.
Cons: The house needs updating (I understand, it's probably too costly), finishing touches in the room (molding, etc.) are kind of cheap.
Location: Great location. We walked to everything in Bayfield.
The hosts are what make Lucy's Place a good place but sadly, the house is not that well kept up. The old house has charming character but overall, it's not really that nice, the sitting area furniture in our room was a futon couch and two chairs that weren't comfortable. The bed was fine, the bathroom was acceptable. I would only suggest someone stay there if they knew what to expect. I hate to say anything bad but would have appreciated knowing this so that either 1. I chose another place or 2. I expected a lot less. We read reviews on Expedia. I still want to go back and figure out if I didn't read them closely or if others didn't feel the same way. I'm pretty sure this was rated 4 of 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by frostybfrom Narooma Australia

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed every moment here. The room was good and the breakfasts were very good. The host's were excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JeAnn and Joshfrom Minneapolis

Homey rooms and great breakfast

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast exceeded our expectations as they are wonderful cooks. We liked the fact it was located a few blocks away from the main area tourist attractions, but still close enough to walk within a few minutes. We would definitely stay at Lucy's place again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markfrom Maple Grove, MN

Pretty Good - Not Great - Love Bayfield

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Owners were very cordial and good hosts. Breakfasts were top notch. Located on busy road so had to sleep with the windows closed and a/c on. The property and our room needs a little TLC, but no show stoppers. I do recommend it for the price compared to the Rittenhouse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruthfrom Alex, MN

I love Lucy's Place!

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Felt like home. We had great conversations with our host. Wonderful breakfast with garden fresh ingredients.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by J&Bfrom Champlin

Lucy's Place is a home away from Home

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bruce and Barb made us feel right at home and the flower garden add to the stay . Morning breakfast where great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob and Jofrom Bayfield, wI

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was more than we expected. It was comfortable and private and we enjoyed the fresh air and view from the windows in the sitting area. The owners were friendly and the food was excellent. We are not B&B people but in this case we could not have been more satisfied. Would recommend Lucy's Place to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Cons: The many steps in order to get upstairs make it difficult for seniors.
Location: It is in easy walking distance from downtown.
Our room was very quaint. It was 92, so we were thankful for the window air conditioner. Our breakfast was delicious. The owner wqs very courteous and a good conversationalist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com