Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Better than nothing I guess

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Just old. Probably clean but it's all so old you can't tell for sure. Light out in bathroom and when requested service was told just jiggle it until it came on. Said I already had and he still wouldn't fix. My husband swapped the bulb with one from a lamp and wa-la, it was working. The indoor pool was FREEZING!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Overpaid for what we got!! Thanks Expedia

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Our room was a smoking room.
TV remote was literally broke in half and the electrical outlets were not holding cords in very well. The chair in the room was also broke, you could see where they tried to fix it. We had a room on the 2nd floor with no elevator and had to make 4 trips to the car to get our things. To top it all off, upon arrival the clerk had accidentally given me a receipt for the visit that showed $116.99 when I actually paid almost $150.00. He then told me that I wasn't supposed to have gotten that receipt it was for expedia.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by paulfrom Naperville, IL

Dpn't bother to book!

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was terrible! I would not stay here again! They messed up our reservation, the first room we needed was correct, (the handicapped room on the first floor). However our 2nd room was upstairs where my daughter and her husband stayed, no elevator, and they both have had knee replacements! All the hallways smelled terribly of cig. smoke! The breakfast was laughable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sherry Dunningfrom Beardstown, IL

Last resort

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
After booking 2 rooms with you for one night, I was told we would have the handicapped room, and the room next to it. I called the front desk right after booking, and in a thick Indian accent was told that the handicapped room was available for us, but that the second room was upstairs. The next shift I called back hoping to speak with someone else that I could understand better on the phone. Same man answered. He told me that now he had made some changes and although we were not next to each other we would at least both be on the first floor. There is no elevator, and both my husband and myself have had knee replacements. However, when we arrived we were given the handicapped room on the first floor, and the second room was on the second floor no where near my 87 year old Dad that we were traveling with. The young Indian woman, (probably his daughter) knew nothing about her Father's promise that the two rooms would at least be on the same floor. Also every hallway stinks with smoke, to the point you want to hold your breath until you get outside. The rooms were run down, many things did not work, like the room telephone, and the second lock on the door was broken off, or were missing pieces like the cover over the light in the bathroom. We barely had enough T.P., no extra rolls to be found. Not even enough outlets in the room to plug in their floor lamp! There is a huge sign on the door listing items and prices for each one stolen from the room, not very inviting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Improvement

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: This is in my old hometown and I have to go back 1-3x/year.
Cons: More outlets.
Location: Not much in Beardstown unless it is hunting season or during the Fall Festival.
Stayed during the Fall Fun Festival weekend 2014. This is not a vacation hotel in a vacation town. But the new owners have cleaned it up quite a bit. The last time I stayed there in May 2014, I was pretty sure I wasn't coming back. The place was filthy, smelled very heavily of incense, wasn't very clean and about $20/night more expensive than I paid this trip. The place is now much cleaner and much more comfortable. My only complaint with the room was that they need more electrical outlets in more convenient places.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kevil ky

horrible experience

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: there are so many things needing improving u need to wipe the slate clean first
Location: none, beardstown was in the middle of nowheres ville
my experience at beardstown was one of the worse stays ever, the room was dirty and the staff employed there was rude and unprofessional
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient location, but needs renovation. Clean, but furniture shows serious wear. Pleasant service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Joliet, IL

A port in the storm

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: swimming pool
Cons: mattresses
Location: Small town not much to do.
The hotel staff was very pleasant. We had been riding for over six hours half in the pooring rain on motorcycles. It was very nice to be able to swim for awhile before retiring. My only problem was that the bed was not up to the standards that I would expect from the hotel. I had trouble falling asleep. Since I had another day of riding over 200 miles I really needed to fall asleep. I reserved 2 rooms and the other couple said the same thing about their bed. The mattresses should be replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gailfrom Macomb, illinois

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was clean & in working order. The hallways smelled like smoke. Everyone was very polite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The pool was small but water was warm.
Cons: It could use a little updating.
Location: It is about 30 minutes from Jacksonville, IL.
I only stayed one night. The pool was clean and the water was warm. The rooms were warn but clean.