Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Just not what we expected

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The hosts. They are nice, talkative, interesting. Clearly like what they do.
Cons: The house needs updating (I understand, it's probably too costly), finishing touches in the room (molding, etc.) are kind of cheap.
Location: Great location. We walked to everything in Bayfield.
The hosts are what make Lucy's Place a good place but sadly, the house is not that well kept up. The old house has charming character but overall, it's not really that nice, the sitting area furniture in our room was a futon couch and two chairs that weren't comfortable. The bed was fine, the bathroom was acceptable. I would only suggest someone stay there if they knew what to expect. I hate to say anything bad but would have appreciated knowing this so that either 1. I chose another place or 2. I expected a lot less. We read reviews on Expedia. I still want to go back and figure out if I didn't read them closely or if others didn't feel the same way. I'm pretty sure this was rated 4 of 5 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Cons: The many steps in order to get upstairs make it difficult for seniors.
Location: It is in easy walking distance from downtown.
Our room was very quaint. It was 92, so we were thankful for the window air conditioner. Our breakfast was delicious. The owner wqs very courteous and a good conversationalist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Girls weekend from Duluth

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room could be much cleaner, dusty lamp shades, ceiling fan, headboard of bed, and dusting of dog hair on the floors. As well as spider webs in corner of room. Service of owners was very nice and informational. Breakfasts were outstanding. Could of done without the dog hair., but the dog was very friendly meek & mild!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by gadi from los angeles

nice BB to stay

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
i did like it , not far from the lake , you can walk all over , its a nice family home ,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Roger Krueger from New London WI

Ice caves

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here very much. The hot breakfast was a very pleasant surprise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Karole from Baraboo

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was wonderful. Owners very helpful. Ice Caves amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Lucy's Place in Bayfield, WI

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The owners, Bruce and Barb, were so welcoming and offered to accomodate any need we had or requested. We felt just like we were at home.
Location: Apple orchards....a definite must!
This was the most pleasant surprise. I had booked the room for an event many months prior and was only looking to get a place to sleep. What we got was the most peaceful, relaxing, welcoming experience. I definitely plan to go back! The view of the lake, warm setting and comfortable bed, bath and ammenities were better than any hotel I have ever stayed in, and worth every penny. The breakfast was beyond anything any hotel could offer. We felt completely at home and had no worries at all. Often when I stay at a hotel or motel it is just a place to sleep while on my trip, but Lucy's place was a vacation in itself and made the rest of the trip a totally wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com