Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Wisconsin

cozy, casual and comfortable

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: friendly, helpful owners and area was quiet at night
Cons: Pool was only open from 10am to 10 pm.
Location: easy to find close to nice restaurants quiet at night
This motel was clean and well maintained. It is easy to find and is set back from the road so there is privacy and no highway noise. It has nice grounds,play area, and a clean outdoor pool. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and eagerly give directions and recommendations which we found very helpful. We would return to this motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Once more to the lake

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Cons: plumbing
Location: convenient to Manistee and the casino
I had read other reviews, so we were prepared with our own pillows. This motel is like a flashback to the 70s. I hadn't expected much in the way of decor, but there was not even a hair dryer in the room. One of the lamps lacked a light bulb. The plumbing was dreadful--clogged drains and toilet. Just yucky. On the positive side, the room was very large and quiet. The cable tv service was adequate, especially given the area, even though the tv was old technology. The breakfast was overly sweet and the coffee was flat. The staff/owner was very nice, but it seems that the property needs a complete update.Despite its limitations, the place was filled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stacey from Portage, MI, USA

Comfortable good value

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Pros: Friendly inn keeper
Cons: Hard beds
My wife and I found the hotel a good value for the price. The inn keeper was extremely friendly and nice. The rooms were dated but very clean and kept up. The beds were a bit too hard. Overall it was a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Appleton, WI, USA

A place for the night!

Posted May 28, 2012
Pros: Reasonal price.
Cons: The pillows were bad.
Location: Headed to the U.P. from Muskegon. A good location.
We were not looking for anything fancy - just a place to lay our heads for the evening after a day of riding. Hotel sufficed, although the pillows could you an upgrade.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kimberly from Michigan

Alpine Motor Lodge

Posted Jan 3, 2012
Barb and Jerry are fantastic owners! I was skeptical about renting a room from a privately own hotel, but I was extremely impressed! The rooms are very big...there was four of us and we brought 4 chairs and a card table in case weather was bad, and we had plenty of room even with 2 queen beds in there. Very clean rooms. Great continental breakfast too...straight from Barbs kitchen! We would most definately stay there in the future. Its about a half hour from Traverse City and about 10-15 from downtown Manistee.....8 miles from Little River Casino. Perfect little getaway :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Aug 29, 2011
This is not a fancy place to stay, but is adequate if you just need a place to sleep, and it doesn't cost as much as other places in the area. The people running the hotel were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Very clean and friendly staff.

Posted Jul 6, 2011
The staff was friendlly and the pool and the room was really clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welcome to the 70's

Posted May 31, 2011
For the price, I was disappointed. I felt like I was transported back to the 70's. Patched toilet seat, yellow tub/enclosure with plastic sliding doors, etc. The "continental breakfast" was subpar for a place at this price. There is a very new Microtel Inn just 9 miles was probably better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cheboygan, Michigan

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2010
Hotel was simply wonderful had a great time no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Warm welcome, great feeling

Posted Aug 26, 2010
The welcome and helpful advice we received throughout our stay was memorable. Everyone in the family that ran the hotel was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and kind. Our stay at this hotel was nothing short of memorable.